Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Still Number One...
This is the 19th edition (next year marks the 30th anniversary of the first) of the UK pop chartwatcher's "bible". These days it no longer has the field to itself, but for all the historical information you're likely to need, in a clear, easy to read style, in one volume, and at a reasonable price, this is still The One to get.

They have tinkered slightly with...
Published on 30 May 2006 by Mr. R. B. Ager

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Condition not as good as described...
Frankly i'm disappointed - not in the book contents, it is what it is. But the cover was not in the condition described for this copy (very tatty corners, dirty, sticky) and the whole thing reeks of smoke. About the only correct part of the description was that the spine was intact, which it was. Shame - it was intended as a birthday gift for a good friend but despite...
Published 10 months ago by Julie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Still Number One..., 30 May 2006
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
This is the 19th edition (next year marks the 30th anniversary of the first) of the UK pop chartwatcher's "bible". These days it no longer has the field to itself, but for all the historical information you're likely to need, in a clear, easy to read style, in one volume, and at a reasonable price, this is still The One to get.

They have tinkered slightly with the layout of the main listings this year. Artist headings and albums are now printed in a fetching shade of blood orange, to give a better contrast with the biographical information and singles. The albums are now mixed in with the singles, to give one chronological list for each act.

At the foot of each page runs a "No 1s timeline" to show every week's No 1 single and album from the start in November 1952 (album chart started July 1956) and the end of last year. The usual review of last year is at the start of the book and the index of song titles at the end; dotted throughout the main A-Z listings are numerous featurettes (eg Oscar-winning songs) of doubtful importance but fascinating, none the less.

Paper, print quality and overall clarity are the usual high standard and if last year's volume fitted on your bookshelf this one will also - at 720 pages it has just two more!

It could be argued that, in the face of declining music sales and the availability of much of the information over the internet (at a price), the relevance of this yearly publication is also diminishing. However, its strength lies in its historical depth:- most people hear songs on the radio and can't remember who they were, or wonder how old they were, (and DJs and presenters aren't and never have been very informative when you want them to be). This book provides the quickest way of finding out; it has also been known to settle arguments. It may no longer be the essential purchase it once was, but it is still highly useful, and all-round, it is still the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guinness Hit Singles RIP, 7 May 2011
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
It's a great pity this excellent reference work is no longer produced, I can't imagine why.

It has all the correct info about re-issues, remixes, chart re-entries and the correct artists listed for so-called Vs tracks.

Faced with an out of date book, I bought what was supposed to be the replacement, the Virgin book, only to find the first 3 tracks I looked up were listed incorrectly, further inspection showed a host of errors to such an extent that the Virgin book is now used as a monitor stand, about all it's good for.

Please bring back the Guinness book, it truly was the bible for all UK hits. RIP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My bible, 19 July 2005
This fantastic book is an absolute must for music lovers of all ages. Packed with information regarding the UK music charts, "British Hit Singles and Albums" leaves no stone unturned. As well as listing every single and album to have entered the charts since 1952 and 1956 respectively, this book gives you each single and album's peak chart position, total weeks spent on chart, date of entry, catalogue number, record label... I am in absolute awe of Guinness. How much effort must go into creating these beautiful paving slabs every year?
And this edition is the biggest slab yet, containing 720 pages and having grown to a larger height than usual. This, of course, has permitted the inclusion of a multitude of special features, such as various artists' Top 10 singles and albums, chart milestones, a "Body Parts Chart", the "Pop Premier League" (giving football clubs all over the UK a chance to shine as pop stars), the customary pop review of the year, and most notably, the extensive section at the back of the book celebrating 1000 UK no. 1 singles.
The information you desire is clearly laid out and, consequently, is easy to find. Guinness have painstakingly added up each act's total weeks on the UK singles and albums charts and have constructed a Top 500 list of acts according to their totals, so in addition to simply discovering everything you will ever need to know about a certain single or album, you will also find a biography of those acts making it into this Top 500. The Top 100 acts are listed in all their glory over two pages in the book, and I could not help but be astounded at the incredible chart week totals clocked up by Elvis Presley and Cliff Richard, as well as the Beatles, Queen, Michael Jackson, Abba and U2 to name but a few.
In my opinion, "British Hit Singles and Albums" reigns supreme over its fairly new rivals, and if there is one book that I swear by as a music lover, this is certainly it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My bible, 16 Jun 2006
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
This fantastic book is an absolute must for music lovers of all ages. Packed with information regarding the UK music charts, "British Hit Singles and Albums" leaves no stone unturned. As well as listing every single and album to have entered the charts since 1952 and 1956 respectively, this book gives you each single and album's peak chart position, total weeks spent on chart, date of entry, catalogue number, record label... I am in absolute awe of Guinness. How much effort must go into creating these beautiful paving slabs every year?

And this edition is one of the biggest slabs yet, containing 720 pages and having grown to a larger height than usual. This, of course, has permitted the inclusion of a multitude of special features, such as the customary pop review of the year, Oscar-winning songs, artists with the most UK no. 1 albums, a celebratory page dedicated to the 30th anniversary of the first punk hit by the notorious Sex Pistols, and much more besides.

The information you desire is clearly laid out and, consequently, is easy to find. Guinness have painstakingly added up each act's total weeks on the UK singles and albums charts and have constructed a Top 500 list of acts according to their totals, so in addition to simply discovering everything you will ever need to know about a certain single or album, you will also find a biography of those acts making it into this Top 500. The Top 100 acts are listed in all their glory over two pages in the book, and I could not help but be astounded at the incredible chart week totals clocked up by Elvis Presley and Cliff Richard, as well as the Beatles, Queen, Michael Jackson, Abba and U2 to name but a few.

In my opinion, "British Hit Singles and Albums" reigns supreme over its fairly new rivals, and if there is one book that I swear by as a music lover, this is certainly it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Hit singles, 27 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. NA REDMAN (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
Very Very good book for Quiz's etc. I am 72 I did get the early ones, I have always been interested in these books, brilliant thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bible for all music and chart fans - massively useful, 22 Feb 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
Barcode: 9781904994107

I've lost track of how many times i've dipped in and out of the this book for information. It really has got everything you'd ever want to know about the UK charts in it. Ever heard a song played on the radio and want to know moe about it? Chances are you'll find it in the index.

As well as listing complete chart records and catalogue numbers for every artist to ever enter the top 75 you'll find a fun Number 1 timeline going right back to when it started in 1952 up to 2005. Really good if you want to see what the number single/album was on your birthday.

There's also interesting facts sprinkled throughout the book and a top 500 of the UK's most successful artists in the charts, i've always liked looking at where my favourite bands/singers are in the chart and working out how many more weeks they need to be on the chart before they overtake so and so...

It's also very useful for making sure say, all your track information on your iTunes is correct or if you wanted to do maybe a playlist of all the number ones of a certain year.

So, all in all, just the most informative book you could ever wish for, it really is a must have for any music fan. I can't wait for the next edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars singles only, 29 May 2005
By A Customer
i have been buying these books for over 20 years.
a few have been missed but i had so many now i have given some of the old copies away.
i would have prefered to continue with a seperate volume for albums because compilation and classical chart toppers deserve to be recognised.
no 'war of the worlds', 'saturday night fever', 'that'll be the day' or 'il divo'?
i just hope that guiness does not include internet downloads in their book next year?
singles should mean singles and nothing else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your best guide for downloading music..., 18 July 2005
By 
18th edition already! Another great cover and slimmer than the year before. I have no objections on this book growing in size (even in price) except for postage costs, but If I wanted all necessary information in it, it would have to expand some 400 pages.
OK, so pluses this year:
1) The inclusion of the duration for each and every #1 single (something I wrote the autohors about last year, so I hope I had some minot influence with many other fans) so I can finally correct my UK #1s DVD
2) The inclusion of the b-sides (some very bizarre choices there)
3) great cover
4) rundown of 2004 news in music
Negative sides:
1) Still no compilation chart (not that I miss it that much and I just might be asking too much)
2) No photos of real pop celebrities
3) Still 100% B&W with some hints of red
4) Only a few stats (and certainly not relevant ones)
5) Still no CD/DVD version that I really see as a must for the future issues (updateable, of course)
Although I have many negative sides here, I must say I give this book 5 stars because it is the most important collection of hit singles and albums from the most dynamic and silliest chart in the world. I didn't count all the pros that are already in there for years now, so it is a ratio of 50 to 5.
For the next issue, I think they will probably leave out the #1 list (they really should), the alphabethical index and thus create just enough room for compilations.
The focus for the next issue should be 50 years of Eurovision (as there are some, what, 50 songs from or related to Eurovision in this book-certainly more than football anthems they always write about), download charts, and maybe the first look on other world charts such as Billboard (of course), German and Japanese charts.
We'll see. And please, support this effort and buy this book. It is worth so much more than what they charge for it. Enjoy the Bible of pop music history! And download away...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the Business, 18 May 2005
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Slightly slow out of the blocks this year the Guinness Hit Singles & Albums is still the best reference work on the UK pop charts.
There is no change to the tried and tested listings arrangement. Artists and groups are of course listed in alphabetical order with their singles chart entries in black followed by albums in red. This year a slightly darker shade of red ink has been used and it's much clearer. Apart from country of origin and defnition of each act, potted biographies are only given to the flagged Top 500 chart acts - because of the inclusion of albums these now include such as AC/DC and Peter Sellers.
After the artist listings there is the usual cross-referenced titles index and a major feature detailing the 1000 Number Ones, including their timings and B-sides. Dotted throughout the listings are various little features, such as songs with body parts in the title, one-hit-wonders and that very 60s product the EP.
To keep the tome to a reasonable size only the artist album chart has been used, no various artist compilations, or, indeed, classical. And so that it doesn't become too fat they have made the book taller, by about an inch, so if last year's was a snug fit between your shelves...
There are other chart listings books. However, for layout and clarity of the core information I think Guinness is still the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Condition not as good as described..., 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) (Paperback)
Frankly i'm disappointed - not in the book contents, it is what it is. But the cover was not in the condition described for this copy (very tatty corners, dirty, sticky) and the whole thing reeks of smoke. About the only correct part of the description was that the spine was intact, which it was. Shame - it was intended as a birthday gift for a good friend but despite efforts to clean it up and defumigate I haven't summoned the courage to give it to him yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition)
British Hit Singles and Albums (Guinness 19th Edition) by David Roberts (Paperback - 2 Jun 2006)
Used & New from: 12.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews