Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!
Really suprised by the two poor reviews given to this book. Don't listen to them! It's a great book and I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes to get creative and get stuff done. The Build It!.....with Pallets is also a cracking little read with great ideas of how to use that pallet that's been lying around for ages.
Published on 20 Nov 2009 by R. A. Gledhill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
so so
Published 3 months ago by cs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 20 Nov 2009
By 
R. A. Gledhill (Lancs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Build It!: DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners (Paperback)
Really suprised by the two poor reviews given to this book. Don't listen to them! It's a great book and I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes to get creative and get stuff done. The Build It!.....with Pallets is also a cracking little read with great ideas of how to use that pallet that's been lying around for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great diagrams!, 26 May 2008
This review is from: Build It!: DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners (Paperback)
This book is excellent and contains some really interesting projects. It's well written and witty and non-DIYers have read & enjoyed my copy too. The diagrams are fantastic - complete with farm animals! The scope of projects is wide ranging and thought provoking, from the simple to the Heath-Robinson! This book has very strong green credentials - topics such as recycling, water conservation and renewable energy are covered in a practical, common sense way, with none of the smug green eco tone that sometimes spoils books like these. Definitley recommended even if you just want some inspiration and somebody else will be doing the building.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mint!, 20 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Build It!: DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners (Paperback)
I've just started my own little smallholding, and have found that lots of stuff just ends up lying around taking up space. I got on the web and found this great little book! I've now got lots of space, but that is slowly getting taken up by the kennels, bins, fences and all sorts of other stuff that has come about from buying this book. I'm led to believe there is another Build It! book from the same author, so have asked the wife to get me it for Christmas!

Have recommended to a friend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build It!: DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners (Paperback)
so so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Look after the pennies, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build It!: DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners (Paperback)
Nice useful book, Joe is one for watching the pennies so the projects are make and mend recycle and all without a big shiny expensively stocked workshop. He mostly tools and materials you have knocking around or easy to lay your hands on. A definite read for the new to small holder or just a nice read for the dreamer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good book, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build It!: DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners (Paperback)
Son wanted this book to give him ideas,as he likes to build.
he was very happy with this book and enjoys using it to help him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Down to earth book, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build It!: DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners (Paperback)
I find this book very good in giving ideas and the basics on building simple sheds and other systems. It is not a comprehensive book 'hold-your-hand' instructions. It gives good suggestions on materials that are around such as pallets. The author has a down to earth writing format which I find refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Build it.... builds ideas!, 17 Feb 2012
By 
J. Walker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Build It!: DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners (Paperback)
My brother in law has spent the last two years raving about using pallets to build things! So this was an ideal present to buy him for Christmas! After reading this he wants to used them for EVERYTHING (as they are free)! Building sheds, making a pitched roof on his extension!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not do what it says on the tin!!, 24 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Build It!: DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners (Paperback)
I bought this book a while ago. I've just got round to attempting one of the projects - a Chicken Ark. Bought all of the materials, then set to work. It tells you to cut the ends of eight supporting timbers to a 30 degree angle - which foolishly I did, before checking the fit. There is NO WAY the project will fit together when cut as described - I'm very annoyed as I am retired, on a fixed budget, and it's a 28 mile round trip to fetch more materials.

I'm sceptical about attempting any more of these projects.

If you want a book who's projects work, get The Smallholder's DIY, in the Gold Cockeral Series!!

Good luck!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Oct 2014
This review is from: Build It!: DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners (Paperback)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Build It!: DIY Projects for Farmers, Smallholders and Gardeners
£12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews