Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking the Path, 10 Jan 2007
This review is from: Fighting (Fighting Series) (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in combat whether you are a novice or an experienced martial artist. This is also a very good resource book to teach adults or children. Too many books go straight into the flash stuff, which we all love but unless you have a decent defence and know how to distribute your weight for power then any boxer will always have the advantage. These attributes are covered successfully in this book.

Various systems like Kali, Silat, Western boxing etc are covered in this book, however the author deliberately leaves out the technical terms to just focus the reader on what can be done to and by, an opponent.

There are some real golden nuggets in this book and this will be a constant resource for those of you who wish to walk the path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review: Bob Breen - Fighting, 4 Sep 2007
This review is from: Fighting (Fighting Series) (Paperback)
This book is really intelligently and logically put together. The excellent photos and references to them are straight forward to follow, which for the reader makes the explanations of the techniques and general philosophy more easily understood.

A gem of a reference book for both the experienced and novice martial artist, and anyone interested in fighting and self defence, written by one of the world's top martial arts instructors. Something for everyone. Not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Establishing A Foundation., 11 Nov 2007
This review is from: Fighting (Fighting Series) (Paperback)
Bob Breen seems to have condensed a lifetime's work in to one of the most accessible books on fighting I have read. Unadorned by jargon, it cuts to the core of essential techniques that run across a variety styles. The format is logical, starting with preperation then attack, defence and finally putting it all together. The balance between pictures and text is just right and the quality of the photographs is excellent. Material I was familiar with simply emphasised the importance of the fundamentals, but there was plenty of new material for me to get my head around. I wish this book had been around when I started training 30 years ago! This book provides an excellent map for establishing a solid fighting foundation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars reprint quality problem, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting (Fighting Series) (Paperback)
The book is great, but quality of the reprint isn't so good. Lot of picrures seem to me rescan with low quality .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend this to anyone., 10 Mar 2014
By 
Mr Steven Roberts (Navenby, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting (Fighting Series) (Paperback)
I have bought a lot of tuition books on different fight styles and can say this is simply the best I have ever bought. Really well structured and set out. Great illustrations and simple but incredibly helpful written content. It covers the basics that can cross across numerous fighting styles and if I'd found this book sooner I could have saved money and time on a shed load of others I'd purchased. Great, great book, would thoroughly recommend it. Even beyond the intermediate as there are some small pearls in there to even help the more advanced practitioner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy to buy this book, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting (Fighting Series) (Paperback)
I am always reading this book

love the title Fighting a path to understanding

An included DVD of this book would have made this Epic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, buy it !!, 2 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Fighting (Fighting Series) (Paperback)
This book is great: great picture, instructive text. And it's a great reminder for the seminars. Buy it ! it's a must have !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another 5 star review!, 19 Oct 2008
This review is from: Fighting (Fighting Series) (Paperback)
As an instructor of martial arts and still an occasional student I can quite safely say this is easily the best book on martial arts or fighting I have ever read. Bob Breen obviously has an amazing depth of knowledge and the book is put together in a fantastic fashion to put this knowledge across. Great knowledge, great writing, great pictures all put together in a fantastic, logical layout. My only criticism is that I could not get it in hardback so my paperback is now falling apart through constant reading and re-reading. An absolute must for any martial artist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fighting (Fighting Series)
Fighting (Fighting Series) by Bob Breen (Paperback - 2 Jan 2006)
£11.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews