Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beekeepers Pocket Bible
Beekeeping is a bit like playing the guitar. You can carry on strumming your three chords if you like, or you can go on to the more advanced stuff. This book will take you from the beginning stage to a fairly advanced one in one slim volume. Beekeeping is a big subject encompassing many different subjects within it, and for Ted Hooper to have covered every aspect so...
Published on 7 Jun. 2009 by John Williams

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Photos Missing
There was some probem with the publishers rights, I think, so some important photos are missing. Text very informative.
Published on 26 April 2009 by M. Carstairs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The essential beekeeping reference, 30 May 2009
By 
S. Girvan (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guide to Bees and Honey (Paperback)
This book has an extremely high reputation that is well deserved. It covers most aspects of beekeeping in a clear and engaging style. Ted Hooper injects a fair amount of personal opinion and subjectivity to the text, but backs it up with experience and science.
It is not a manual to follow slavishly (though I doubt the bees would let you if you tried), but a tried and trusted reference to provide guidance and confidence. I have a couple of other books and this one reads best if you already know many of the principles from a more basic text. The sections on Queen Rearing for instance, are quite advanced.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far, excellent!, 12 July 2008
By 
F. E. Filardo (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guide to Bees and Honey (Paperback)
Nicely written and highly informative by someone who evidently has an immense amount of experience and knowledge and who is happy to share it without ever becoming dogmatic.

I am a beginner to be-keeping and this book is giving me a great combination of directly applicable advice and an overview of how it all works together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guide To Bee and Honey, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees and Honey (Paperback)
This is a standar text book on Beekeeping.
It is THE BOOK to help on your road to increasing you understanding of Beekeeping and moving up to more complicated books on hte subject.
I found it a very enjoyable book to read with excellent content presented in a very readable format.
It is a standard work that all serious beekeepers should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guide to Bees and Honey, 1 Jan. 2010
By 
M. OBRIEN (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guide to Bees and Honey (Paperback)
This was purchased as a Christmas gift and apparently it is very informative. The person reading it hopes to get beehives this spring and as a beginner finds the book a great help. However some of the illustrations and plates appear to be missing. Not enough of a worry to return the book however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Pollenator, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees and Honey (Paperback)
Fascinated insite into the world of bees, the author gives plenty of food for thought of how to keep and look after bees. Easy to understand and follow, keeps you interested from start to finish. Now used as a reference in our new hobby. Happy to review any books purchased from Amazon :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the bookshelf, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees and Honey (Paperback)
Once you have established your interest this provides the next step. If one has a little knowledge this will help you through, and provides a great read and depth of experience. But ask 10 beekeepers a question and one will get 15 answers. this probably coverers 9 of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars guide to bees and honey, 5 Feb. 2010
By 
N. P. Swift - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees and Honey (Paperback)
very good book, good to read, a nice book to start with if you want to know anything about bees . newcomer or old hand i was told by a beekeeper to buy this book and i was not disapionted . very well laid out highly recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bees, 18 July 2009
This review is from: Guide to Bees and Honey (Paperback)
Ted Hooper's book is full of facts but occasionally mildly entertaining. It is aimed at new beekeepers who want lots of info. I'm sure that I will go back to it as I realise what I have forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are serious about keeping bees, 15 May 2009
By 
S. Baskind - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guide to Bees and Honey (Paperback)
... then this is a great text book tho' its so detailed and informative that I found it took a while to really understand alot of the information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Bees and Honey (Paperback)
very good service and product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guide to Bees and Honey
Guide to Bees and Honey by Ted Hooper (Paperback - 20 Mar. 2008)
Used & New from: £7.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews