Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Grigson's Good Things., 11 Feb 2010
By 
Sue Tyrrell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Things (Hardcover)
Jane Grigson manages the beguiling combination of great recipes with good writing. This is one of her best books, & along with English Food, preserves a genuine culinary tradition that forms a large part of our cultural heritage describing much loved favourites from childhood as well as excellent dishes & techniques that would otherwise be lost . It deserves a place in any serious cook's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars small and perfect, 25 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Good Things (Hardcover)
I just bought a new copy of this book, it's years since I lost my mum's copy and I'd forgotten how wonderful it is. It seems to me that if this small book were introduced today with all the bells and whistles that go with fashion cookbooks it wouldn't be a small book, but a whole series of volumes. The recipes and text are incredibly interesting, it's a joy to explore. I've bought lots of cookbooks and keep them on the shelf only to use only a handful of recipes, now I'm reading this book it's like finding a little pearl. It's bone dry, no photos of ingredients or work in progress, just a few line drawings. It's slow food, even better if you're good with listening to the radio whilst you cook, but not so good if you like books that follow tv shows or give time-saving keep it simple ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Things - It does what it says on the cover!, 14 Jan 2010
This review is from: Good Things (Hardcover)
A very rewarding book up there with Elizabeth David. Many traditional methods explained (salting beef, meat cures etc) and plenty of British and continental recipes included. Interesting to see what was not readily available in the '70s that we take for granted now. Many ingredients had to be obtained from specialist shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An early Grigson classic, 17 Sep 2012
This review is from: Good Things (Hardcover)
I use this book all the time. As the title will tell you, it's not intended as an encyclopaedic review of a particular subject like many of JG's later works (The Fish Book, and the wonderful The Vegetable Book), but it is aimed at celebrating the diversity of particular ingredients which have under-exploited qualities that repay thought and love. Chapter titles include: Kippers and Other Cured Fish, Meat Pies, Sweet Carrots, Parsley, Gooseberries, Apple and Quince, Five French Cakes.

The recipes are of international origin (though grounded in British and French cookery) and all aimed at family cooking, though this doesn't mean they are in any way reduced in elegance. JG's style is friendly, informative and informal, gently guiding you so that you get it right, with her own very special knack for concise instructions that precisely and exactly describe what is going on. You immediately understand the point of a recipe, and how to get there. The book also contains the first version of JG's famous curried parsnip soup.

This edition is a lovely one, as are all of Grub Street's hardback reissues of classic volumes in facsimilie of the original typesettings and illustrations. It, like the others in the series, is chunky, robust, made from good quality paper and crisply printed. It is easy to use and hollandaise sauce can be wiped off the pages, if this is done rapidly!

A modern classic from one of the great 20th century cookery writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A goodie but an oldie, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Things (Hardcover)
I was recommended this book, and it is beautifully written, I use it as a reference book. Excellent cookery from years past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good honest cooking, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Things (Hardcover)
Useful for those who grow fruit and veg and like good food. A retro cookbook which stands the test of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have a product, easily find ia recipe for it, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Things (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I wanted to know how to salt beef, and I was not disappointed. Perfect. boiled beef and carrots. I was pleasantly surprised to find that contrary to other cookery books the chapters are broken down into MEATS: sub-divided into beef, pork, venison, poultry, fish; etc., VEGETABLES: sub-divided into potatoes, courgettes, carrots, etc., DESSERTS: peaches, apple, blackcurrants, etc., so it makes it easy to find a recipes for an individual product and gives a selection of recipes using the this. So when you have a glut of, say courgettes or carrots from the garden, it is a simple matter of looking in the Vegetable chapter to find the appropriate vegetable, where there are several recipes for this particular product.
This helps the modern conception that to eat seasonally produced food is good for you, and cheaper to buy, and will certainly be fresh and full of flavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite cook books, 19 Dec 2012
By 
C. Combes "cc" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Things (Hardcover)
I really like Jane Grigson cook books and bought this hardback edition to replace my very dog-eared original paperback. I was a bit disappointed because it looks a bit bland and doesn't quite have the charm of the original edition that I owned, with little drawings. However the gist of the book is the recipes and they are unchanged.

It is a little dated now as many of the ingredients which were unusual or little used are now in every supermarket. However the methods and interesting writing are much better than many modern offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jane Grigson Small Things, 6 Feb 2010
By 
Anne Lambert (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Things (Hardcover)
After tasting a friends Christmas Cake, Christmas last I bought this book to find the recipe missing from this issue, sadly. However, still loads of wonderful recipes to try. I am still looking for the recipe. Ho hum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Things
Good Things by Jane Grigson (Hardcover - 30 Jun 2007)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews