Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars refreshingly honest account of organisational life
A refreshingly honest account of organisational life and the sorry tale of work-life reality for many. This book is a “must read” for leaders and followers alike, it exposes and explores what is wrong with the way companies are run and explains why so may employees become disillusioned, disenfranchised and ultimately disengaged at work. Sally Bibb’s...
Published on 28 Jan 2006

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Book You Don't Need
This gets my vote for the worst business book of 2005. Understanding how to create outstanding companies is a very important subject but influencing "bosses" to change takes a lot more than a collection of platitudes about communicating or delegating. She is adept at playing "Gee ain't it awful." An example of the level of advice is: bosses focus on cost cutting...
Published on 24 Jan 2006


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars refreshingly honest account of organisational life, 28 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Stone Age Company: Why the companies we work for are dying and how they can be saved (Paperback)
A refreshingly honest account of organisational life and the sorry tale of work-life reality for many. This book is a “must read” for leaders and followers alike, it exposes and explores what is wrong with the way companies are run and explains why so may employees become disillusioned, disenfranchised and ultimately disengaged at work. Sally Bibb’s frank, tell it as it is, approach is what makes this book a powerful read and she strikes the right balance between highlighting what is wrong with corporate life and providing inspiring examples of enlightened organisations who get it right, who create the right conditions for staff to give of their best and who flourish as a result. The tables comparing enlightened with stone age companies will serve as a useful checklist for those leaders and OD professionals who wish to bring about real culture change and will prove just as useful for potential employees who wish to audit a possible employer before committing to join them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If only one manager reads this..., 24 July 2006
By 
A. Maslen (Salisbury, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stone Age Company: Why the companies we work for are dying and how they can be saved (Paperback)
Part polemic, part plea from the heart: this is an important book that tackles a key issue for old-school managers head on. If only one stone age manager reads this and thinks, "Hmmm, maybe there IS another way of doing things, Sally Bibb should be congratulated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 30 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. J. L. Taylor "John Taylor" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stone Age Company: Why the companies we work for are dying and how they can be saved (Paperback)
Companies are in a rut. There is a tendency for consultants and business schools to train and coach top management in safe and conservative methods. We need to look again at the way we organise ourselves at work - The Stone Age Company is refreshing - we may not agree with it all but it is stimulating, easily read and makes you think. I wouldn't ask for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book that Tells it How it Is, 8 Dec 2005
This review is from: The Stone Age Company: Why the companies we work for are dying and how they can be saved (Paperback)
Sally Bibb has written a sharp, incisive and rather damning analysis of the neanderthal mind-set of many companies. Well written and challenging: a must for anyone with an interest in modern business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and honest management book, 1 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Stone Age Company: Why the companies we work for are dying and how they can be saved (Paperback)
An excellent read and honest assessment of many of the problems associated with organisations. I bought this book on the back of Sally Bibb's contribution to the F laws with Russell Ackoff, which again is an open and frank examination of management flaws. For me I couldn't put the book down because I could resonate with all the criticisms and challenges I find myself in within my own organisation. It is an inspirational read as it has allowed me to examine the way I manage and how I can make a difference within my small role. Personally I believe Universities and colleges up and down the country should take a tip out of Sally's book and start to include "the reality of management" in their MBA's and management/business syllabus. This would then develop a new (and needed) group of managers to take organisations forward. Well done Sally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book should be read, 31 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stone Age Company: Why the companies we work for are dying and how they can be saved (Paperback)
The Stone Age Company is a well written book which should be widely read. It gives a clear and honest assessment of the importance of trust and relationships, and how they can make a real impact on the performance of businesses. We spend a lot of time at work, and it is often a miserable experience; perhaps if a few more people read this book, it could be a better and more positive experience, with an impact on the bottom line as well. Keep them coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sanity in a crazy world, 28 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. J. Cassell (Portsmouth, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stone Age Company: Why the companies we work for are dying and how they can be saved (Paperback)
Miss Bibb's book will infuriate the stone age managers she describes and inspire the rest of us.
It is a real wake-up call for managers, workers and investors to move towards a way of working where people are valued for their genuine skills and authenticity rather than for their ability to say 'Yes'.
Like it or not, society is changing, If business doesn't change with it then business will be the loser.
Written with wit, intelligence and wisdom, Miss Bibb's books could be the answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly honest, 27 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Stone Age Company: Why the companies we work for are dying and how they can be saved (Paperback)
It was a brave step to write a book that just by its title will cause controversy. Sally Bibb's straightforward no holds barred approach to this subject give the management of today's large and small companies something to think about. This has ignited the debate and companies who ignore this book do so at their own peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, enlightened, and delightfully readable, 25 Jan 2006
By 
Albert Capozzelli (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Stone Age Company: Why the companies we work for are dying and how they can be saved (Paperback)
Sally Bibb's "Stone Age Company" is a wonderful book not just about corporate culture but about life in general. Pearls drop like water after an afternoon's rain in this thoroughly readable and insightful book artfully descriptive of corporate management. I was able to see through what works and what doesn't and get answers to a favourite question: How did these characters get to be CEOs?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Book You Don't Need, 24 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Stone Age Company: Why the companies we work for are dying and how they can be saved (Paperback)
This gets my vote for the worst business book of 2005. Understanding how to create outstanding companies is a very important subject but influencing "bosses" to change takes a lot more than a collection of platitudes about communicating or delegating. She is adept at playing "Gee ain't it awful." An example of the level of advice is: bosses focus on cost cutting when they should focus on increasing revenues. Duh? There are no references. Statements which do not reflect or contradict current research can't be checked. If you need to know what ex HR people moan about, it may be helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51df678)

This product

The Stone Age Company: Why the companies we work for are dying and how they can be saved
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews