Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If "SNOW" is your pasion, then this guide is for YOU!, 28 Nov 2006
This review is from: Snowboarding the World (Footprint Travel Guide) (Footprint Activity & Lifestyle Guide) (Paperback)
This guide is on equal par with its brother in the Footprint series "SURFING EUROPE"

If you like the snow and want to get the low down on what's hot and what's not, how to get there, what to do when you get there, what to expect when you go exploring, reference maps, hundreds of fantastic vibrant pictures, reference to the best accommodation options, weather graphs and statistics, an essencial clubs n pubs guide to each location, the best Internet cafes have been sniffed out for your convienence and even a spot of history thrown amongest the vast aray of easy to desifer bible of Snow!

In my eyes this is the best snow guide to ever hit our shelves!

If you don't own a copy go buy one now! You wont regret it!

If you one of those winter daydreamers who are forever wondering where to be at the right time and to score conditions you can only dream of. Well this is the book for you. It gives you the inside first hand experience that is invaluable to a traveller's itinerary plan. You know what location will suit you before you start booking.

If you are one of those people who insist on knowing what to expect before you get to your destination. Then this guide will open your eyes to all the secrets before you have left the comfort of your front room.

If you have no idea where you want to spend your winter holiday and you wanted to shred some of the most beautiful mountain ranges this planet has to offer, you would use this book as your reference to research all of your avenues! From one end of the earth to the other, they have it covered!

From my own personal experience:

They wrote about my local ski fields in NZ and basically hit the nail on the head with their descriptions, advice, culture, conditions and stories. I would say that it seems consistent through the entire guide.

To back up my review I have just bought 5 copies to pass onto my friends and family as an ideal Christmas gift.

Happy shopping

Peace

Chris Kirkham (NZ)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snowboard the world very handy!, 24 Nov 2006
This review is from: Snowboarding the World (Footprint Travel Guide) (Footprint Activity & Lifestyle Guide) (Paperback)
I Just got this book the other day and i found it really helpfull and easy to use. Great for a quick flick, and very informative. A great book if you can't make up your mind in where to go. For all levels of snowboarder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snowboard? You need this book!, 24 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. Hamish Mm Duncan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snowboarding the World (Footprint Travel Guide) (Footprint Activity & Lifestyle Guide) (Paperback)
I have never come across such a well educated review of snowboarding on this plane. If you need to know anything then this is your reference. Quick and easy to find chapters, well marked and layed out grafically, lead you to the information you need in a jiffy. The writing is well written and balanced, with a good nose for any level of rider. No matter what your purpose, if you're snowboarding this year you'll need this book! 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 25 Nov 2006
By 
Richard "letty" (Meribel, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snowboarding the World (Footprint Travel Guide) (Footprint Activity & Lifestyle Guide) (Paperback)
I've been snowboarding for 12 years (full winter seasons) in European resorts and this is the first book to talk truthfully about the places I know and love very much, and its the only book out there that makes me want to go snowboarding to new places (I didn't know had mountains).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only snowboard guide worth buying, 24 Nov 2006
By 
R. I. Sansom "ride bikes" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snowboarding the World (Footprint Travel Guide) (Footprint Activity & Lifestyle Guide) (Paperback)
Normally, I can't stand snowboard guides - they're poorly written, badly researched and quite often little more than somebody's good idea for a series of free holidays. I ordered this book to do some research for the magazine I work for and when it came through, I got down to flicking through and three hours later I had to take a breather.

Quite simply, this is the ONLY guidebook I have read that is worth your money. As well as going in depth into most of the resorts you'll have heard of - and giving you new information about them that you almost certainly WON'T know - the guide also delves deep into resorts that you may not know even exist: Iran, anybody?

I'll keep it brief, but this seriously is a snowboard guide worth buying - and at the discounted price, it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Info, 24 Nov 2006
By 
J. Wedlake (Vail, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snowboarding the World (Footprint Travel Guide) (Footprint Activity & Lifestyle Guide) (Paperback)
Great pics. Great Layout. Great Info. Everyplace I've boarded in this book the critique was right on. Easy to read and packed w/ all the info that matters. What else can you ask for? Free lift tickets - but that might be asking for too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review., 24 Nov 2006
This review is from: Snowboarding the World (Footprint Travel Guide) (Footprint Activity & Lifestyle Guide) (Paperback)
You can tell these guys have travelled far and wide to fulfil their research, as the end result gives resorts around the world an up to date reality check from a snowboarder's perspective - showcasing the good, the bad, the ugly, and even the resorts you never knew existed. But what makes this book a good read is that it's well written and funny and, aside from the resort low-down, there are sections on pretty much everything else to do with the sport from the general lifestyle to snowboarding and the environment. There are some great photos to look at, and for non-meat eaters there are even tips on how to survive the mountains as a veggie. Worthy of purchasing a coffee table to put it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars read it/shred it!, 24 Nov 2006
By 
O. ARNOLD (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snowboarding the World (Footprint Travel Guide) (Footprint Activity & Lifestyle Guide) (Paperback)
If your a keen snowboarder, skiier or just love being in the mountatins this guide is a essential piece of kit. I knew Footprints already did great surf guides but with Snowboarding the World, they are proving that they more than just dedicated surfers!

Its clear, accurate, brilliantly illustrated and you can just tell it was written by real snowboarders, not some some pencil pushing journos trying to cash in. The fact it contains countries I didnt even know had mountains let alone snow, makes it really exciting (and difficult) when it comes to picking my next trip. Seriously, this guide is the business!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Look no further, 24 Nov 2006
By 
C. Cracknell (London, UK - French Alps) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snowboarding the World (Footprint Travel Guide) (Footprint Activity & Lifestyle Guide) (Paperback)
For an indespensible guide to where to snowboard on this planet. The writers have either spent all their lives travelling and riding or it is very well researched. Knowing a few of places listed in here, I would say they have got them spot on, plenty of local knowledge and good, up to date information. What I really liked is the little riders stories and the photos, which are all quality and actually relate to the pages they are on, unlike some other publications I have seen.

If you have any interest in going snowboarding, don't go anywhere without buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great snowboarders guide, 14 Dec 2006
By 
Silas Taylor (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snowboarding the World (Footprint Travel Guide) (Footprint Activity & Lifestyle Guide) (Paperback)
What a great resource this book is for beginners and experienced showboarders alike. It's packed with all the information you need to know, some that you don't (but might make you laugh), tips and suggestions, maps, graphs and easy to read ratings of facilities. Chuck in some great stories from some of the big names and some great photography and it's a pretty much indispensable guide to all the resorts you thought you knew, but will now know much better, and to all the resorts you never knew even existed, but can now visit with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snowboarding the World (Footprint Travel Guide) (Footprint Activity & Lifestyle Guide)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews