Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOWRY'S LIFE
A biography of that unique British artist, LS Lowry. It is well written and informative with copious examples of his work.
Published 21 months ago by shopaholic

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Darkness Visible
No book about such a remarkable man could fail to be a fascinating read, and I was hooked by it, although I was irritated by the author's style which I found at times over-emphatic, flabby and unnecessarily repetitive. In spite of this, she corrects many common assumptions about the artist, particularly his supposed amateurishness and the frequent dismissal of him by the...
Published on 21 Sep 2012 by Michael Farman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Darkness Visible, 21 Sep 2012
By 
Michael Farman (PALESTINE, TEXAS, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: L.S. Lowry: A Life (H Books) (Hardcover)
No book about such a remarkable man could fail to be a fascinating read, and I was hooked by it, although I was irritated by the author's style which I found at times over-emphatic, flabby and unnecessarily repetitive. In spite of this, she corrects many common assumptions about the artist, particularly his supposed amateurishness and the frequent dismissal of him by the art establishment as a "sunday painter". She nails his many-sided character, thanks largely to the many quotations from those who were "close" to him. I was also jarred, however, by her refusal to follow a time sequence and by her frequent references in the text to paintings which were not among the book illustrations. In general the illustrations and the text were not well correlated. Having said all this, I have to confess that in my opinion she does justice to his genius and the darkness of his inspirations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOWRY'S LIFE, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.S. Lowry: A Life (H Books) (Hardcover)
A biography of that unique British artist, LS Lowry. It is well written and informative with copious examples of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.S. Lowry: A Life (H Books) (Hardcover)
As a long time admirer of L S Lowry I found this book a eye opener and a source of insight to his life and times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loving lowry, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.S. Lowry: A Life (H Books) (Hardcover)
I love this book read bits at a time and make some interesting notes, I love Lowry's work and am looking forward to a visit th o the Lowry Gallery, would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lowry A Life, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.S. Lowry: A Life (H Books) (Hardcover)
A fine biography about a very complex man who didn't appear to like himself very much. Because his mother was so negative about almost everything he became quiet and insular. Therfore it is quite surprising that he remained so determined to pursue his passion for his art.
Lowry's paintings are sad and dark (very little sun or colour) but he painted what he saw and how he felt, and they are beautifully constructed.
Shelley Rohde has written an interesting book about a great English artist.
I enjoyed learning about this much maligned man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!, 31 July 2013
By 
comm88 "comm88" (Chester, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.S. Lowry: A Life (H Books) (Hardcover)
An enthralling read about a very special man. Intriguing insights, clever anecdotes and fantastic plates of some of his best and his lesser known works. It is well written, logically laid out and very compelling. Loved the detail and the author's deliberate attempt to properly paint the true personality of this gentle giant and humble genius of English art. A lovely, lovely book to treasure, read and own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great present!, 8 Dec 2008
This review is from: L.S. Lowry: A Life (H Books) (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for my mum who is getting interested in art. I thought it was a good buy with lots of great pictures of Lowry's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

L.S. Lowry: A Life (H Books)
L.S. Lowry: A Life (H Books) by Shelley Rohde (Hardcover - 15 April 2007)
£21.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews