Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authoritive and covers many unusual aspects
The book is full of concise clear and authoritative advice. What I especially like is some of the aspects which could be counted as peripheral but which add so much knowledge and inform decisions. For example, a chunk about the heat required in the hive and how it is maintained and the implications of different variations from the ideal. A smaller section on the sound...
Published on 25 Aug 2010 by Nelle Tap

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overestimated
I bought this book based on the prevalent characterisation as "the beekeeping bible", something that I found to be otherwise. The book contains very many details on bees and hive management although these are better understood by an experienced rather than a novice beekeeper. Also, many of the information that the author provides is insufficient - like the very important...
Published on 21 Sep 2011 by nicholas revis


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authoritive and covers many unusual aspects, 25 Aug 2010
By 
Nelle Tap (Gt Kingshill, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guide to Bees & Honey: The World's Best Selling Guide to Beekeeping (Paperback)
The book is full of concise clear and authoritative advice. What I especially like is some of the aspects which could be counted as peripheral but which add so much knowledge and inform decisions. For example, a chunk about the heat required in the hive and how it is maintained and the implications of different variations from the ideal. A smaller section on the sound of the buzz and how it relates to the speed of the wings sounds comparatively unimportant but when you are out trying to identify flitting insects it can add that little something to help the identification. This wasn't the first book I read so you would imagine that some sections were less fresh and consequently of less interest. This is not the case; I have been entranced by what I have read so far (two thirds of the way through). My family might just say it is because I am obsessed. They may have a point!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New to Bees, 29 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees & Honey: The World's Best Selling Guide to Beekeeping (Paperback)
Speedy delivery.
I'm a beginner Beekeeper and completeing a BBKA course. This book was recommended and complements my weekly notes.
On first impression not the most inspiring format and looks 'old fashioned' lots of black and white pictures, but it is a text book and once into it I have found it both informative and readable. I would recommend it to all would be bee keepers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overestimated, 21 Sep 2011
This review is from: Guide to Bees & Honey: The World's Best Selling Guide to Beekeeping (Paperback)
I bought this book based on the prevalent characterisation as "the beekeeping bible", something that I found to be otherwise. The book contains very many details on bees and hive management although these are better understood by an experienced rather than a novice beekeeper. Also, many of the information that the author provides is insufficient - like the very important hive splitting (or artificial swarming) methods of which he superficially touches but one, and even that not in great detail. It is understood that the author is only presenting what has been tried, tested and worked but some people just like a bit more of a choice.

I particularly found the method of clipping the queen's wing, which the author prescribes in his book, as a rather harsh and unecessary method of swarm control. Demaree has lond ago described his method of doing this (no wing clipping involved) with many more benefits for the colony and the beekeeper. And there are other methods to go about controlling swarming which are less violent and intrusive.

In all, I will not be using this book much, infact I will put it up for sale as I do not want it in my library. The book that I have found very interesting, unbiased and pleasantly informative is David Cramp's "A Practical Manual of Beekeeping" although there are not many pictures to go with it (but a new version is available right about this time).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide to Bees & Honey, 30 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees & Honey: The World's Best Selling Guide to Beekeeping (Paperback)
This book is The worlds best selling guide to beekeeping because it covers the difficult to understand subjects in beekeeping in a step by step way. Ted Hooper was a former President of The British Beekeepers Association who sadly passed away in March 2010. His work will go on for ever thanks to this great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide to bees and honey, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees & Honey: The World's Best Selling Guide to Beekeeping (Paperback)
I previously found this book in the library for my husband who has been a beekeeper for over 50 years. Having renewed it endless times, I was delighted to spot it on Amazon.

It is never on the bookshelf as he constantly refers to it. He likes the down to earth viewpoint and would recommend it to any beekeeper as a first book or for more advanced use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the bee's knees, 9 Jan 2011
By 
T. M. Artingstoll "Son of Faro" (London,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees & Honey: The World's Best Selling Guide to Beekeeping (Paperback)
Ted Hooper's book is for intending beekeepers and it certainly cuts the mustard. If I have any complaint it is that its pages are so packed with info it is a little like swimming thro honey to read. But when you reach the end you are an amateur beekeeper.

As soon as you reach its end send for a flatpack hive and set up beekeeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Guide, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees & Honey: The World's Best Selling Guide to Beekeeping (Paperback)
I am beginner, and everyone I spoke to recomended this book. At first it looks a bit dawnting, but it is full of useful information. Definatly m go to bee keeing book. It explains what to do, and why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees & Honey: The World's Best Selling Guide to Beekeeping (Paperback)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees & Honey: The World's Best Selling Guide to Beekeeping (Paperback)
I am told this is the classic bee book.I bought it for my husband. He is happy. His bees are happy. I couldn't ask for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great beekeping and honey info, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees & Honey: The World's Best Selling Guide to Beekeeping (Paperback)
Just what I was looking for. Gives great understanding of bees their habits and lots of information about honey and its uses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guide to Bees & Honey: The World's Best Selling Guide to Beekeeping
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews