Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding resource, number 1
Although this book is not published by Cambridge University Press, it is the best writing guide for IELTS. Cambridge books seem to have neglected writing part of the exam, at least when it comes to aiming for band 7+. This wonderful book does job much better than they do. Collocations and phrases are the main characteristic of this excellent reference, but is not the only...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by Ionut84

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best writing book
I purchased this book for self-study purpose however, it is more like for a class room type of book. There are lots of exercises saying, discuss it with your partner which is unnecessary for self-studying students as myself. I've studied English for over 20years and this is not the best book I've had. I am aiming for overall 8.0(Academic) in IELTS and I am not sure if I...
Published 8 months ago by YOOJI RIM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding resource, number 1, 11 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Advantage: Writing Skills (Paperback)
Although this book is not published by Cambridge University Press, it is the best writing guide for IELTS. Cambridge books seem to have neglected writing part of the exam, at least when it comes to aiming for band 7+. This wonderful book does job much better than they do. Collocations and phrases are the main characteristic of this excellent reference, but is not the only thing I adore. Sample essays and comments teach you as well. I've been struggling to understand rules of task 1, including a plan of this kind of essay. I purchased this outstanding book and everything changed. I feel more confident. Missing page is not a problem because the publisher attached this for my request. Worth buying and working through it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THe "missing link" for IELTS preparation, 23 Jun 2012
By 
Sally (HALIFAX, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: IELTS Advantage: Writing Skills (Paperback)
This really is the "missing link" when it comes to IELTS books. The writing part of the exam is often the highest hurdle for many learners. This book devotes a unit to each task and uses exercises and model answers to analyse what is required in great detail. There are reading texts, formulaic language lists, vocualulary studies and general grammar highlights and all of these are accompanied by useful exercises. There is also a "Check and Challenge" page at the end of each unit designed to aid later recall. It can be used by IELTS students at any level. I teach EFL at colleges, universities and as a private language tutor, and I recommend this book to all my learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Purchasing, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Advantage: Writing Skills (Paperback)
I agree with the view expressed by author Richard Brown that many IELTS coursebooks "chuck all the skills in together" and it's unclear what to pick out and teach. I really think the authors are on the right track here treating writing separately. They are very clear about how the Task 2 essay should be approached. However, Task 1, is only given three units, and while they present a consistent way of writing an answer, I feel it is perhaps not the best way to draft a Task 1 answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: IELTS Advantage: Writing Skills (Paperback)
i have bought this book in 2011, and i am now preparing myself to take ielts exam and i need 7, this book is an amazing and informative book,which is teach you step by step,it is the best book i have ever bought for ielts ,one things which is not related to the author is the page 129 is missing which is a shame there are two more diagram in this page,guys you are brilliant, i wish i have known you in reality as i chose both of you as my teacher for ielts. thanks
please wish me high score
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete and compact, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Advantage: Writing Skills (Paperback)
It has been extremely useful to help me to improve my ielts skills: grammar, structure, vocabulary and ideas for my essay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Advantage: Writing Skills (Paperback)
i think the tasks in this book are very useful and interesting. would definitely recommend it for anyone who is preparing for IELTS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Advantage: Writing Skills (Paperback)
easy to understand and straight to the point. I recommend this for anyone who wants to improve their writing skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's step by step, and clearly organised., 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Advantage: Writing Skills (Paperback)
There are a lot of information in this book, which I may neglect in my daily study. There are also several examples, with comments in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars impressive, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Advantage: Writing Skills (Paperback)
this book helped me a lot and by going through this book i scored 8 in ielts , the highest score of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Advantage: Writing Skills (Paperback)
It is the probably the best book for IELTS Writing, especially for Task 2. The book contains methodology and a plethora of useful expressions for Task 2.
I would prefer more worked examples for Task 1 which could be written by the authors and NOT by their students. Also, I would like more worked examples for Pie Charts.

Nikolaos B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

IELTS Advantage: Writing Skills
IELTS Advantage: Writing Skills by Lewis Richards (Paperback - 12 Aug 2011)
£15.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews