Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content but disappointed with the black and white print
I have got 4 soap making books online at similar time. Have to say this is the best book i have got from the content's point of view. It is exactly what i wanted to know about `melt and pour` soap base.... simple to understand. The book came with information about bath bomb, shampoo - which i found a bit too basic that i wont go for... and lots of basic of how to make...
Published on 8 July 2011 by yuko

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good
It does what it states. Gives you precise ways to make your own soap. Perfect for gifts or sale .
Published 20 months ago by Nixfactor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content but disappointed with the black and white print, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soap Craft (Paperback)
I have got 4 soap making books online at similar time. Have to say this is the best book i have got from the content's point of view. It is exactly what i wanted to know about `melt and pour` soap base.... simple to understand. The book came with information about bath bomb, shampoo - which i found a bit too basic that i wont go for... and lots of basic of how to make other cosmetic things, such as moisturiser, conditioners... etc which for me was a bonus as i didnt expect this kind of info is also included. Have to admit the ingredients were a bit `kitchen basic` that i might not go for it though very interesting to read about it. The disappointing bit is the black and white print and the mono colour eg green and black print which made reading a soap making book less fun. Maybe thats the way to make this book more affordable to more people. Definately a good book to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 6 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Soap Craft (Paperback)
I have read this book from cover to cover. Not only does it have a good selection of melt & pour recipes but plenty for bath products in general, plus more unusual recipes using soapnuts and soapwort which encouraged me to experiment. It is packed full of useful information, with clear and easy to understand instructions. There are plenty of pictures to fire your creativity without overdoing it. I give this book 5 out of 5 and would recommend it to beginners and slightly more experienced soapers alike. A great little book and well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soap Craft (Paperback)
It does what it states. Gives you precise ways to make your own soap. Perfect for gifts or sale .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soap Craft (Paperback)
very comprehensible and lots of interesting recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some very important information left out!, 20 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. M. O'Sullivan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soap Craft (Paperback)
This small book has an enticing photo on the cover of home made soap decorated with sprigs of herbs. The first thirty-nine pages are indeed about soapmaking (although those include the Introduction and 9 pages on essential oils).

However, this book only has 128 pages. Apart from these early pages the bulk of the book is, in fact, about making other toiletries. This reviewer considered the title misleading. Based solely on the title, the book therefore disappoints.

If one puts aside the expectation that this book is wholely or mainly about soapmaking and considers it an information source for making a wider range of toiletries such as bath bombs, shampoo bars and face masks, it is an interesting book featuring clear instructions and some very tasty recipes.

One huge omission is any mention of the increasingly stringent regulations which govern small scale soapmaking. This would be acceptable as this book is clearly aimed at complete beginners, except for the fact that the author suggests users might like to move on at a later stage to taking a stall at a local market or running their own business.

As experienced soapmakers will know there is a huge leap to be made from home soapmaking for family and friends to selling soap to the general public. While it's understandable that the author wouldn't want to frighten off new soapmakers by discussing EU regulations, it might have been better in the circumstances to avoid all mention of market stalls and small businesses.

There are minor criticisms. Many of the photos are in black and white, where colour would be more attractive and, perhaps, useful. However, publishers always have to keep a careful eye on expense and most people who buy this book will understand this economy and find it doesn't detract to any great extent.

The author suggests using food colourings, yet nearly all the ingredients will have to be ordered from a specialist supplier. It might have been wiser to point users more strongly towards colourants manufactured specifically for toiletries.

All in all, this is a nice little book whose strength lies in the number and quality of recipes for a wide range of toiletries. As a basic guide to soapmaking, there are better titles on the market. It does the job, but no more than that. It's inclusivity is its selling point. Shame about the title, but don't let that put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soap Craft (Paperback)
Very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soap Craft
Soap Craft by Diana Peacock (Paperback - 30 Nov. 2010)
Used & New from: £9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews