Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of useful ideas
Let's face it, who doesn't have at least a bit of stress in their life? That's why I'm always open to ways of reducing stress and making life a little bit better. I picked this up as a Kindle freebie (still free as I write the review) and compared with the last non-fiction guide I picked up for free this one was pretty good.

Unsurprisingly it provides 52 ways...
Published on 22 Aug 2011 by TopCat

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful
Even as a freebie this book is overpriced. It's dreadful.

The first two pages are very engaging - telling you this book won't be advising hot baths and yoga, because if you're the type of person that finds them helpful, you'll already be doing them. Then it's all down hill... Only a few pages later we're straight into 'bath rituals' and "set the alarm for half...
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by Rosey Lea


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for non-stressed people, 25 July 2011
By 
P. Fogarty "Dr Fog" (Romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an advice book at its best. It constantly uses the authors own experiences and wonderful quotes. I am glad I read it as it could add years onto your life and will certainly make you smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 26 Mar 2012
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even as a freebie this book is overpriced. It's dreadful.

The first two pages are very engaging - telling you this book won't be advising hot baths and yoga, because if you're the type of person that finds them helpful, you'll already be doing them. Then it's all down hill... Only a few pages later we're straight into 'bath rituals' and "set the alarm for half an hour and soak in the bath, drinking herbal tea throughout". Yoga is recommended, sometimes in detail and explaining exactly what asanas we should be doing, 14 times.

Beyond baths and yoga, the book only has three things to say:

1. Stress makes huge improvements to your sex life (WHAT???)
2. If you're stressed and don't want to be, then don't be!
3. If stress is making you sad, you're a freak who needs a doctor immediately

This book is shamefully bad, and possibly damaging to anyone suffering from real stress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great practical suggestions, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some useful suggestions on how to deal with stress. Some suggestions were not that useful, but on the whole the book is written in a very readable style. Definitely worth a look as I'm sure there will be something that everyone can take away from the wide range of suggestions offered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great practical tips for battling stress in your everyday life - easy enough that you will actually use some, 2 May 2012
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is probably the most useful book on stress management I have read so far. This comes not as a result of the author having conducted the most in-depth or most omprehensive research but primarily due to the realism of the author - she does not insist on a 'wishful thinking' complete adherence to all rules in order to achieve success but breaks it all into little steps, all of which help and allowing the reader to choose the ones that work best for a start.

Each of the 52 ideas is broken down into a short introduction, a description of why the practice is stress mitigating, some practical guidelines for successful implementation and finally an alternative idea to combine it with, a famous person's quote related to it, as well as two Q&As related to the difficulties wih the specific practice.

Some readers may miss the academic vigour, as many steps are only partially validated by appropriate scientific studies; much comes from the author's own experience, as well as her general appreciation of the motivation / stress literature (without her always referring to the sources directly). Still, this is likely to make the book more appealing for the majority of readers at the same time, as much of it is simply up to the point (and the advice is usually not that counterintuitive that the reader would find it hard to swallow).

Finally, the proof of the pudding is in trying the steps out. They do work (in my opinion) in general and you will have enough of a choice from what the author offers, to find the handful of ideas that you like and want to start with to make your life a bit more serene and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some good tips, 28 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a busy mum I did find a few things in this book helpful. Especially the tips on time mangement and completing tasks. Reading the book from cover to cover I did feel alot of it was repetative or of no use to me. But all the same it was free on kindle and found a couple of ways to make my life easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good and practical, 23 Oct 2011
A very good book indeed. Excellent value for money as it was offered free in Kindle store.

The boot itself contains lots of useful and practical advice which does resembles real life scenarios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a very busy life and stressful job. This book gives concise and practical tips to help manage stress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars OK, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of those books you mean to read sometime. There is no one answer to stress, just live and be happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stress Proof Your Life, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only part way through reading this book but it has helped me to look at various areas of my life in order to de stress! Some excellent ideas worth trying - in this day and age I think we could all do with ideas to help us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good read. Some good ideas. Used to pop in and out frequently. Great for five minute reads. Recommend...... a
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stress-Proof Your Life: 52 Brilliant Ideas for Taking Control
Stress-Proof Your Life: 52 Brilliant Ideas for Taking Control by Elizabeth Wilson (Paperback - 23 Dec 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews