Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything works
Three weeks in Sept/Oct gave us plenty of time to benefit from the routes in Walk Menorca. Everything worked just as described except the Forts Ancient & Modern where the military have evicted the hippies and re-occupied the Lluc al Lari fort; unfortunately.
We particularly like the routes linking the resorts and the North coast region. Such beautiful contryside but...
Published on 5 Jan 2006 by peakwalker

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Walk Menorca
Very helpful regarding the walk details and parking but it gives the impression of the walk have been written up after the walk rather than during it as we found several instances when we just could not follow the directions. The best time for flowers and birds is late April early May and without the book we could not have enjoyed such a good walking holiday.
Published on 20 May 2009 by E M Kay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything works, 5 Jan 2006
This review is from: Walk! Menorca (Paperback)
Three weeks in Sept/Oct gave us plenty of time to benefit from the routes in Walk Menorca. Everything worked just as described except the Forts Ancient & Modern where the military have evicted the hippies and re-occupied the Lluc al Lari fort; unfortunately.
We particularly like the routes linking the resorts and the North coast region. Such beautiful contryside but when the book says it is tough as on the route to Es Grau it really does mean it and without the book you would be unlikely to reach this delightful little settlement. We also bought the Tour & Trail Map which was equally brilliant.
Thinking a Menorca author would be more up to date we bought a local booklet - it was useless, not one route worked, some decidedly dangerous so be warned and stick with Walk Menorca and the Tour & Trail Map, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good companion, 19 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Walk! Menorca (Paperback)
Worth the price, trust me!
OK, there are 100 walking guides out there, some of them old and revered, some old and outdated, some of which will allow you to search for older tracks and ways that have become obscured in recent times and fallen into desuetude, but this book will let you walk with success from day one. Coupled with the excellent and durable map which partners this book, this may be the only walking guide you will need to explore fully this beautiful island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars walk menorca, 4 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk! Menorca (Paperback)
It's difficult to review the effectiveness of the guide until I have chance to use it on my holiday, which isn't until May. However, the layout of the book is easy to follow and the directions appear clear enough. I particularly like the way the walks are rated from from easy to more difficult and include an approximate completion time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This guidebook made our holiday, 14 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Walk! Menorca (Paperback)
I hadn't planned on walking on this trip - not my kind of terrain, or so I thought. Instead of lounging round the pool I reluctantly agreed to try a shorter walk from this book. I am so glad I did! I would never have discovered how beautiful and interesting Menorca is. We did quite a few of the walks in the end and I didn't want to leave - can't wait to go back and try some more routes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walk! Menorca, 3 Sep 2009
By 
S. Doran (Merseyside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walk! Menorca (Paperback)
Excellent book, arrived in great condition, and prompt excellent service. easy to follow and use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xcellent, 18 Jun 2011
This review is from: Walk! Menorca (Paperback)
This little book is a good as other reviews have said. We mostly used it in the SE part of Menorca, both for walks and for cycling. One or two places, the path was hard to find or had been blocked, but this is no more than the changes that happen with time, and the maps are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Minorca book, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Dr. D. Parry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk! Menorca (Paperback)
Arrived promptly and in good condition. Illustrations are clear and colourful. WOuld have appreciated a large scale map of the island somewhere in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surfeit of detail, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk! Menorca (Paperback)
This is a detailed description of walks for serious walkers. My wife & I, with a combined age of 150 hardly enter this category, but we found the book very useful. We used stretches as it suited our pre planned sight seeing, via the excellent Berlitz Menorca holiday map. Although the island's official footpath network has been excellently maintained, Brawn's book takes one 'off map' so to speak, which we weren't willing to attempt, restricting ourselves to the matching sections which he covers. Having said that, we would have found our walks more limited and restricted without the confidence inspired by this publication. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Walk Menorca, 20 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Walk! Menorca (Paperback)
Very helpful regarding the walk details and parking but it gives the impression of the walk have been written up after the walk rather than during it as we found several instances when we just could not follow the directions. The best time for flowers and birds is late April early May and without the book we could not have enjoyed such a good walking holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but not at the detail level, 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Walk! Menorca (Paperback)
The walks we did from this book were all nice walks but none of them was as described in the book. To be fair to the authors this is mostly because Menorca has blocked off many old footpaths in order to channel people along the routes they want to be used. They are doing this for ecological reasons so it is fair enough but just means you have to keep your wits about you when trying to do the walks described in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walk! Menorca
Walk! Menorca by Rosamund Coreen Brawn (Paperback - 4 Jan 2005)
Used & New from: £4.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews