Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my all time favourite walks book
I adore this book. It is my all time favourite walks book.I've done nearly all the walks in it and cannot reccomend them highly enough.It really helps that they are all accessible by public transport, there is a linked self facilitated walksgroup if you prefer to walk in a group.It's a wonderful way to experience all the different sorts of countryside around London.not to...
Published on 30 Aug 2006 by brixtonite

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Out of date
I bought this book earlier this year based on the positive reviews and the concept, which is good. Unfortunately, we have tried to use this book twice and both times we found that in the 7 years since it was written, things have changed. Despite being reasonably experienced walkers, yesterday we got lost several times, having to backtrack and guess our way and one full...
Published 20 months ago by Bits-N-Bobs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my all time favourite walks book, 30 Aug 2006
By 
brixtonite "brixtonite" (Brixton, London,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Time Out Book of Country Walks: 52 Walks Within Easy Reach of London: 1 (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
I adore this book. It is my all time favourite walks book.I've done nearly all the walks in it and cannot reccomend them highly enough.It really helps that they are all accessible by public transport, there is a linked self facilitated walksgroup if you prefer to walk in a group.It's a wonderful way to experience all the different sorts of countryside around London.not to mention the reccomended pubs anbd tearooms whch range from acceptable to absolutely outstanding.The instructions are a wonderful magical mystery tour and even I with absolutely no country sense can follow them.

I did the Southbourne to Chichester walk on 28/08/2006 and what a wonderful experience it was, beautiful stroll all round chichester harbour then a visit to the fabulous new pallant house gallery and of course the stunning cathedral.Blackberries to pick in abundance everywhere.

If you love walking and you live in greater london please please treat yourself to this amazing book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book to explore the countryside close to London, 26 Jun 2008
By 
H BURGER (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Out Book of Country Walks: 52 Walks Within Easy Reach of London: 1 (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
We have done several walks in the book and have enjoyed them all. The instructions are clear (and updates are posted on the website), and all the information you need is in there. There are great tips on where to have lunch and this often turns into the real highlight of any walk (that long awaited glass of cider on a hot summer's day in the garden of a country pub) ...

If you like walking and exploring the glorious English countryside, this is the book you need to inspire you and take you away from the London smog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 13 Feb 2009
By 
K. Walton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Out Book of Country Walks: 52 Walks Within Easy Reach of London: 1 (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
I have done all the walks in this book, over a period of 5 years and enjoyed them all. If you like 10 mile (ish) long walks in the countryside and live in London, they offer great variety in scenery, geology and places to visit en route. With a choice of 53 from a station to a station, via a pub and a teashop, what's not to like?

Sometimes the instructions are imperfect, sometimes stiles have moved or gates gone missing, so it's worth checking for the latest updates on the Saturday Walkers Club website. But I've never got seriously lost, even when paths have been rerouted; just a bit mislaid, and with a compass and common sense, it's always been easy to get back onto the route. (And if you took a map too, then it could be easier.)

If you are a London walker, buy this book (or book 2) and have great days out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 30 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Book of Country Walks: 52 Walks Within Easy Reach of London: 1 (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
An essential for anyone who wants to escape London. You can go to the website to the updated versions. Highly recommend - Cookham to Maidenhead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: Time Out Book of Country Walks: 52 Walks Within Easy Reach of London: 1 (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
Really well laid out, detailed walk instructions and very user friendly. Recommend if you want easy to find walks in the country around London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and useful book, 15 Feb 2011
This review is from: Time Out Book of Country Walks: 52 Walks Within Easy Reach of London: 1 (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
This book has proved to be exactly what i hoped, a way to escape london without having to know the places you are escaping to well.
The walks are graded and of a range of lengths, all helpfully featuring places for lunch or tea, and all easily accessible.
well written instructions and a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great way to walk, 21 Dec 2008
This review is from: Time Out Book of Country Walks: 52 Walks Within Easy Reach of London: 1 (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
We were recommended this book by a friend. After having a quick look at their edition, we decided we needed one for ourselves.

Our first walk we did backwards (which made it slightly difficult) but we eventually got there. Not really recommended unless your book is up to date, have a compass, torch and a good sense of direction! There are also some paths where you do need to be alert for traffic but apart from that the walks are well worth it.

Instructions are detailed. Great idea for those who enjoy the country and learning a bit more about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas!, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Book of Country Walks: 52 Walks Within Easy Reach of London: 1 (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
I enjoy the book as it gives me ideas for hike although some of them are not clear! The travel guidance are clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it! You must try!, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Book of Country Walks: 52 Walks Within Easy Reach of London: 1 (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
It's very much worth the price. We have completed a good handful of walks now with friends following the guidance of the book, collecting loads of good memories! The directions are reliable, sometimes a bit debatable, but that's part of the fun! Places recommended by the book for tea or food or drink never disappoint us. You can have a fun day out with the book any time if the weather allows you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for those living in or around London and enjoying a walk, 10 Sep 2013
By 
J. Solovieva (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Out Book of Country Walks: 52 Walks Within Easy Reach of London: 1 (Time Out Guides) (Paperback)
We have done several walks since buying this book (one with a pushchair, others, as the kids got older, with them walking themselves), and they have all been really good. The walks are well described, the timings are very realistic, and the routes are really nice. You can just see that the author has walked all the walks himself. I have other books with walks all around Britain, but realistically, what you need is a book with walks much closer to home, and this books ticks these boxes for me. I also love the idea of the walking club (they do one walk a year, and there is a timetable for 10 years), although so far have not yet joined them... Some walks are shorter than others (the longest is about 20km) and they are graded according to difficulty. Some are round walks, others start at one railway station and finish at another one, but all are accessible by public transport. There is a suggestion as to where to have lunch / tea - all in all very practical, very reliable, great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabea5864)

This product

Time Out Book of Country Walks: 52 Walks Within Easy Reach of London: 1 (Time Out Guides)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews