Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like having a friend who lives there
The Time Out guides have a quality of their own, best summed up by saying it's like having a friend who lives there. Every guide book has a good list of attractions, restaurants, hotels and so on. The Time Out guides go one better: they rate them in the language a friend might use. 'Don't bother, it's over-priced and over-rated.' Or: 'Don't miss this. It's the one the...
Published on 19 April 2009 by Peter Grose

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very little use
I bought this book based on the reviews and in the hope that it would be up-to-date as it is re-released every year.

The book is not user friendly at all. The areas are not listed by arrondisement or in any useful order, the maps are at odd points in the book and therefore you cannot flick to them easily, the sections are long winded and inaccurrate. It really...
Published on 8 Sep 2010 by Lobb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like having a friend who lives there, 19 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Time Out" Paris (Paperback)
The Time Out guides have a quality of their own, best summed up by saying it's like having a friend who lives there. Every guide book has a good list of attractions, restaurants, hotels and so on. The Time Out guides go one better: they rate them in the language a friend might use. 'Don't bother, it's over-priced and over-rated.' Or: 'Don't miss this. It's the one the locals go to rather than the tourist trap over the road.' Using Time Out guides I've avoided being ripped off by private car parks in Crete, found the best flamenco bar in Seville (where entry is free) and now the modestly priced hotel in Paris where Man Ray, Marcel Duchamp, Pablo Picasso and their mates used to hang out. (Was the cigarette burn in the carpet left there by Pablo, we wondered?) There are penty of good guides. Time Out guides are the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very little use, 8 Sep 2010
I bought this book based on the reviews and in the hope that it would be up-to-date as it is re-released every year.

The book is not user friendly at all. The areas are not listed by arrondisement or in any useful order, the maps are at odd points in the book and therefore you cannot flick to them easily, the sections are long winded and inaccurrate. It really is an incredibly frustrating book.

A Sunday Times article about eating in Paris recommended a restaurant the week before I visited Paris (August bank holiday), when I looked it up in the Time Out guide, it was listed as closed in August. Based on the fact that The Times had recommended it so recently we went anyway - it was not closed in August and as far as I know never does close in August. We ditched the book after that in favour of local magazines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not pleased, 21 April 2008
This review is from: "Time Out" Paris (Paperback)
I had in my possession a copy of the Rough Guide which was brilliant. Every restaurant it recommended was outstanding and every place was a treasure. But then I lost it. This Time Out book tempted me away. That was such a mistake. I cannot fault it's guides on all other subjects, but the restaurant guides were seriously misguided. Places they said were great were nothing short of average. It really let me down on what should have been a very special weekend away.
It could also learn from the Rough Guide's free pull out map which was very handy indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Je ne sais quoi de Paris", 8 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: "Time Out" Paris (Paperback)
Having been to Paris many times before, the need for a guidebook did not strike me as a necessity, but when I got this guide as a birthday present, I was most pleasantly surprised with how much I didn't know about this beautiful city! The information you get from it is comprehensive and thorough, and when reading it, you do not feel weighed down by a mountain of information, but rather a new sense of understanding, made easier to read by the writers witty and charming take on the city lifestyle. If you are a newbie to the city, or even if you are a seasoned visitor, I would advise you all to get this guide, if only for the maps, which are all you need to find your way around the city!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory reading, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We got so much out of a Paris/Disney half-term with this as our guide. We found a wonderful relatively cheap restaurant round the corner from the Eiffle (sic) Tower which we would never have known about without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too hip to be useful, 22 Feb 2012
If it's your first trip to Paris and if you want a guide to get a taste of "real" Paris, "traditional" Paris, or "French" Paris then this isn't the guide for you. It comes over too hip to be useful unless your scene is the latest high priced, modern bars, clubs and restuarants that really aren't typical of the City and where you know you're going to be paying over the odds. But if you're already familiar with Paris then this guide may offer a new perspective - whether you should be bothered is another matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good comprehensive Paris guide, 29 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the way this guide is laid out, with the main features of each area of Paris described in turn. It has an impartial, informative feel to it, like receiving advice from a friend. There are maps and a metro map at the back with a street index which is handy. There are separate sections for hotels, restaurants etc organised by area.

One tip which I discovered after buying the book - if you have an iphone there is a FREE 'Time Out Paris city guide' app which seems to contain much of the same info about restaurants (entries are worded exactly the same as the book) and sights with the handy feature of being able to search for things around your current location, and offline so you don't get charged while abroad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent travelling companion, 18 July 2010
By 
A Reviewer (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
The guide was invaluable on a recent weekend trip to Paris. Factually correct with lots of practical, up to date and new interesting facts and information. Restaurant recommendations were also spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out and about in Paris, 5 Jun 2006
By 
dr_sasp (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "Time Out" Paris (Paperback)
I took this book as my guide for my first trip to Paris in June 2006.

A handy (handbag) sized book with plenty of information and plenty of colour pictures. The street and metro maps are indispensible. Top tips guided us to excellent restaurants.

Minor criticisms - which would be common to all such publications - cannot be comprehensive due to size limitations, and despite being a new annual edition, some details such as prices are already out of date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I prefer Lonely Planet..., 5 Sep 2010
The two restaurants we decided to go to (from this book) had closed down!!! Disaster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Time Out" Paris
"Time Out" Paris by Simon Cropper (Paperback - 2 Feb 2006)
£11.56
Usually dispatched within 2 to 5 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews