Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic - compelling reading
This book contains so many interesting facts and all laid out in a way anyone can understand. Followed the series on Channel 4 and got totally hooked, maybe coming from Northern Ireland helps. The book and series covered the dedication of the workers designed, built and manufactured everything on the ship. A dedication to the standard and dedication of the Craftspeople...
Published on 8 Nov. 2010 by CMK

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars titanic (from the channel 4 series titanic the mission
1905026714 Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission): The Real Story Of The Construction Of The World's Most Famous Ship]]If you have books on the titanic this is the same as them it takes bits from them. The book does not follow the channel 4 series has you think until the last few pages but if you are a new starter too the titanic story this...
Published on 11 May 2011 by titanic 12


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic - compelling reading, 8 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission) (Hardcover)
This book contains so many interesting facts and all laid out in a way anyone can understand. Followed the series on Channel 4 and got totally hooked, maybe coming from Northern Ireland helps. The book and series covered the dedication of the workers designed, built and manufactured everything on the ship. A dedication to the standard and dedication of the Craftspeople in the UK at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the last Titanic book you will buy., 1 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission) (Hardcover)
What a very good book, enough detail for the novice and plenty of technical for the geeks.Well laid out easy to get through, difficult to put down! Finished it in two sittings, now hooked will order recommended book on the constuction and design by Bruce Beveridge. Didnt see the tv series so cannot comment on that aspect of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic in a new light...., 24 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission) (Hardcover)
This must be one of the best books on the Titanic in years and is a must read for any Titanic buffs.

It is easy to forget that the construction of the Titanic and the Olympic Class of passenger liners was an engineering feat of enormous endevour at the time and Titanic broke many world records. This book focuses purely on the construction and fitting out of the Titanic and does not delve into the disaster that befell it. Therefore, you get a completely fresh look at the Titanic without another monologue on the disaster with the usual theories of its sinking!

I have never read a book on engineering or ship construction before, but found this book entirely riveting, no pun intended. There were a couple of sections where the author got a little carried away and the technical detail got a little too geeky!

This book states that it accompanies the recent Channel 4 series 'Titanic the mission" and this did initially put me off as most of these types of books just regurgitate the TV series with lots of glossy pictures. Much to my surprise, all references to the Channel 4 series are resticted entirely to the final chapter, which if you've watched the series you don't really need to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A World Beater, 11 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission) (Hardcover)
A thoroughly readable and utterly engaging account of the ill-fated liner. It's packed full of delicious nuggets of technical and social detail which brings the story utterly alive. One gets the feeling that Gill is something of an iceberg, that what is written represents only a fraction of what he knows and understands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but has its flaws, 13 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission) (Hardcover)
This is a good book on the build of the Titanic with several interesting facts which may be harder to find in other books on this subject. Several listings of the ship's contents / supplies are included which really do highlight the size of the vessel and so are some great photos scattered throughout.

The Channel 4 series is something I never saw and judging by the rushed last chapter (which is the only part which seems to relate to that) I don't feel I missed anything. Rebuilding small parts by just 4 engineers seems a waste of time or perhaps just an interest which they themselves would get satisfaction out of. Hardly material for a book you would want to read again I would say (unlike the other far more interesting chapters about the ship itself). It seems to me this last chapter was only included to link this book to the series and therefore probably sell more copies. Perhaps a bit cheeky and unnecessary really.

A few other annoyances I found with several claims the writer makes, such as he points out "Nearer My God to Thee" was probably not performed by the band during the sinking. It is fine to claim this but there is very little discussion or evidence to back up such statements. It would be more interesting to discuss this I think and try to find out where those claims then came from. But perhaps it is a trigger for a more devoted enthusiast to keep digging which is what I intend to do.

Not much here on the sinking, so you if you are looking for more stories relating to that I would suggest you would look elsewhere.

However this seems like a great book to start a Titanic interest with I would say and there is lots of information on the ship's build and the White Star Line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazzzing!!!!!, 23 Nov. 2010
By 
P. Hulme - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission) (Hardcover)
Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission): The Real Story Of The Construction Of The World's Most Famous Ship

We watched the series on TV and thought it was awesome, looked everywhere to see if a DVD was on offer, sadly NO! but the book is exceptionally great, tells the full story of the famous "Titanic" and is a must, but the DVD would have been great alongside with the book.

Can't understand there are so many great progs that never get to DVD, and some really rubbish ones do??

Must give gratitude to "The Team" Yewande, Brendan, Luke, and Dave. what a fab job they all did. They also made it all so interesting to watch.
So people "Buy the book" it is great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate TITANIC Book, 25 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission) (Hardcover)
Even before James Cameron's film, the TITANIC and its untimely end exercised a fascination for all who knew of her. Few, however, understood the engineering and mechanical reality that lay behind the claim that the liner was "unsinkable". In this book, Anton Gill, with commendable precision and clarity, explains the mistaken basis of the claim, and the numerous errors and exaggerations that so misled its victims and led to one of the great naval disasters of all time. TITANIC is a timely warning to maintain our scepticism about the hubristic claims of technology. Gill has created a benchmark in the narrative of "those who go down to the sea in ships".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic, 19 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission) (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 9 year old son, who is Titanic mad. We watched together The Mission, and i ordered the book that night. It is informative and really well put together, My son will not put it down. He loves it. Any Titanic mad person would love this book too!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TITANIC - AN APPRECIATED GIFT, 19 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission) (Hardcover)
I haven't read this book as it was bought as a gift for my next door neighbour's birthday who is over-the-moon with it, I have it on good authority from him that it is a fantastic read and as he has read many books relating to the Titanic, that's testiment enough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic, 10 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission) (Hardcover)
It is easy to forget the construction of the Olympic Class liners.

This book contains so many interesting facts on Titanic herself.

An most excellant book to read gives plenty of information on the history behind the Titanic as well as the Ship herself.

Followed the series on Channel 4 and got totally hooked on it, maybe coming from Ireland helps and this is close to my heart.

A most have book if you are Titanic mad just like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titanic: (Accompanies the Channel 4 TV series Titanic: The Mission)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews