Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 29 July 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish, Indian Style: 100 Simple Spicy Recipes (Hardcover)
I was very much looking foreward to Atul's new book, having absolutely loved his other book. I have not been dissappointed.

I've tried a few recipes, and they are simply amazing. They are light, well balanced and excellently spiced dishes. Some of these do taste like my mums food! Really authentic indian fish cookery (and its also regional - giving a flavour from different areas in India). Its great that most of the fish used are available in the supermarkets - and Atul also offers a range of alternative fish can be used in the recipes.

Only minor draw back is too few pictures (unlike his other book, which had most recipes with a photo of the finished dish).

The recipes are great. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recipes do not disappoint, 14 Feb 2010
By 
R. Cummings - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fish, Indian Style: 100 Simple Spicy Recipes (Hardcover)
The recipes are really good. However, a confusing part is that some of the recipes don't seem to match the picture attached (e.g a recipe calls for skinless fish and the recipe picture shows a fish with skin on it). No big deal really but surely the picture should match the recipe! We chose to cook three courses from this book for Christmas lunch and we were not disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good cook book, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish, Indian Style (Paperback)
Good chef, who writes informative and different recipes., but not in his usual style. Looking forward to,trying new recipes, this is aimed at the occasional cook as this is. NOt as technical as some of his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TRUE DELIGHTS OF THE SEA, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish, Indian Style (Paperback)
As a pescetarian of many years, with an Indian connection. I am always on the lookout for perfect ways to treat the beautiful fish available world wide. Having followed Mr Kochhar for sometime on TV, I think this is it. Utterly magnificient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible delicious recipes, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish, Indian Style (Paperback)
This book contains a wide range of recipes including the traditional and the more modern.
It is a good read as well as providing clear recipes and has definitely broadened my fish repertoire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 9 Jan 2010
By 
P. Patel (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fish, Indian Style: 100 Simple Spicy Recipes (Hardcover)
Nice recipies and flavours that you (probably) have never before created in your kitchen before. not over complicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book!!, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish, Indian Style: 100 Simple Spicy Recipes (Hardcover)
A truely inspirational cookery book!!! It made me want to go straight to the kitchen to try things out!!

Loads of great simple recipes as well as more challenging ones for the more experianced!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish, Indian Style: 100 Simple Spicy Recipes (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book. It's well worth spending that tiny bit more to get the hardback, particularly if like me you have to eat a lot of fish and actually bought the book to use. At first glance, though, I thought, "Oh dear, it's Nouvelle Bore!" You know, "look at me" cheffing. But it really isn't. Yes, there are recipes with titles like Seared Tuna with Black Trumpet Mushroom Crust and Beetroot Pickle, but for those of us who don't have access to specific ingredients or don't have the budget, many recipes can be made by just stopping at "With" and cooking the fish in its spices. One of the things I really like is that each recipe offers alternative fishes for those of us who don't have access to things like Kingfish or whatever. Yes, there are recipes I'll never prepare (Lobster Rillettes, or anything with scallops or oysters) but that can be said of any cookbook. There are good "basics" in the final section: how to make pickles, chapattis, raitas, spice blends, etc. (It's a bit odd that in the section on "how to roast spices" says once roasted spices quickly lose their flavour, and then in preparing one spice blend the book tells you to roast and grind the spices and put them in a jar because "it will keep for months." Do make up your mind!)
The only disadvantage is that the Table of Contents is scattered throughout the book. In the front you get general categories, and you have to go to those sections to find a detailed table of recipes. Not very useful for finding a certain recipe quickly, but I guess that's what those little coloured adhesive flags are for.
Edit: having prepared several of the recipes, with the occasional tweak as aforesaid, I can say that the recipes work, aren't too complicated, and don't require all the time and faff of some TV chef books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many fish - many curries, 22 Jan 2012
By 
P. Harknett "Winedrinker" (Wimborne Minster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish, Indian Style: 100 Simple Spicy Recipes (Hardcover)
Fascinating book, giving lots of interesting fishy recipes at which the amateur chef can succeed. I guess the only drawback may be getting hold of the more exotic fish species and some of the spices to try. Overall a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 18 Feb 2010
By 
Paul (Pembrokeshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fish, Indian Style: 100 Simple Spicy Recipes (Hardcover)
Atul tells you how to make great Indian fish dishes and I used to hate Indian fish dishes!! Great chef, great book and highly recommended addition to the cookbook shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fish, Indian Style: 100 Simple Spicy Recipes
Fish, Indian Style: 100 Simple Spicy Recipes by Atul Kochhar (Hardcover - 16 Jun 2008)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews