Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A travel book with a bit of everything!, 14 Jan. 2011
This review is from: A Blonde Bengali Wife (Paperback)
From the first page of this book and Anne's adventure with the Policeman who's only English is "I love you" when Anne is lost on arrival at the airport in Bangladesh to the last page I found it thoroughly enjoyable and funny. It is a travel book with a difference as Anne's wonderful sense of humour shines through each chapter - even under sometimes adverse conditions. This a book that captures Anne's love affair with Bangladesh but also her commitment to helping others and learning and understanding other cultures. In addition, as some of the other reviewers have said Anne continues to through the sale of the book to help Bhola's children - she has given of herself in every way to this work. The book is well worth reading and I found it difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Travelogue, 15 Oct. 2010
This review is from: A Blonde Bengali Wife (Paperback)
This is a thoroughly engaging book that really evokes a sense of place and enables readers to truly share the experiences of the narrator. What makes the book even more endearing and shows how much the author loves the country she writes about, is that all proceeds from this book are going to the charity Bhola's Children, a charity which was formed after others read the early manuscript. A wonderful story in every sense.

I have also read one of Anne's short stories in this book Sushirexia: 32 Stories About Hunger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story-telling at its best, 6 Nov. 2010
By 
E. Garrett (Aberdeen, Scotland Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Blonde Bengali Wife (Paperback)
This book reads like a novel but you can escape into the great adventure and experiences of the author, knowing that it is all true. Anne Hamilton has the skills of a novelist and the detailed knowledge of a clever travel writer. I wonder which way her talents will take her next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel to Bangladesh from your couch!, 6 Dec. 2010
By 
L. Bailey "Liesl" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Blonde Bengali Wife (Paperback)
Hamilton captures her travels and charity work in Bangladesh in such a clear and engaging way that reading this book you feel as if you are there with her, expereriencing each new adventure. There are many 'laugh out loud' moments and she captures the characters delightfully so you feel yourself as if you have new friends just waiting for you. On a more serious note, Hamilton talks of the real Bangladesh, the poverty of its people is brought into her story side by side with their kindliness and character. She makes you want to pack your backpack (complete with insect repellant!) and head there straight away to experience it all for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny and engaging voyage through Bangladesh, 14 Jan. 2011
This review is from: A Blonde Bengali Wife (Paperback)
I thought this book was going to be all about Anne's voluntary work in Bangladesh and how she came to work with the Bhola's Children Charity...but that's only a small part of her story!

The book is written with passion and humour...I loved reading about how Anne felt as a lone white woman, travelling through a country which is not known for welcoming Western tourists! From coping with unpredictable Bengali public transport to dealing with mosquito bites, marriage proposals and erm more personal issues, this book is a fascinating insight into a country I knew little about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A heartfelt and humorous journey through Bangladesh, 1 May 2014
This review is from: A Blonde Bengali Wife (Paperback)
Anne takes the reader with her on her travels through Bangladesh, letting them experience each new adventure (and misadventure) alongside her. From the moment Anne lands in Bangladesh, receiving a warm welcome from a mysterious policeman who pronounces his undying love for her, it is clear that the people of Bangladesh will take centre stage. Through Anne’s experiences the reader discovers the real Bangladesh, a place of friendship, kindness and extreme poverty where the good nature and humour of the people carry them through (just). Anne is a skilful writer, who carefully weaves her story through a detailed travelogue and paints her scenes with vivid and unforgettable imagery. I would highly recommend her book to anyone who enjoys travelling and experiencing other cultures as well as to those who just like a good story well told. A testament to how much Anne cares about the people of Bangladesh is that all of the proceeds from the sale of her book go to benefit a charity called Bhola’s Children which was set up upon her return to assist orphaned and disabled children on the island of Bhola.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and powerful, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Blonde Bengali Wife (Paperback)
When people say, 'I went on a journey with this book' - well this is the real deal. I felt I was travelling alongside the author, laughing at times, and at times, tearful, as the true plight and absolute poverty the people of Bangladesh experience. Its a book of discovery, not only in geopgraphical terms, but self discovery too. There is a message in this book, its not one that shouts at you and orders you to listen, but one you'll discover as you read this fabulous book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!! Read., 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought your book, is amazing and interesting, It felt very written from the heart, to me.
I think the language barriers made for a funny read, I have to say it had me giggling in a few places.

I loved the end too the perfect way to end I thought.

I really thought you painted a true and inspiring journey of Bangladesh.

I would recommend this book to anyone, that loves a good read!!!

The book is definitely a credit to you, and I hope to read more of your books in the future!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Blonde Bengali Wife
A Blonde Bengali Wife by Anne Hamilton (Paperback - 15 Oct. 2010)
£11.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews