Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2014
I must have bought just about every map ever published for the island of Gran Canaria and have found them middling to poor. Often the information on them is wrong, incomplete or just plain missing!

This new map is really good including up-to-date topographical info - and a real plus for us walkers and for bikers - plenty of walking routes clearly marked. It is a 1:50,000 scale map and so shows small details and is clear and easy to follow. Another bonus is the material it is printed on - not paper but a type of plastic that is lightweight yet really tough and rip-proof and waterproof so should last and out up with tough outdoor treatment.

Highly recommended, for walking, biking or driving the island.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Gran Canaria Tour & Trail Super-durable Map arrived a couple of days ago so while I haven't used it on the island yet I have compared it with the Kompass map I was using last Sept/Oct.
I've used a number of these Tour & Trail Maps, choosing the Super-Durable versions when they are available, so can vouch for their accuracy and durability - waterproof, tear-proof, easy to unfold and fold up again. Looking at the provenance of 'Rambling Roger' and team with mapping gps units for the walking trails and David & Ros Brawn for the gps ground survey I am confident this map is accurate. Rambling Roger's walking routes are highlighted in red, very useful if using his guide books. There are also digital versions available at reasonable prices; a refreshing change to the usual high prices for digital mapping. Being double sided means the map is both easy to fold and easy to use when out on the trails. The map folds easily to the section you want to use and there is a generous overlap between the North and South sides.
Quite simply it is beautiful, especially when compared to last year's Kompass map which was out of date - the southern motorway now reaches Puerto de Mogan - difficult to read with its grey dirt roads and walking trails, and folding is a nightmare both unfolding and refolding is an expert exercise in origami; then it has split along the folds. No contest the Tour & Trail Map wins by a country kilometre.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Excellent map including Rambling Roger's tracks. Being Norwegian, I am a dedicated hiker and really enjoy hiking in GC. I Have tried many maps, but this is the best. Also available for Garmin GPS as a paid download from Roger's site. Knut Døhlie 9th May 2014
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
Quite simply the best maps you can buy for walking/touring abroad. Virtually all other maps you can buy are based on old military maps which I've found to be 80% accurate at best. DWG however has re-drawn the map themselves using satellite imagery and so are 99%+ accurate. The super-durable material also means the map will last for many years & not disintegrate after a week's hard use.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
Very useful - the paper was coated making it water resistant without it being stiff and awkward to use.
I've given this 4 stars as we found that it had 2 towns/villages the wrong way around (El Molino de Viento & Las Casilias on the GC-200)which was very confusing.
Even with this error we consider this is a "must have" item if walking Gran Canaria.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
Used this extensively for a walking holiday in GC. It is the only map worth buying for walking in the area and ties in well with Rambling Roger's walking routes. We still managed to get lost quite a lot, but you won't find a better alternative for walking use.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
A great map for my recent holiday in Gran Canaria. Due to being waterproof it survived a cold drink spillage. If you go off the main GC-1 this map is infinitely better than those provided by the hire car companies.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
We found this map very useful travelling around Gran Canaria. We found it tricky swopping from one side to the other but the alternative would have been a very large map.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
Finally we have large scale maps of the Canary Islands which makes it much easier to find walking paths. This is a wonderful map, it is very clear and easy to use.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Worked well as road map to find remote areas of the island, all of the minor roads seemed to be included. Did not use it for walking
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse