Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Carol, 11 Nov 2008
This review is from: A Christmas Carol and Two Other Christmas Books (Collector's Library) (Hardcover)
Christmas would just not be the same without it. A great story of Christmas in Victorian Britain. The book has all original illustrations and even has two extra lesser-known Christmas tales written by Dickens. Obviously A Christmas Carol is the main attraction though. If you haven't read it already, I have no doubt that you will very much enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely little book - timeless story, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: A Christmas Carol and Two Other Christmas Books (Collector's Library) (Hardcover)
The book is a lovely little 'fit in your pocket' hardback. The pages are thin (almost as thin as a bibles), but I like this it seems to add to the quality of the book. Also has a few nice ink illustrations in it. Don't think I need to say anything about the stories, they really are timeless Dickens classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, 27 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol and Two Other Christmas Books (Collector's Library) (Hardcover)
Dickens books can not be matched for content and quality and this book does not disappoint. Very handy size and excellent quality, and on top of that fantastic price from Amazon [again]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket- size Christmas book, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol and Two Other Christmas Books (Collector's Library) (Hardcover)
Really lovely little book that I bought because it contains 'A Christmas Carol' by Charles Dickens. The side of the pages are gold so the book looks special when stacked. It is a pocket-sized book with hardback cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book for all purposes, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol and Two Other Christmas Books (Collector's Library) (Hardcover)
If you want a book to fit in handbag or pocket yet still feel like a very expensive one, then this is the right choice! The paper's lovely, crisp, white and thin, the type is clear, the illustrations are classics and the stories, of course, need no introduction. Hardback, gold edged, integral bookmark - where else will you get all this for the price? A wonderful present for anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol and Two Other Christmas Books (Collector's Library) (Hardcover)
I must have been very good this year because it is not yet end of November and Santa has already been delivering beautiful things to me! This is the second hardback book that I receive this autumn, which dons a luxurious cover and an old-fashioned binding and which is a beauty to behold, inside and out.
This is my first book from the "Collector's Library" and I already know I want more. It was not even meant to be mine; I ordered it meaning to give it away as part of a birthday present to one of my daughter's friends, who was having a party and had let on she had not read this classic tale yet. I am ashamed to say that as soon as I saw it, I knew I was keeping it for myself, for it is a thing of true beauty. It has a beautiful dust jacket, which, when removed, reveals a pretty little boat and golden letters on the spine. The leaves' edges are dipped in gold dust, leaving an imperceptible trace of glitter on your fingers (not much to annoy, but enough to delight) that makes the book feel truly Christmasy! Well done, the Collector's Library. If there ever was an argument for buying "real" (as opposed to "e-") books this festive season, I am holding it! This would be an ideal gift to anyone, who you think might enjoy a bit of the classics this Christmas- and with a price as good as this, you could supplement it with a box of scrumptious chocolates or a good bottle of port and a nice stilton, to give them a real wrap-up in multisensory pleasure.

These things I say as regards the "superficial" aspect. As for the contents, well, they need no introduction. The stories included are "A Christmas Carol" (and who hasn't shivered with pleasure, when they first read the sentence: "Old Marley was as dead as a doornail" in the first paragraph of this indispensable story?), "The Chimes" and "The Cricket on the Hearth". They come complete and unabridged and the Carol comes with the original famous John Leech illustrations. There's a very good, if rather compact, afterword by Anna South (what happened to forewords, by the way; the current fashion seems to be all for afterwords; not that I am complaining: this way you can get straight down to business and read the boring, useful bits later, without feeling guilty).
However, be warned. The contextual information on offer here is on the limited side: short bio, short afterword, no footnotes on the texts, only two further reading suggestions... This is indeed meant for collectors, who have been in contact with the Carol previously. If you're looking for a "beginner's" Xmas Carol, then Penguin classics does a very good one (with the original Leech illustrations but with different accompanying Christmas stories, with a moreish intro, bio, and with those all-important text notes that you will be needing if you don't know what the "wisdom of our ancestors" means or what "The Union workhouses" were, etc.). And of course there are many more "Carols" out there in the public domain; every publishing house seems to have one.
But with a price such as this, I say you should not hesitate to buy this small gem now, no matter what other Carols you might acquire in your lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 29 Dec 2011
By 
S. Meah - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol and Two Other Christmas Books (Collector's Library) (Hardcover)
It's great! As always, it's much better to read then watch as films leave out the parts that the imagination hungers for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol and Two Other Christmas Books (Collector's Library) (Hardcover)
Love the Collector's Library! Compact and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just like the films - but better, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. S. Herbert "cat" (nr luton, beds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Christmas Carol and Two Other Christmas Books (Collector's Library) (Hardcover)
I got this at Christmas after seeing the latest Christmas Carol film. They stay true to the story but you don't get the humour on film like you do reading the book. A lovely book as a gift too, gold edged pages and its own marker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Carol, 13 Feb 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: A Christmas Carol and Two Other Christmas Books (Collector's Library) (Hardcover)
Bought for an 87 year old lady who is frilled to bits with it Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Christmas Carol and Two Other Christmas Books (Collector's Library)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews