Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good!
I saw this in a book shop when I was younger, I was about eight (Iam now eleven), I think, I was aprehensive about books about tragedies, because I had only been reading MALORY TOWERS books at the time so I dismissed that I wanted to read it.
Only a couple of days ago I was in the mood for a tragic sort of thing ( I would not think twice about reading sads stuff...
Published on 18 Jun 2009

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Secondary School pupils
Well written and researched - not for serious Russian/Romanoff students - maybe a good little introduction to Russian History for secondary school pupils.
Published on 25 Mar 2010 by E.P. Count Ivan Ivanovich


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Secondary School pupils, 25 Mar 2010
By 
E.P. Count Ivan Ivanovich (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rubies in the Snow: Diary of Russia's Last Grand Duchess, 1911-1918 (Paperback)
Well written and researched - not for serious Russian/Romanoff students - maybe a good little introduction to Russian History for secondary school pupils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 18 Jun 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Rubies in the Snow: Diary of Russia's Last Grand Duchess, 1911-1918 (Paperback)
I saw this in a book shop when I was younger, I was about eight (Iam now eleven), I think, I was aprehensive about books about tragedies, because I had only been reading MALORY TOWERS books at the time so I dismissed that I wanted to read it.
Only a couple of days ago I was in the mood for a tragic sort of thing ( I would not think twice about reading sads stuff now), and I suddenly remembered this book.

It is a fictional diary of Anastasia Romonov, the last Grand duchess of Russia, she is bad at spelling, she likes practical jokes, Her life is a whirl of parties, strwaberry ice cream and Ice-skating, but if this seems a fairytale, it isn't. Russia is in turmoil and the common people are no longer enchanted by there princess. Her world is about to change for ever...

It was an enjoyable book, but I did not like the way charecters were portrayed, the Tsar was weak, Anastasia was silly, Tatiana was bossy etc etc.. I think that I liked Anastasia: The Last Grand Duchess (Royal Diaries) better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-breakingly good, 30 April 2007
This review is from: Rubies in the Snow: Diary of Russia's Last Grand Duchess, 1911-1918 (Paperback)
This was one of the best books i have read this year.It mantains the age of the child(anastasia)well throughout the book. The pages are filled with her normal life around the palace on the first few pages and you wish that you could live the life that she is living.But then things take a turn for the worst.The one thing that shines through throughout the story is the cheeriness of annastasia's personality.When you finally think that all the heart-ache for the family is over something unbelieveable happens................

Elizabeth (11)

You have to read this book because the whole thing is just so utterly mesmorieing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars How did I miss the fact that this was a book for children?, 22 Jun 2014
By 
nancy g norman (St Paul, Minnesota United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rubies in the Snow: Diary of Russia's Last Grand Duchess, 1911-1918 (Paperback)
Disappointed to find that this is a book for children - and fiction at that.
I do not believe the description was thorough enough.
I found myself to be very unhappy when I opened the parcel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Generally pleasing, 3 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. Mj Grant (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rubies in the Snow: Diary of Russia's Last Grand Duchess, 1911-1918 (Paperback)
I brought and finished this book in one day, so as you can guess it is a very quick read, and I would pay no more than £XXX for it. It was however an entertaining and relatively accurate pseudo diary of Russia's last born Grand Duchess Anastasia Nicolaevna.

For historical accuracy, there are some pitfalls but it is generally well researched and seemed to communicate accurate views of the imperial family, albeit they stereotyped (Tsar as weak for example.) The most annoying historical inaccuracy is the photo on the back - it is of Maria, not Anastasia, it is quite bad that this was not noticed, but the photo in question is commonly mislabelled. Other mistakes are that it has Tatiana's birthday in January, when it was June 11th, but these points are only there to annoy die-hard Romanov buffs, and do not effect the experience for the general reading public.

This may be a good tool for introducing a child to Russian history, although the age range 9 - 12 on the back is rather misleading, as the book deals with the final days of the Imperial Family in captivity, not a particularly child friendly subject.

An odd book, dealing with too depressing a subject matter to be an easy read for children, but often too juvenile and simplistic to satisfy adults. But this in-betweenee (I'm 17) certainly enjoyed it.

- Rachael -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving account, 1 Feb 2007
By 
Karrie (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rubies in the Snow: Diary of Russia's Last Grand Duchess, 1911-1918 (Paperback)
I bought this book for my 11 year old daughter, who is a bookworm and loves history. She finished the book within two days, but obviously found the end upsetting. I have since read this and I feel it is spot on for this age group. It deals with the situation sensitively and helps explain what happened at this point in history well, in a manner in which readers of this age will understand. Ten out of ten from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rubies in the Snow: Diary of Russia's Last Grand Duchess, 11 Jan 2007
This review is from: Rubies in the Snow: Diary of Russia's Last Grand Duchess, 1911-1918 (Paperback)
An intelligent and moving account of the teenage Grand Duchess' experiences during the closing months of the Russian Revolution.

A must for school reading lists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet but lacking energy, 18 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Rubies in the Snow: Diary of Russia's Last Grand Duchess, 1911-1918 (Paperback)
This is a fictionalised diary of Anastassia, the Russian duchess murdered in the revolution. It covers about six years in her life, from when she is given the diary as a birthday present to the fall of her family from power, their subsequent imprisonment and massacre (which is explained in a note from the author at the end).

It's an engaging, easy read, but my problem with it was that of pacing. I didn't feel gripped by the events and I would have liked a more frantic build up to the final few days. Perhaps the author wanted to shock her readers with the abrupt ending, but I felt that the overall narrative arc was weak. However, it's a nice little snapshot of life with Russia's royal family at a turbulent time, and Anastassia herself comes across as an engaging and honest writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rubies in the Snow: Diary of Russia's Last Grand Duchess, 1911-1918
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews