Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no need to read anything else!
There is nothing to add to the reviews already written but I do want to add to the amount of well deserved praise directed at the author! Steve Taylor has put into words--so eloquently--all that I have been thinking over the past several years. Life energy manifests as our changing universe and the Ego was developed to cope with that state of change. Unfortunately a sense...
Published on 14 Dec. 2010 by V. Mckenna

versus
12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars naive is maybe a bit kind..
This book looks quite convincing and scientific but so many times the "evidence" is selective,particularly absences of proof are taken as proof of absence (eg of aggression in paleolithic people) and it becomes extremely misleading. People may decry religion and patriarchy but it has been all ideologies (including religion and patriarchy) that have caused the great...
Published on 8 Jun. 2010 by Silver Moon Sailor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking good read, if not entirely convincing, 25 Oct. 2008
By 
Tescodirect - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall: The Insanity of the Ego in Human History and the Dawning of a New Era (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. What it says seems to make sense on an intuitive level. I seem to be alone in not being entirely convinced by his arguements. I think particularly where he tries to relate things to evolutionary theory. An evolutionary process, rather like the biological one, using mechanisms similar to natural selection, certainly occurs. But these two processes are not identical, and I think the two get mixed up in here. However, maybe it's me that's mixed up.
The kind of book I would read more than once, if there were not so many other books out there waiting to be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradigm shifting stuff - great, 10 Mar. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Fall: The Insanity of the Ego in Human History and the Dawning of a New Era (Paperback)
YOU MAY ALSO ENJOY: How to Live in the Here and Now: A Guide to Accelerated Enlightenment, Unlocking the Power of Mindful Awareness

THE FALL: a lot of mainstream history would have us believe that only the last 2000 years mattered - and that despite the odd glitch it's been a journey from primitive to progress. But pretty much we are all operating in a 21st century world with a 'caveman' brain/body. How illuminating, for example, to think that pre agricultural people worked less than half the hours we do, were healthier than their agrarian successors and lived almost entirely peaceably and in harmony. a much nicer idea than the idea that life is `nasty hard and brutish' (Hobbes). not least I like this as it sets a precedent for the future. if our ancestors were able to live a more sane life than us by valuing only what was valuable and finding themselves a lot less afflicted by the ego. they've proved there is technically nothing innate in each of us to prevent the going forward into a new Eden. I recommend any readers interested in transcending (overcoming / decommissioning) the all too common twin maladies of time-bound perception and ego identification should have a look at: How to Live in the Here and Now - i've put in a link for you at the top!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars naive is maybe a bit kind.., 8 Jun. 2010
This review is from: The Fall: The Insanity of the Ego in Human History and the Dawning of a New Era (Paperback)
This book looks quite convincing and scientific but so many times the "evidence" is selective,particularly absences of proof are taken as proof of absence (eg of aggression in paleolithic people) and it becomes extremely misleading. People may decry religion and patriarchy but it has been all ideologies (including religion and patriarchy) that have caused the great majority of suffering in the human world. Steve Taylor is sailing into idelogical waters with this book. The fact that his ideology seems warm and new agey does not make it any less an ideology - He is still grossly oversimplifying a complex world, drawing a selective meaning by ignoring contrary evidence and behaving as though his is the only possible meaning. So then there must be those who are right and those who are wrong. Goodies and baddies, and where does that lead? Oh yes, human conflict. Oooops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating overview of how humanity went from happiness to misery, 27 April 2009
This review is from: The Fall: The Insanity of the Ego in Human History and the Dawning of a New Era (Paperback)
This is an inspiring and thought-provoking book. The author offers an excitingly different interpretation of history and of how the current pathological world culture was created. For over 100,000 years the world was seen as a paradise. People were in touch with, and felt part of, the essence of nature.

Contrary to current propaganda, life was highly civilised: completely peaceful (no evidence of any fortifications), abundant, sharing, caring and happy. (Don't you find it distasteful that archeologists actually specify that a site must have been fortified as part of the evidence for whether or not it is civilised? Surely a LACK of fortifications, indicating a peaceful culture, is MUCH more civilised...)

So, what happened?! Somehow, about 6,000 years ago, certain humans changed; the reptilian brain took over (although this is not how the author describes it - he uses the much-bandied term "ego" although no location in the brain has ever been identified for this). The reptilian brain is reliable but tends to be rigid, compulsive and - most of all - hierarchical. For those controlled by their reptilian brain, survival depends on domination and status.

Such peoples revere war and killing and can never get enough of it so, in just a few centuries, our world of peaceful, egalitarian, hunter-gatherer cultures was (so easily) taken over and became controlled by life-hating hoodlums obsessed by greed, domination and violence. All women and most men (except those at the very top) effectively became slaves. So began the kind of world where the top 1% own 98% of the earth's abundance and the rest must struggle. This Fall was virtually overnight and still continues today - aren't we all (wage) slaves?

The book skillfully blends history, psychology, sociology and spirituality to produce a radically different account of history that is not only thought provoking and enlightening but also enjoyable to read. This is a revolutionary view of why the world is in such a sorry state, how we got here, and a way out. (The last is where I disagree - research is increasingly showing that this horrifying reptilian brain domination is substantially due to the rigid way babies are being birthed and then looked after in their earliest years, as lucidly explained in "Feelings Matter" by Ceanne DeRohan.)

It might also be worth taking a look at Michael Tsarion, a revisionist historian who offers a huge body of work on the real story of mankind, much of which can be listened to for free on youtube. There is also Frank O'Collins of Ucadia.com - amazing version of history and a fantastic body of law. Note that I am not saying they have the right version/s, I am just asking: what if it was the way they say it was, rather than the way we were taught in school?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very credible overview of what is wrong with the human race., 6 May 2013
By 
D.Gwillim (Liphook, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this book to everyone who has an open mind and a desire to understand and work towards a sustainable violent free future for not only humankind but all of God's creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What makes us tick?, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall: The Insanity of the Ego in Human History and the Dawning of a New Era (Paperback)
Fascinating book for exploring the origins of the psychological ego - that internalised force that shapes our reality. A must read for anyone wishing to clarify what makes us tick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars makes you see the world in a different way, 23 Oct. 2007
This review is from: The Fall: The Insanity of the Ego in Human History and the Dawning of a New Era (Paperback)
This books attempts something remarkable - a complete overview of human history and cultural development throughout the world and a psychological examination of why human beings have developed in the way we have. The author has very interesting explanations for why human beings developed warfare, male domination, monotheistic religion and so forth. His theory is difficult to summarise but suggests that the root cause is our 'over-developed ego', which makes us view ourselves in separation from other people and nature, and makes it difficult for us to empathise with others. There's so much in the book that as soon as I'd finished I started flicking through it again, going over certain passages. This book really does make you see the world in a different light. It makes you understand the human race's terrible past, but at the same time gives some hope for the future. A major achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Jan. 2015
By 
IndigoJ (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall: The Insanity of the Ego in Human History and the Dawning of a New Era (Paperback)
Everyone needs to rea this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book to make you think, 11 Mar. 2006
By 
CQB "Helen" (Teignmouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fall: The Insanity of the Ego in Human History and the Dawning of a New Era (Paperback)
I loved Steve Taylor's lucid account of why he thinks the world is in such a bad way, how we got to be in this sorry state and how we can get out of it. It skillfully blends history, psychology, sociology and spirituality to produce a book that is not only thought provoking and enlightening but also enjoyable to read. Despite the potentially depressing nature of the issues covered, Steve Taylor manages to remain positive and provide solutions for a way forward to a better world. This is an uplifting book and recommended to anyone searching for answers to difficult questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fall: The Insanity of the Ego in Human History and the Dawning of a New Era
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews