Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection
I've read a lot of Peter Cook books, being a big fan of his for years, and this is definitely one of the best. A lot of the others are too personal - not surprisingly, being written by his ex-wives - and concentrate on the bleaker periods of Cook's life. This not only celebrates the bleak bits - how bad could it have been when he was still phoning late-night radio with...
Published on 30 Oct 2006 by Harry Bowen

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars amongst which you will find excellent interviews with Mel Smith
A very thorough compilation of material from the Peter Cook fanzine "Publish And Bedazzled", amongst which you will find excellent interviews with Mel Smith, David Renwick, Paul Jackson, John Lloyd and Chris Morris to name a few of the highlights. Unfortunately, the book (and presumably the magazine it sprang from) is completely stifled by the horrendously unfunny...
Published 1 month ago by Emelius Browne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 30 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: How Very Interesting!: Peter Cook's Universe And All That Surrounds It (Paperback)
I've read a lot of Peter Cook books, being a big fan of his for years, and this is definitely one of the best. A lot of the others are too personal - not surprisingly, being written by his ex-wives - and concentrate on the bleaker periods of Cook's life. This not only celebrates the bleak bits - how bad could it have been when he was still phoning late-night radio with the hilarious 'Sven' stories - but remembers all the good times too, which are, in the end, what we love him for.

Everyone from Cook's history appears somewhere, from the Pythons to Clive Anderson and even the brilliant Chris Morris. Mel Smith's stories about the bets he used to make with Cook - balancing ice cubes on babies' heads, for instance - are worth the price alone. A must for fans of British Comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up Against the Wall Magazine (4), 28 Dec 2007
This review is from: How Very Interesting!: Peter Cook's Universe And All That Surrounds It (Paperback)
If, like me, you agree with Stephen Fry's assessment that Peter Cook was indeed "the funniest man to ever draw breath," then you'll welcome the publication of this tome from the folks at the Establishment, the Peter Cook Appreciation Society (stabbers.org) who for a time were responsible for the dead tree periodical Publish and Bedazzled (AKA Pub & Bed). While the bonanza of materials to surface in the last couple years is rich--from Harry Thompson's lively if flawed biography to the comprehensive collections of writings and remembrances put together by third wife Lin and most recently, the memoir of first wife Wendy--this book is the only one that comes from the same point of view as most readers of the above tomes. I mean fans, of course. And when it comes to PC, "fans" is almost always short for fanatics.

My own chicken-and-egg story of fandom is hard to sort. There was suddenly this period where I was deluged with British comedy in the unlikeliest of spots: mid-Michigan. At the age of 14 or so, Britcom hit me with a resounding splat from which I have never recovered. When I should have been falling for the latest teen idol, I was instead consumed with a passion for the Pythons, the Goons and the Goodies (which explains a lot about my life's trajectory since then). I can't sort out that mad rush of comic immersion, but I think the first bit of Peter Cook was A POKE IN THE EYE WITH A SHARP STICK (yeah, on vinyl--so what, I'm old), the early Amnesty International benefit concert. But it doesn't matter because, viper-like, I devoured everything I could get my greedy little paws on and forever warped my outlook on life.

Consequently, I have sucked the marrow from every PC book that's come out in the last couple of years, and thank the gods, the Internet has put me in touch with PC fans around the world so I've finally seen just about everything that exists (except for the complete Fairy Cobbler sketch, so if you have a copy...). You'd think I'd be gagging on it by now, that one more book would put me over the edge, but no--I couldn't be more pleased to have Messrs. Hamilton, Gordon and Kieran's volume in part, because it does come from that fan point of view. Although that can make it a trifle uneven. The interviews almost entirely depend upon the state of mind of the interviewee at the moment which likewise ranges from insightful and intelligent to belligerently beery. But unlike the encomia of SOMETHING LIKE FIRE or the biographies and memoirs that use Cook as a canvas upon which to paint their pet theories or pet peeves, HOW VERY INTERESTING captures the fleeting moments of those who worked with, trod near or found the same fascination with Cook. They include folks like the always-brilliant Eleanor Bron and Chris Morris, long-time friends like John Fortune and John Bassett and the Private Eye crew. The discussions (it is mostly interviews) range far beyond Cook and his oeuvre but trample through all manner of comedy and performance. The tone veers from light-hearted to hilarious, from fawning to cynical--but it's the perfect book for leaving close to hand so you can pick it up at odd moments and laugh your ass off or chuckle knowingly as the case may be. Besides, you don't even need the Latin for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dan Kieran's Masterpiece!, 9 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Very Interesting!: Peter Cook's Universe And All That Surrounds It (Paperback)
I'd been a fan of Dan Kieran's books about Crap Jobs and Crap Towns (not least 'cos I have a crap job in a crap town!) but Peter Cook was an unknown quantity to me. But I risked getting How Very Interesting because I thought if Dan the Man's got something to do with it, then it's gonna be a bit mad, not the usual 'So-and-so was born at the age of one, went somewhere, did this thing and died' type of biography. And it IS a very strange book, and brilliantly so. Instead of a straight story from soup to nuts, Dan gets people from certain moments of Peter Cook's performing career to give their eyewitness accounts. The fun begins when two or more interviewees talk about the same incident but from totally differing perspectives. Cook was famed for his rambling style of comedy, and this book echoes that. We get the producer of Beyond The Fringe talking in great detail of the cast's visit to a brothel, Soft Boy Robyn Hitchcock discussing how Yellow Submarine was a prophecy of the rise of Margaret Thatcher, someone else seeing PC and Keith Richards so out-of-it they're conversing in caveman grunts. In a very subtle way it tells not only Cook's story but the story of the times, and puts a unique slant on the perceived rise and fall of a comedy genius. In the 60s when Cook and Dudley Moore were making the TV shows that influenced the future Pythons, the BBC never once asked to see the scripts (mainly because there weren't any; they would improvise stuff during the week, perform it on a Friday and screen it on the Monday) because they trusted the duo. Compare that to now where everything has to meet the approval and vetting of various quangoes and departments. No wonder the mercurial Cook barely worked in his last years - he couldn't bear having to wade through all that red tape. In addition to the interviews there are some essential chapters on his major films that shed new light on Cook's impulses and ambitions. (Dan Kieran isn't afraid to treat comedy seriously.) Amongst the jollity - and Cook seemed almost manically driven to find the fun in any situation, he was a positive lifeforce (the chapter about Yellowbeard is uproarious) - there is a deep humanity and sensitivity in these pages, the pieces by QI producer John Lloyd and Martin Lewis being, for me, the emotional apexes. They miss him deeply - and, after reading about this amazing man - I miss missing the opportunity to miss him. More than a biography it's a crucially insightful guide to his work. Keep a copy by your computer when you're checking all the Cooky stuff on youtube. From this book I have discovered Derek & Clive, Bedazzled, the loopy Consequences concept album he made with Godley & Creme, and so much more. All hail Dan Kieran for doing the right thing! A treasure trove of riches and delights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars amongst which you will find excellent interviews with Mel Smith, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Very Interesting!: Peter Cook's Universe And All That Surrounds It (Paperback)
A very thorough compilation of material from the Peter Cook fanzine "Publish And Bedazzled", amongst which you will find excellent interviews with Mel Smith, David Renwick, Paul Jackson, John Lloyd and Chris Morris to name a few of the highlights. Unfortunately, the book (and presumably the magazine it sprang from) is completely stifled by the horrendously unfunny 'antics' of its editors. Odious when it's not being impenetrable, the irrelevant, back-of-a-beermat witterings of the project's orchestrators make a miserable chore out of some great raw material, and throttle any joy out of celebrating Cook's work by insisting on 'joining in' with rambling, faux-bohemian tedium, seeming intent to see the self-destruction of Cook's later years as a badge of triumph, a path to be followed in.

Thanks to badly-handled estates, Cook's back catalogue has been spectacularly badly-served by commercial releases over the past two decades, bar a series of increasingly threadbare printed anthologies and 'celebrations', and the boring editorialising in this volume does nothing to sell the appeal of this work for a wider audience and free it from the hands of a boozy clique of insider tape trading and pub dullards. By the time you reach the end of this collection, the high quality of plenty of the interviews and some of the feature writing will have been completely dampened. Indeed, so effective are the editors at recreating this sense of smoky fug and alcoholic overindulgence that they seem so keen to canonise, that you may genuinely feel queasy afterwards.

It's still worth having, for some of the contents, but unless you genuinely think that the best thing Cook ever did was to drink and smoke himself to death, and that the shambles of his later years was the zenith of his career, it's an ugly and miserably point-missing tribute to a great comic with an endangered legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem!, 12 Oct 2007
This review is from: How Very Interesting!: Peter Cook's Universe And All That Surrounds It (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this collection - it is a delightful, rich and enlightening survey of many of those work brought them into contact with the great Peter Cook, and, combined, the recollections provide a very vivid portrait of a remarkable, but very human, comic genius. It's one of those books one never wants to finish. If you love Cook, you'll relish every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brimming, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: How Very Interesting!: Peter Cook's Universe And All That Surrounds It (Paperback)
Brimming with ideas, insight, sauciness, intrigue,comic theory and pages of paper.
Recommended Reading (north of Spencers Wood and Shinfield.
When it was delivered I was in the bath, but a card through the door and I picked it up from the desk at the sorting office in Gillette Way. Marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The genius of Peter Cook as seen by others., 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Very Interesting!: Peter Cook's Universe And All That Surrounds It (Paperback)
The various interviews here help to explain the high regard Cook was (and is) held in by so many of his contemporaries. His legacy remains intact, and these anecdotes reveal a great deal about how Cook worked and why he was so inspirational to so many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody good, 28 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Very Interesting!: Peter Cook's Universe And All That Surrounds It (Paperback)
Like Cooky do you? Want to find out more about him do you? Well buy it then. It's very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Cook So Far, 10 Jan 2007
By 
C. Mcsloy "I baptised a dog" (Nowhere in particular today) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Very Interesting!: Peter Cook's Universe And All That Surrounds It (Paperback)
Great collection of interviews and recollections from colleagues and friends. It sticks mostly to the professional aspects of the great mans life and gets many bonus points from me for including quite a lot of material on his collaboration with Chris Morris which had he lived (would according to Morris) surely have been repeated. It's great to hear of funny moments that were never captured on film or audio, such as the story of Cook phoning up the BBC to complain about onscreen female nudity. It was shown at 10:30pm when his son was in bed, he was not given significant warning and by the time he woke up his son and got him downstairs it was over. I did have a geordie friend who whenever he was drunk and Never Mind the Buzzocks was on used to phone up the BBC and make receptionists cry by demanding to know what Phil Jupitus's job description was.

My Friend

"I mean what does it say on his passport like?"

BBC Receptionist

"Comedian"

My Friend

"Well, da you find him funny."

BCC Receptionist

"Not personally, no"

My Friend

Well, then. Anyway I thought this was the BBC not the BCC?

BBC Receptionist

It is that was a typing error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Very Interesting!: Peter Cook's Universe And All That Surrounds It
How Very Interesting!: Peter Cook's Universe And All That Surrounds It by Peter Gordon, Dan Kieran Paul Hamilton (Paperback - 2 Oct 2006)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews