Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars39
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Map|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2012
Having read reviews about earlier editions of this map not standing up to
wear and tear and the weather, I was pleased to find the 5th Edition 'polymer version' is both
water proof and robust. Also, as far as I could see on
a fortnight's holiday this spring (2012), it is definitely the best available for walkers. However, this doesn't mean it's
of Ordance Survey quality - these just don't exist for Mallorca.
If you've not been to Mallorca before, then it's worth knowing that two other things
that don't exist there are rights of way being enshrined in
law, and the right to roam. So, sadly paths can be closed without warning at the
landowner's whim, even though some of the stone-made routes are very ancient. Unless you're planning to stick to
the well marked 'GR221' long distance footpath, you'll need to supplement the map with one of the
several good walking books available for helpful stuff like where to find the start of routes, and when
it's fine to ignore the 'Coto Privado' signs. A good start is June Parker's classic 'Walking in Mallorca'.
Having said which, this was my 5th walking trip and it's really encouraging to find that more and more routes are being 'officially' waymarked following agreements with landowners. This is taking
away that frisson of 'am I or am I not allowed on this bit of stone path through this olive grove'!
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
This is one great map if you want to go walking on Mallorca or you have the publisher's Walk books for the island.
Everything worked terrifically even down to checking with my gps for where we were on a walking route.

I'm giving the map 5 stars for the level of detail on the map and its clarity, BUT at the end of two weeks use, admittedly hard use being folded this way and that, this paper map was falling apart; common for all paper maps used hiking.
My best advice is buy this map but get the Super-Durable edition. A few pence more for something that lasts and lasts, and I've used other Super-Durable maps, makes that edition much better value for Mallorca's best map
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2010
This is a nice map with good detail, especially of the walking routes. My only complaint is that although it claims to be "printed on specialist mapping paper" it is just too flimsy. After a week of steady use all the creased folds had split and it was starting to fall apart. So expect to see "Readers who bought this also bought sticky tape" in Amazon!
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
I purchased this map with a view to exploring Majorca on foot and by car. The marked foot trails provide really just an indication of where there are walks, however to know precisely where to go and in some cases even how to access the start of the walk, the other Majorca Walks guide needs to be purchased to accompany the map.

The map was perfect however for using to navigate the small roads that are not promoted for tourists to use, but the makers of the map failed to allow for users actually wanting to see the map in full - they have placed large boxes with things like the key in right over the map rather than attaching an extra leaf. This made our exploring rather interesting and at times frustrating as we missed a number of junctions and place names that were obliterated.

I am not sure how 'super durable' the map really is, as after just 5 days our copy showed significant signs of wear at the folds, but it would stand a better chance than a paper one if something got spilled onto it.

It would be a good thing to have the rest of Majorca mapped the way these people have done North Majorca, as this was the best navigation map I have so far come across, with the exception of the bits covered up as previously mentioned.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
Used this map in conjunction with Charles Davis' "GR221 Mallorca's Dry Stone Way" to navigate across Mallorca, West to East, along the length of the Tramuntana Mountains. Both are invaluable aids to a safe crossing of quite difficult and remote country.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
A good detailed map, better than maps found in guide books, we are walkers and will use in conjunction with guide book to give us local information. would recomend
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Excellent map which manages to include so much detail and still be clear and easy to read. Plenty of walking routes and trails are marked. It's also ideal for exploring the area on foot, bike or by car. It is printed on a light but really strong material that is also waterproof and so puts up with plenty of use. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
Cartographically its a criminal offence to use Comic Sans font. However once you open it up this is generally a good map used both for cycling and mountain running. Some of the smaller trails can be overgrown and not as obvious as they appear on the map. This seems to be the only option for a half decent topo map of Mallorca.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
We've bought a previous super durable edition of this and needed an update as when we last went cycling in Majorca found there had been some new roads built. I'd say it's definitely best paying the extra for the super durable version as the old one we had has lasted for years.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2011
I found this mapping clear and generally accurate - great for MTB in the mountains, at least on the main routes. Nearer to the Pollenca suburbs there were some country lanes missing which caused an awkward navigation error - but overall it's probably better than most.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)