Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A-Z Companion Planting - great resource for organic gardeners
This is a book packed with facts on companion planting, not just an A-Z on plant companions but the theory behind the various ways it works. I didn't realise companion planting worked on so many different levels. As well as the A-Z section on plants, there are quick reference tables on pest & disease control, plants for attracting beneficial insects, and a quick reference...
Published on 6 Sept. 2010 by J Turner

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor
This is a book of 128 pages of which only pages 89-125 are actually on companion planting, with a further (approx) 5 pages dealing with some general issues. The rest is just stuff you can get in most gardening books, but dealt with in less detail. That's a little irritating in itself, but, annoyingly, there's relatively little text for the number of pages, with lots of...
Published on 30 Aug. 2011 by N. Dodd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A-Z Companion Planting - great resource for organic gardeners, 6 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The A-Z of Companion Planting (Paperback)
This is a book packed with facts on companion planting, not just an A-Z on plant companions but the theory behind the various ways it works. I didn't realise companion planting worked on so many different levels. As well as the A-Z section on plants, there are quick reference tables on pest & disease control, plants for attracting beneficial insects, and a quick reference companion planting table. And to help you get the best from your plantings, natural ways to get your garden and veggie patch in great condition. There are lots of other ideas here too; creating wildlife areas to attract frogs, toads, hedgehogs and other gardener's friends into the garden, various ways of making compost, liquid manures, no-dig gardening and green manures to list just a few. I'm itching to get outside and try some of them out; the only downside is that I will have to wait until the spring to get started with the actual business of growing my own plant companions ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb and informative, 20 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. A. L. Turner "yanton" (bridgwater somerset uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Z of Companion Planting (Paperback)
if you want a quick reference on companion planting then this is the book for you. It is not a picture book, but great advice which I am keen to apply on the best plant companions, also the plant mixes to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 30 Aug. 2011
By 
N. Dodd (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Z of Companion Planting (Paperback)
This is a book of 128 pages of which only pages 89-125 are actually on companion planting, with a further (approx) 5 pages dealing with some general issues. The rest is just stuff you can get in most gardening books, but dealt with in less detail. That's a little irritating in itself, but, annoyingly, there's relatively little text for the number of pages, with lots of photos, most of which aren't much use.

At £9.99 RRP it's a bit steep. There are a few nice tips in those few pages, but not many, and overall it's a disappointment.

I'm convinced that there is a good book to be written on the subject of companion planting, but I'm afraid this isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The A-Z of Companion Planting (Paperback)
We've got the Companion Planting to help us in planning and growing plants that will deter pests, improve soil and make our garden more interesting. It's been one of the best buys in terms of gardening books - happy to recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 14 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Z of Companion Planting (Paperback)
I bought this to find out what plants repel what insects it only had a small section but i learnt alot of other useful stuff like: what to plant with what veg/fruit to make them taste sweeter/milder/stronger ect. really cool book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Companion Planting, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Z of Companion Planting (Paperback)
A great little book. Very readable. Well set out. Some useful charts. I have bought a couple to give as presents to gardening friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gardeners friend., 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Z of Companion Planting (Paperback)
A great book for the allotment gardener. Avery useful source of information. Has already had a lot of use and I expect it to be used even more in the planting season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Z of Companion Planting (Paperback)
I had heard about companion planting before and when I saw this book it seemed to be that it was just the right book that I was looking for, and I wasn't disappointed, I found it a really good read and a must have when thinking about companion planting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All I can say is love it don't need to read it all at once ..., 23 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Z of Companion Planting (Paperback)
All I can say is love it don't need to read it all at once just look at what I plan to plant as see what best to go with it. One book I wouldn't want to lose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Companion planting?, 6 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Z of Companion Planting (Paperback)
Not much about companion planting in this book. A small portion of this book is dedicated specifically to companion planting while the rest gives to the beginner gardener a good intro. The tables on the last pages of the book are quite handy and provide an easy way to find what to plant together or not and if companion planting can be useful against pest/insect problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The A-Z of Companion Planting
The A-Z of Companion Planting by Jayne Neville (Paperback - 12 July 2010)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews