Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Still Number One...
This is the 19th edition (next year marks the 30th anniversary of the first) of the UK pop chartwatcher's "bible". These days it no longer has the field to itself, but for all the historical information you're likely to need, in a clear, easy to read style, in one volume, and at a reasonable price, this is still The One to get.

They have tinkered slightly with...
Published on 30 May 2006 by Mr. R. B. Ager

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Condition not as good as described...
Frankly i'm disappointed - not in the book contents, it is what it is. But the cover was not in the condition described for this copy (very tatty corners, dirty, sticky) and the whole thing reeks of smoke. About the only correct part of the description was that the spine was intact, which it was. Shame - it was intended as a birthday gift for a good friend but despite...
Published 10 months ago by Julie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Much missed, with no US equivalent, 27 May 2012
By 
paul pirate (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
I hold with any of the most positive reviews here. The crucial ingredient is the understanding that singles and albums represent the whole picture of popular music (too bad the EPs went elsewhere at one point). This should be obvious, but in the States, the virtual monopoly held by Billboard leads to severe limitations. Joel Whitburn works hard for the money, but the separation into separate books for singles and albums, while suitable to Billboard's database, presents a choppy view of popular success. The "top 40" ceiling is frustrating, when one wishes to see how the "almost successful" songs were doing (and those so often the ones still remembered); Guinness's ceiling is much higher. Guinness has far better cross references, and the commentary (where present) is usually more to the point than most of the Billboard commentary. The detail given to reissues and reentries in Guinness is unmatched. Most importantly, the index attempts to distinguish the several songs with the same title from one another, while Billboard is far more vague (and not strong in matching the same song with different titles).
So as I update from 2005, I will have to see what Virgin's "exclusive rights" to such information has produced. Right away, it's back to the Billboard-style single and album separation, so I will have to expect something less comprehensive. I wonder why Melody Maker and the NME have not published a survey of their lists (or have they? Please tell), being the best-known ongoing UK surveys as far as we Yanks are concerned. Whether the license to produce this series went elsewhere, or whether the expense finally overcame good intentions, I am so grateful that it was published for so long. My copy of the 19th is not going anywhere from my sight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great On Everything After The 1960's, 16 July 2006
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
This is an excellent volume and a good book for charts statistics if you are willing to accept the Record Retailer Chart as the "bible".

Up until the late 1960's it was not accepted as the main chart which has led to decades of debate over who has had most number one's and so on. I also think that EP's should be included. Sure they are forgotten now but in the 60's they had their own charts and much music was released on EP only which is now being forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ATOMIC KITTEN BETTER THAN HENDRIX ?, 29 May 2007
By 
Kenneth Melville (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
If you are looking for chart stats then this should be your first port of call.

However,I have a problem with the stats contained at the end.

They are now so biased in favour of modern music. The main reason being that the charts are now the top75..whereas in the 60's you only had the top20 recorded for a long time. Therefore a minor hit now could hang around between 50 and 75 and rack up "weeks on chart" whereas a classic single from The Beatles or The Rolling Stones in 1965 would not be counted as soon as it dropped to no.21 ! A younger reader may look at the stats at the back of the book and see Westlife or Atomic Kitten above greats like Otis Redding and Jimi Hendrix and that can't be right. Maybe the writers could even out the stats by only counting anything which was in the top 20 all the way through ?

Overall though, a decent book and a handy reference when you want to find out what was no.1 on your birthday !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When is the next being released?, 30 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
This book is amazing. It's been four years since the last one, when is the next edition coming out??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware of buying second hand books!, 9 Dec 2010
By 
E. L. Stoney "Buster" (Solihull, West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
I bought the above book a few months ago from one of the second-hand book market-sellers. The condition of the book was described as 'good'. I took this to mean clean and undamaged, i.e. edges still on cover and pages with no noticeable damage!

I was a little disappointed to get a slightly tatty looking book (the pages have lost their initial brightness and become dull and beige) but nonetheless thought what a bargain for only a few pounds (the original price being much higher!)

The slight horror was that the book had obviously belonged to a smoker ( I am definitely not!). Once you open the pages the smell comes straight out.....and despite a couple of months, it does not seem to have subsided!!

As it only cost a small amount I haven't returned it (will probably donate to the next school fayre) as the postage would have been more than I spent....but beware of buying second-hand books. I would expect 'smokers' books to be clearly labelled as 'poor condition'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book contents was GREAT but the packaging wasn't, 6 July 2009
By 
C. M. Holman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
I bought this for my Dads birthday, Couldn't find it anywhere else except on here (RRP 18.99 and we paid roughly 100).

When we receieved this the packaging wasn't great which in turn made the book damaged, i e-mailed the supllier (But surprise surprise nothing back!!)

If you pay for something (alot more than what it is worth), you would expect better packaging!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why cant u buy this in the shops, 15 Feb 2008
By 
paul miles (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
haveing to buy this book online could not buy it in no shops in town where i live cant understand why the book shops dont sell this they couldent even order it had to buy it online just waiting 4 it to come now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced, 7 April 2009
By 
Mr. D. Maughan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
As much as I enjoy looking at who's who in music, 49.99 is way over the top. I'll buy it in bargain books next year for less than 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition)
British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) by David Roberts (Paperback - 2 Jun 2006)
Used & New from: 23.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews