Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding
Buy this book now, simple as that, should be required reading in all schools, Armitage gets into the head and life of Sophie Lancaster , this will tug at your heartstrings, your conscience and everything inbetween, be prepared to be astounded by this fabulous book.
Published on 14 Aug 2012 by Mr. W. Smith

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book
Given as a present. Was thanked for it.. Your demand for more words is outrageously annoying. Mind your own business
Published 6 months ago by X


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, 14 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. W. Smith "Smiffy" (Shuttleworth, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Roses: the Killing of Sophie Lancaster (Paperback)
Buy this book now, simple as that, should be required reading in all schools, Armitage gets into the head and life of Sophie Lancaster , this will tug at your heartstrings, your conscience and everything inbetween, be prepared to be astounded by this fabulous book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very emotive and powerful read, 28 Sep 2012
By 
C. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Roses: the Killing of Sophie Lancaster (Paperback)
What an amazing book. A very emotive and powerful read. It makes you feel like you've connected and understood Sophie. Sections iii and iv are so descriptive and elements of those sections resonate with when I was growing up. Section x).... make sure you have tissues.
Personally I think this book should be added to the school curriculum. Whilst you can't make every child/teenager read what's on the curriculum or completely remove violence and attitude, I think this book would get across the impacts that actions can have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry and murder, 27 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Black Roses: the Killing of Sophie Lancaster (Paperback)
How good it is to see a poet engaging with an occurrence of this nature, a shocking murder. Why? Because these things happen and, while we perhaps grow inured to seeing on television the emotional fallout resulting from murder, it does not often happen that painters, musicians or poets tackle such an event, if at all. And each form of artistic endeavour can bring its own tools to bear on the subject. So Armitage does it by imaginatively entering into Sophie Lancaster's own character and experience. He does this beautifully, deploying rhythm, rhyme, words, the structure and spacing of the lines, evoking both the ordinariness and uniqueness of this young person, culminating in the horror of her final moments. The poet permits us to see murder through the perceptions of the person who is murdered, something which of course can never happen in reality. And, at the same time, the poem is a sad but vital commemoration of the young girl whose life was so violently cut short. It allows us to know her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing !!, 16 Feb 2014
This review is from: Black Roses: the Killing of Sophie Lancaster (Paperback)
This poem will get under your skin like no other. It charts the life of one girl , a girl we all know. It makes you remember your own teenage years when you felt as if you didn't quite belong in the world yet. It painfully describes how a life can be cut short in the blink of an eye. It displays a sense of realism rarely found in prose. It is quite beautiful and I hope it gave and continues to give comfort to Sophie's family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sophie Lancaster - 6 years on., 7 Aug 2013
By 
C. P. Brown "Strider" (Wakefield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Roses: the Killing of Sophie Lancaster (Paperback)
It's sx years since this beautiful girl was taken from us, a lot of good is being done in her memory and work like this helps perpetuate that. I'll be spending time in the Sophie Lancaster stage at Bllodstock this weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching and beautiful, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Roses: the Killing of Sophie Lancaster (Paperback)
The Radio 4 play blew me away and it has been on my mind a lot so I was delighted when this became available. Seeing the words written down make them almost more poignant. A beautiful testament to Sophie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poetry still matters, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Roses: the Killing of Sophie Lancaster (Paperback)
Armitage proves that the written word, and poetry in particular, can still be a strong tool of social criticism. By beautifully evoking, but not pigeon-holing, the character of Sophie Lancaster, the poet implies the dehumanization of the perpetrators of the act more strongly than any outright attack could hope. Kudos to the author, and compassion to all those who knew S.L.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Roses for a Black Day, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Roses: the Killing of Sophie Lancaster (Paperback)
Having heard this very sad story on the radio in a kind of play/documentary, with Armitage reading the poetry and Sophie's mother talking about her daughter, I was able to understand and relate. A very moving and treasured book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply brilliant., 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Roses: the Killing of Sophie Lancaster (Paperback)
A touching beautifully written book about an horrific murder. Armitage states that he wanted to give a voice to the Sophie Lancaster, he does so admirably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Sally J Blackmore (Chertsey, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Roses: the Killing of Sophie Lancaster (Paperback)
Great book and arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Roses: the Killing of Sophie Lancaster
Black Roses: the Killing of Sophie Lancaster by Simon Armitage (Paperback - 6 Aug 2012)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews