Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what is requied
This guide does all you will ever need for the Scilly Islands visitor.
Pictures are brilliant and the maps are fantastically detailed.

The whole package is perfect and fits nicely into the map case !
Published on 21 July 2009 by Mr. Trevor A. Cope

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not as good as DK!
Serves as a general introduction to the Scillys but is not as detailed as I would have liked. The maps are a bit vague and run over the edge of the page!
Published on 22 April 2012 by Macka


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what is requied, 21 July 2009
This review is from: Isles of Scilly Guidebook (Friendly Guides) (Paperback)
This guide does all you will ever need for the Scilly Islands visitor.
Pictures are brilliant and the maps are fantastically detailed.

The whole package is perfect and fits nicely into the map case !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it. Very good, 29 May 2010
By 
Ben Nicholson "Benkernow" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Isles of Scilly Guidebook (Friendly Guides) (Paperback)
When you see the price you think it's going to be rubbish. But you will be totally wrong, this is full of information on the islands with some nice little maps, including one of Hugh Town. It has some nice pictures, some of the common birds on the Island, but the main thing is about the history and the it's value for money.

It's a good guide either ny it's self or even better when combined with an OS map and a wildlife book for further information and help (but not essential as this book can do the job by itself)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isles of Scilly compact guidebook, 25 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Isles of Scilly Guidebook (Friendly Guides) (Paperback)
This guidebook was purchased for my elderly mother who is going with a group to the Isles of Scilly in April. It is light and slim ideal to pack yet answers many questions one would want to know about a new place. Good general maps; one map of all the islands and then separate maps for each island. This has helped my mother work out which islands she will be going to and the quide has much increased her pleasure of anticipation. The information was wide ranging but detailed enough; covering the islands` geology, landscape, history, wildlife, agriculture and much more. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the island for the first time or to anyone who has a general interest in the Isles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scilly guidebook, 22 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isles of Scilly Guidebook (Friendly Guides) (Paperback)
A very useful, and competitively priced book.
No scale or compass directions on maps,and page 41/42 on Bryher has duplication of text.
Overall though a great intro to the Scillies,and we used it extensively for walking all the islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book - all you need!, 27 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Isles of Scilly Guidebook (Friendly Guides) (Paperback)
Great little book - everything in one place and really good maps. Some sections of text are duplicated in places, which can be a little confusing, but other than that it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scilly guide book, 30 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Isles of Scilly Guidebook (Friendly Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this book to take with me to the Scilly Isles it cost less than the price on the back. It was very informative about each of the Islands. It was a handy size to carry around well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isles of Scilly overview guide, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isles of Scilly Guidebook (Friendly Guides) (Paperback)
We are planning to go to the I of S and wanted a no nonsense guide to give us an overview without spending a lot of cash. This guide is easy to follow and combined with a OS map helped put the wee islands into context. For now it has helped us plan and now think about getting the places and about accommodation. So the guide has been perfect to help us get a quick overview. I don't think we will need to invest in anything else for a planned 1 week holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect partner for a holiday or short trip, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isles of Scilly Guidebook (Friendly Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this for my mum who had arranged a one day trip to the Isles.
She loved it. With so much information she was able to work out what she would like to see in a short time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isles of Scilly Guidebook (Friendly Guides) (Paperback)
Fitted what I needed. The heliport no longer exists but that didn't matter and nice and light considering I flew and they weigh you and your baggage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All you need for a trip to IOS, 13 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Isles of Scilly Guidebook (Friendly Guides) (Paperback)
This guidebook provided all we needed for a week's holiday in the Isles of Scilly. It gives an interesting background history of the islands as well as great maps (the best I saw anywhere whilst we were there) and a good description of all the features of the islands such as beaches, walks, nature reserves and places to visit etc. It does not contain anything about restaurants, accommodation, trips or boat times etc but the islands are so small that you find that information out quickly upon arrival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Isles of Scilly Guidebook (Friendly Guides)
Isles of Scilly Guidebook (Friendly Guides) by Neil Reid (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2009)
£3.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews