Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book
I bought this book for preparation for the RYA short range communication certificate. The book is well laid out and guides you through all of the information that I needed for the course. The cartoon style examples are a good idea and the methods that it presents for remembering how to make a mayday call etc. are very useful.
Published on 13 Nov 2009 by Eric Swool

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but..................
The DSC information seems almost an afterthought. There are better books for the RYA SRC course, but not RYA and RYA seem to force their publications on candidates.
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 13 Nov 2009
This review is from: RYA VHF Handbook: The RYA'S Complete Guide to SRC (Paperback)
I bought this book for preparation for the RYA short range communication certificate. The book is well laid out and guides you through all of the information that I needed for the course. The cartoon style examples are a good idea and the methods that it presents for remembering how to make a mayday call etc. are very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VHF Marine Radio tution, 21 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: RYA VHF Handbook: The RYA'S Complete Guide to SRC (Paperback)
Having been involved in aviation for 43 years privately and commercially I found this book on Marine Radio to be very clear and easy to follow. The lay out is good with clear diagrams. This book should provide the foundation to any candidate taking the marine radio exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Pre & Post Exam book, 8 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: RYA VHF Handbook: The RYA'S Complete Guide to SRC (Paperback)
I purchased this in anticipation of taking the RYA's VHF course.
It very adequatly covered the sylabus and now is a usefull reference book.
Much more comprehensive than the course material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: RYA VHF Handbook: The RYA'S Complete Guide to SRC (Paperback)
A good simple to follow guide to using your radio. Easy to use as a reference to review procedures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the SRC course., 15 April 2013
By 
A. M. Doig - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RYA VHF Handbook: The RYA'S Complete Guide to SRC (Paperback)
Good to read and laid out in an easy to take in manner.
The cartoons really help, they take the edge of what is after all a very important teaching aid.

Also very handy to keep with the radio for future reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, 18 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RYA VHF Handbook: The RYA'S Complete Guide to SRC (Paperback)
This is just what you need to prepare for the SRC exam. Well written and concise it is easy to read and covers the syllabus comprehensively. Just a pity that it doesn't include a couple of mock exam papers, or at least specimen questions at the end of each section, which would allow one to check ones progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but.................., 7 Mar 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (East Yorkshire ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: RYA VHF Handbook: The RYA'S Complete Guide to SRC (Paperback)
The DSC information seems almost an afterthought. There are better books for the RYA SRC course, but not RYA and RYA seem to force their publications on candidates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RYA VHF course book, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Rick Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RYA VHF Handbook: The RYA'S Complete Guide to SRC (Paperback)
I did the RYA VHF marine Radio Operators course.
This was the course book used,, and it is easy to follow, concise and contains all you need for the marine radio user.

Much of it is done with 'pictorial conversations' between radio users ...

Obviously very pc with ethnic mix of characters (pandering)

However if you are intending to undertake(or have) the RYA marine Radio Course - this book is the one to have - and post course is an ideal reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RYA VHF Handbook: The RYA'S Complete Guide to SRC (Paperback)
Very clear and informative book, i would recommend this for some one coming in to the sport and keep it as a reference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good all round information, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RYA VHF Handbook: The RYA'S Complete Guide to SRC (Paperback)
I bought this as I was doing the RYA VHF course but I wanted soemthing more than the course book. Thsi gave me all the facts, possibly more than required. The information was well structured though I found the drawing a little amerturish. Happy to recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RYA VHF Handbook: The RYA'S Complete Guide to SRC
RYA VHF Handbook: The RYA'S Complete Guide to SRC by Tim Bartlett (Paperback - May 2006)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews