Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dickyseat
This is a wonderful series of photographs. So often you look at photographs of people in books without knowing anything about them. In this book there are little anecdotes about all the people featured. You also get a strong feeling of intimacy with the subjects which I suspect came from the fact that the photographer was part of the community and not a casual visitor...
Published on 25 April 2008 by Dickyseat

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Can get it cheaper
I've had a look at the pricing, £14.99. Paid £30. Feel ripped off! Browse around the shops or sale yard, can get it cheaper somewhere else.

Nothing against the book, was in good condition 5/5

I'm from Merthyr Tydfil, would have been good if I had a discount.
Published 8 months ago by Jonathan Howells


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dickyseat, 25 April 2008
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in Wales (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful series of photographs. So often you look at photographs of people in books without knowing anything about them. In this book there are little anecdotes about all the people featured. You also get a strong feeling of intimacy with the subjects which I suspect came from the fact that the photographer was part of the community and not a casual visitor looking in from the outside. The photographs are beautiful and the sense of history encapsulated within the books pages engrossing. Good value and highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 24 Aug 2008
By 
L. Waters "leew" (Cardiff, Wales. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in Wales (Hardcover)
A snapshot of a Wales long gone. The tales and the images offer a tender glimpse on a gallery of characters from a community that is no more, but whose likes we are all familar with. A pleasure to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a brilliant book, 24 May 2009
By 
Mr. A. Jones (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in Wales (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book, looking at real life pictures from the seventies. It's the type of book you can read over and over again and really enjoy the pictures that seem to come to life as you look at them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evocative faces, 30 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in Wales (Hardcover)
I bought this as a a gift for my elderly mother as she loves anything about South Wales Valleys communities. Of course, I had to check it out before i gave it to her and I found it to be a marvellous record of a way of life that is all but gone or at least very different.These faces tell a thousand tales about a community in transition. Merthyr Tydfil and it's surrounding villages has claim to a special history of industrial development and decline. Somehow these faces provide a silent but powerful commentary on what was disappearing. Many thanks to the author and photographer.......and those like him.........who have the awareness to know that the record is important. Tremendous black and white pictures that bear close examination for the detail of these peoples everyday lives. All underpinned by the personal connection the author has to his subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Can get it cheaper, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in Wales (Hardcover)
I've had a look at the pricing, £14.99. Paid £30. Feel ripped off! Browse around the shops or sale yard, can get it cheaper somewhere else.

Nothing against the book, was in good condition 5/5

I'm from Merthyr Tydfil, would have been good if I had a discount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great photos, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon a Time in Wales (Hardcover)
Great photos from a time fast slipping from our memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once Upon a Time in Wales
Once Upon a Time in Wales by Robert Haines (Hardcover - 24 April 2008)
Used & New from: £29.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews