Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine mystery, extraordinary writing
The latest in the Guido Guerrieri series by the estimable Italian crime writer, Gianrico Carofiglio. It's both a well-crafted murder mystery and a series of meditations and recollections by a man of principle and self-awareness. Another case of respect for Socrates' observation about the unexamined life being worthess.

Protagonist Guerrieri is a well-respected...
Published on 10 Oct 2011 by Blue in Washington

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A Lot of Imperfection
This was agonisingly slow. I'm sorry but I can't understand the other readers' glowing references. Even the interminable pages of self analysis and reflection seemed shallow
Published 10 days ago by John Kay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine mystery, extraordinary writing, 10 Oct 2011
By 
Blue in Washington "Barry Ballow" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Temporary Perfections (Guido Guerrieri 4) (Paperback)
The latest in the Guido Guerrieri series by the estimable Italian crime writer, Gianrico Carofiglio. It's both a well-crafted murder mystery and a series of meditations and recollections by a man of principle and self-awareness. Another case of respect for Socrates' observation about the unexamined life being worthess.

Protagonist Guerrieri is a well-respected defense lawyer based in Bari, Italy who is approached by a colleague to investigate the unresolved disappearance of a young local woman. Reluctantly, Guerrieri agrees to make some inquiries, not expecting to find anything not already reported by the Italian police. His insightful handling of the missing woman's friends gradually opens up new possibilities and eventually a resolution to the case. As the procedural is launched and continues, the reader's respect for the lawyer's character grows. He's a thoughtful and interesting guy, but with a modest ego and good working moral compass. Someone to be admired for his approach to life, accomplishments and even his occasional missteps. The man has good friends with whom he has meaningful conversations, relatively free of cliches. He freely borrows other people's methods and gives them full credit when they succeed for him. In a genre where protagonists are most often addicts, recovering addicts or are regular punching bags for the bad guys, here's a hero who is none of that and, in fact, uses a punching bag himself..

This is a fine story and highly enjoyable read by an author at the top of his game. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smart Bari lawyer with work/life balance issues seeks avid crime readers, 7 Oct 2011
By 
J. Coulton "Julia Coulton" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temporary Perfections (Guido Guerrieri 4) (Paperback)
If you are like me a lover of crime fiction, and you haven't discovered the Bitter Lemon Press, then you have a treat in store. They publish quality crime fiction and thrillers, often set in far away exotic locations. My own favourite discovery from them so far is Gianrico Carofiglio, who has just published his fourth novel featuring Italian lawyer Guido Guerrieri, `Temporary Perfections'.

Carofiglio's background is particularly interesting, for before he discovered his talent for penning books, he was a prosecutor in the Italian city of Bari in Puglia, who specialised in prosecuting members of the mafia. And he uses his personal experiences to add depth and colour to Guerrieri's own legal career. He does have some of the, by now, obligatory tick list features of a crime fiction hero. These inevitably include failed personal relationships; the inability to achieve a healthy work/life balance; and a penchant for fine food and alcohol, sometimes to excess.

But despite this adherence to the formula, Carofiglio achieves a gritty pace to his books, which are always a cracking read. If anything this fourth one is slightly less strong than the previous three, as there does not seem to be that much sleuthing or legal work involved. But Guerrieri makes full use of past clients he has, usually successfully it has be said, defended, such as ex prostitutes, drug dealers and Mafioso, to get to the bottom of the disappearance of the daughter of a rich Bari family. If only he could resist the temptations of a young pretty girl to flatter his mid life crisis...

Carofiglio also achieves a wonderful sense of Bari, the backstreets and underbelly of which are centre stage in his stories, with the odd venture to Rome and other Italian cities thrown in for good measure. If you take my advice, and you know you want to, you will head straight for the first instalment of the legal adventures of Guido Guerrieri, `Involuntary Witness' and work your way through the following three books too, as the nights draw in, and there is nothing better than a good crime book to keep you amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vanishing From the Train in the Italian Countryside, 16 Jan 2012
By 
R. E. Quinn (Great Britian) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Temporary Perfections (Guido Guerrieri 4) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Guido Guerrieri is a defence advocate. With his staff increasing he has recently moved to new offices and is still trying to get used to them. he is approached by a colleague who wants Guido to look over a case file to see if he can find any new line of enquiry that would make the police keep the case open.

Manuela Ferraro vanished one Sunday afternoon, she was last seen waiting for a train. Her parents have been told the police have no further leads and intend to close the case.

Guerrieri reluctantly agrees to take a look and as he begins to look into Manuela's life at university and her friends an interesting picture at odds with her family's view of her begins to emerge.

What happened that summer Sunday afternoon? where did Manuela go? As the story begins to unfold he is not sure he wants to find the answers.

This book is written by a former Italian Prosecutor and now a member of the Italian Senate. He writes with a knowledge of his subject and sprinkles in interesting and weird facts about Italian law through his story.

This is the fourth book in the series but it can quite easily stand alone as a single novel.

For those who like to try a different slant on the crime novel this is worth a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really unusual and entertaining, 15 Dec 2011
By 
Wilz "wilson9hb" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Temporary Perfections (Guido Guerrieri 4) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Carofiglio always seems to really understand the subject matter and have strong views about the main characters. This book is no exception and I am fast becoming a real fan.
Much more gritty than perhaps one would expect, without using far fetched or horrible situations to create the atmosphere.
A lively story involving a realistic main character who is dragged into an investigation against his better judgement. As I progressed I could feel his increasing commitment to the job which really says something for the quality of writing (and translation).
If you've never read one of this authors books, do try this - I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a try, 7 Dec 2011
By 
G. Brack - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Temporary Perfections (Guido Guerrieri 4) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Carofiglio's book is an unusual production. It has an engaging central character and a number of others, some of whom take it in turns to act as the sounding board for his ideas. I've never been to Bari, but Carofiglio plainly has a lot of affection for the place, and while there is quite a bit of detail about the life of an Italian lawyer and the way the law works, it isn't intrusive and doesn't feel as if it has been included just because the author happens to know it.

This is not a plot-heavy book, but it's nicely paced and the translation works well most of the time. I'd certainly read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong story, strong characters, Southern Italian pace., 25 Nov 2011
By 
Mrs. R. "Polymath" (London, England, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Temporary Perfections (Guido Guerrieri 4) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Guerrieri's a good honest lawyer working in southern Italy, and it's a pleasure to meet him. For once the hero of a detective novel is only relatively troubled.He gets enough sleep, eats properly and isn't either a genius or a disaster. He's appealing because he's really rather normal. We get the impression that he's quite good looking, but that's not a bad thing.
On his quest to find out what happened to a missing student he does some slightly daft things, but follows his instincts and his police friend's advice and does some decent amateur detective work. Carofiglio describes his hero's single minded pursuit by the beautiful Carolina, the missing girl's flatmate, brilliantly.
Temporary Perfections is an elegantly written novel that proceeeds at a pace that we can follow and allows us to watch Guido Guerrieri walking into situations that make us want to warn him off. It feels as if it would make a beautiful BBC special, not a Hollywood thriller. These are three-dimensional characters, people we can get to like, described with warmth; their behaviour is human. This is a great novel which happens to have some interesting detective work in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real joy to read, 9 Nov 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Temporary Perfections (Guido Guerrieri 4) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are four books featuring Guido Guerrieri character. A rather selective defence lawyer who picks his clients, Guido prefers white-collar criminals and small time crooks who are independent operators from the underworld. His practice seems successful as he seems to keep his clients out of jail.

In this novel a Guido is asked to look into a closed case. A young woman who went missing six months before and the police were never able to trace her. The girl's parents are truly devastated. They want to know what happened to their daughter. It is felt that with Guido's deep judicial knowledge, he may be able to find some `crumb' in the files that was overlooked in the original Police investigation.

The narrative revolves around Guido's unofficial inquiries; Guido is no detective, but takes secret delight in this opportunity to be a sleuth, and takes inspiration from the fictional ones from both film and book.
While we are engrossed in the story we are given little golden nuggets of our amateur sleuth's everyday life and his legal cases. The storyline gives insight into Guido's witty and almost self-deprecating internal monologues.

Our protagonist is a complex and believable character; his little foibles do not detract but enhance the narrative. All in all a good read and I would strongly recommend this book, hence my 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More a glimpse into social life than a murder mystery, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Temporary Perfections (Guido Guerrieri 4) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A lawyer turned crime investigator seems to work well in this book. It's book number 4 so I suppose the three before this are of a similar nature and therefore run the risk of repetition. Since I haven't read them, that's maybe unfair. However, I enjoyed this story, not so much for the investgative powers of Guido Guerrieri but rather the excellent portrayal of Bari and its inhabitants. The characters brought together by the disappearance of a student daughter of a wealthy couple seem to find a place in the reader's mind, unlike many who pass through like running water.

I didn't suss the ending, probably becaus I was engrossed in the atmosphere of the book. It's a great story, sort of Hercule Poirot meets well, who, really? Columbo? Marlowe? Anyway, Guerrieri gets on with the job, enjoying the impossibility of a realtionship with a much younger girl - the friend of the missing daughter - whilst knowing that such a move would go nowhere. Actually, it does and the author manages very well to put it all into context without lessening the interest factor in solving the mystery.

A new author for me and one I will follow on the next journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph!, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temporary Perfections (Guido Guerrieri 4) (Paperback)
This is the best of Carofiglio's Guerrerri books so far although they are all excellent. He has developed as an author along the way. The main character is a complex and sensitively portrayed anti hero and the legal background is of course perfect, drawing as it does on the authors experience. Don't expect blood and thunder. These are thoughtful and insightful books with exciting climaxes but always told in a restrained way. The setting in Bari is unusual and I would like even more local colour than the snippets he does give you.
Can't wait for the next book in the series if there is going to be one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superior crime fiction, 5 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Temporary Perfections (Guido Guerrieri 4) (Paperback)
Temporary Perfections gives a marvellous insight into the Italian legal system. Guido Guerrieri is a likeable character and he attracts very personal revelations from various characters - all of which are fascinating and in their own way help him to come to a conclusion on the disappearance of Manuela, a case which he has been tasked to have reopened. This is a most enjoyable read and it is highly reommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Temporary Perfections (Guido Guerrieri 4)
Temporary Perfections (Guido Guerrieri 4) by Gianrico Carofiglio (Paperback - 8 Sep 2011)
£7.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews