Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life changing book.
I live in a small village in Fife and I do not care if you laugh at this but I am the only Chav in the village. People would laugh at me in the street and shout doofus at me. My Gran bought me this for Christmas and I suddenly realised that there are millions of us out there. When I leave school I am going to move to Bootle as I have been told everyone is a Chav there.
Published on 2 Mar 2005 by Robert

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the little book of snobbery
this book is the most shocking little pamphlet of hate-speeech i have ever encountered, including those privately printed anti-immigration leaflets. The fact that this equally tiny, intellectually sparse, imaginatively bereft little piece of toilet paper has actually gone to mass print makes me want to weep. It IS one of those leaflets, but here racism is substituted for...
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by Thomas Hughes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the little book of snobbery, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Little Book of Chavs: The Branded Guide to Britain's New Elite (Chav's Series) (Paperback)
this book is the most shocking little pamphlet of hate-speeech i have ever encountered, including those privately printed anti-immigration leaflets. The fact that this equally tiny, intellectually sparse, imaginatively bereft little piece of toilet paper has actually gone to mass print makes me want to weep. It IS one of those leaflets, but here racism is substituted for classism.
It's comprised of some rabid 'povvo'-hating bigot's disorganised predjudices relating to britain's 'burgeoning peasant underclass', and the fact that this author/s has to publish under the pseudonym 'Lee Bok' demonstrates not only the quality of joke you can expect, but also that maybe they know that what they're doing is horribly ignorant, hateful and unfair to those who haven't had their opportunities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Obscene, 22 May 2013
This review is from: The Little Book of Chavs: The Branded Guide to Britain's New Elite (Chav's Series) (Paperback)
A book in which our author mocks a section of the white working class. I can guarantee this offensive idiot went to public school. Offensive and pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life changing book., 2 Mar 2005
By 
Robert (Anstruther, Kingdom of Fife) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Little Book of Chavs: The Branded Guide to Britain's New Elite (Chav's Series) (Paperback)
I live in a small village in Fife and I do not care if you laugh at this but I am the only Chav in the village. People would laugh at me in the street and shout doofus at me. My Gran bought me this for Christmas and I suddenly realised that there are millions of us out there. When I leave school I am going to move to Bootle as I have been told everyone is a Chav there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lower Class Hate, 6 Jun 2012
By 
Ms. R. M. Thompson "Ruth Thompson" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Book of Chavs: The Branded Guide to Britain's New Elite (Chav's Series) (Paperback)
I am more frightened of all the privileged people in this country who are upset by racism but think its OK to
hate people who live on or bellow the poverty line just because they lack taste. Try living in poverty yourself and then see how funny it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stop bellyaching, 21 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Little Book of Chavs: The Branded Guide to Britain's New Elite (Chav's Series) (Paperback)
I see the usual tripe from the whinging leftie brigade. it's a piece of tongue in cheek humour for God's sake. Grow up, get over yourselves and get a sense of humour. What a pity you've got nothing better to moan about than a humorous book. If you want to fight a battle go and put yourselves in the front line in Afghanistan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny witty book about all of us., 19 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Little Book of Chavs: The Branded Guide to Britain's New Elite (Chav's Series) (Paperback)
Only a handful of privileged people will ever admit to themselves that they fear and hate poor people. Only an imbecile would think that this book attacks the less advantaged in society. We all know chavs and have chavs in the family. A chav told me about this book and I found it very lighthearted and very funny as well as being informative. Read, enjoy and have a good giggle, like everyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disgusting pc prejudice and class hatred, 12 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: The Little Book of Chavs: The Branded Guide to Britain's New Elite (Chav's Series) (Paperback)
When I see books or any other sneering class hatred of the ilk of this, I ask myself what if this was said about people of colour or a Muslims etc.. The same people who write books like these and sneer about their hatred of 'Chavs' i.e impoverished, undereducated white people, would splutter and turn purple with rage if the same things were said about Blacks or Pakistanis or homosexuals in Britain.
Take the title and substitute the last word for any racial term of abuse you feel like using for black or Brown or Muslim people and see how it would sit with the people who will find this book amusing..
You still cannot say these things about Jewish people (at least not liberal/left Jews) by the way unless you substitute the word 'Jews' for Zionist or if the Jews in question are Israelis and then 'you can say any vile thing you like. But that is another discussion altogether.

So what makes it hip to hate poor whites? What makes it socially acceptable whether in books like these, on internet forums and social networking sites, faculty lounges etc to sneer at the same people who the hero of many of the sneerers championed-Yes folks Marx championed the European working classes NOT third world people in Asia or Africa.
so-called Chavs are a section of British society, with thoughts, feelings, and sensitivities like everyone else.
What happened to the ideals of a classless society that existed among the old left in the 50s' 60s and 70s. I know the elites can now dub the British working class as 'white working class' and as 'racist', and 'fascist; and can actually feel good about their snobbery and prejudice. The descendants of the people who exploited the working class in Britain that we read about in Charles Dickens are now noble and politically correct in perpetuating the same class persecution as they are protecting the new protected classes i.e third world immigrants against the now unworthy poor. In other words it just shows the shallowness and moral rottenness of the liberal/left elites. Conscience and conscientiousness is now decided by what is fashionable and you it is progressive , politically correct and 'taking a stand against racism' to sneer at and hurl abuse at the white lumpen-proletariat.

Who could forget the deprivations suffered by the British working classes who won World War II for Britain between 1939 and 1945. The golden age of the white working classes was no doubt the 50's (when Labour began the social reforms such as NHS and social welfare and the conservatives became more compassionate and reformist, a processed reversed in 1979 when Margaret Thatcher revived the cruel war on the British poor) The goal of the British left in the 1960 was classlessness, laudable and noble goal, and has today been replaced by multiculturalism and 'anti-racism' who have replaced the British white working class despicably with the ethnic immigrants as those to champion and justify their snobbery as they label the white working class as 'racist chavs' to justify their newly restored snobbery.

The basic problem is that the privileged left and liberal elite are no longer interested in class equity or the basic rights of the British working class but only in 'non racism' which is a farcical label for favoring the third world exotic brown immigrants and persecuting and demonizing the local white working class who they label as chavs-not worthy in the eyes of the left/liberal toffs of having their suffering, feelings or rights considered. The British working class suffered as much in the Industrial Revolution as the Blacks did under slavery but are still suffering with the privileged elite classes using pc propaganda and favouring of the third world exotic browns against them.
Britain's indigenous working classes are put last in line for employment, council housing, health care, education and bank loans in favour of the exotic Third world immigrants (especially Muslims) favoured by the pc left elites.
. Those who are flabbergasted at discrimination based on race, gender, sexuality of religion (unless of course you attack Jews for being 'Zionists' or attack Israelis-that is acceptable among the chattering classes) think nothing of attacking the British working class and lumpenproletriat as chavs. This also translates to a politically correct anti-white racism. White British young people who suffer as a result of social problems such as juvenile crime, drug addiction , and teenage pregnancy, as well as child prostitution, and come from broken homes no longer elicit sympathy from the liberal and left elites who consider the white underclass the lowest of the low, not worth saving or empathizing with, whereas they would have the utmost sympathy and support for Third world immigrant youth under the same circumstances.
The liberal and left elites now use the race card against he white under classes and point out since the latter are supposedly 'racist' and 'bigoted' they must be punished for this and are the unworthy poor as compared to the impoverished people of colour who are deemed worthy of empathy and upliftment.
This amounts to an inverse racism whereby the classes that have so long suffered since the Industrial Revolution and who came under sustained attack under Thatcher are now being made victims again at the hands of the leftist and liberal elites now in charge of Britain, including the media, local councils and the courts.

so the middle class elites of the trendy left can hate the white poor and not be regarded as prejudiced but as pc, 'non racist' 'non sexist' etc. while they play their disgusting and shallow trendy mind games and sneer at anyone who does not fit into their narrow world view.
This is NOT humour. If you regard it as humour, then ask yourself if you would regard the same sneering at racial or religious minorities or homosexuals as 'humour'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bling-in!!!!, 20 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Little Book of Chavs: The Branded Guide to Britain's New Elite (Chav's Series) (Paperback)
this book was a stocking filler for a certain family member because without knowing it she has become a chav!!this book would do either sex and is quite funny even i am beginning to use some of the words!!!dats bad!!anyway it is a pocket book so does not take up much space at all,and a great price too!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0a8aae0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews