Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it- you will love it.
I love this book. It looks great, but more than anything, the recipes are fabulous-utterly delicious and yet easy to follow. Yes there are some unusual and probably hard to get ingredients unless you go foraging in hedgerows, but almost always there are easily obtained alternatives suggested and many recipes are beautifully simple. So often celebrity chefs just want to...
Published on 5 Dec 2010 by Philip Linzee-gordon

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good condition
The spine was broken and the front cover was ripped. Would not have minded but you advised it was in good condition with no damage. Thanks.
Published 6 months ago by Felicity


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book from a fantastic restaurant, 16 July 2008
By 
Dr. A. Nicholls "ajnicholls" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
This isn't a cookbook for the faint-hearted. It is a genuine restaurant book that gives you the precise recipes for some of David's most famous dishes.
The instructions are clear and, much more importantly, they work. David's use of seasonal, British produce and wild ingredients makes for one of the most interesting and pleasing books around. I can't recommend this book and everything I have ever made from it has blown people away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not good condition, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
The spine was broken and the front cover was ripped. Would not have minded but you advised it was in good condition with no damage. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 April 2007
By 
Mr. C. S. Hand (Rugby,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
Even As a professional chef i have rarely been interested in chef written books as i have been in Essence. Superbly written, great Photos and excellent Recipes. yes they are quite complicated but they are written in such detail and simplicity i have to congratulate David Everitt-Mathias. I have long wanted to go Champignon sauvage and this book has intensified this. Well done to all concerned with Essence as its one of the very best Thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A step above the average, 25 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
Bought the book on reviews alone and wasn't disappointed.

The recipes definitely aren't your average, but then neither is the depth of writing or the methodologies.

I've not cooked many of the dishes in their entirety but many of the elements are so polished that they are infinitely useful in other dishes.

Not for the lazy chef or the fainthearted but brilliant non the less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mr smiths evaluation, 4 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
this is by fare one of the best cookbooks in ever growing collection it is a testament to the author and his restaurant. i throughly enjoyed reading this book, there is lots of information and some very interesting,at times witty combinations and ideas. it is a must have for any serious chef and if toned down could be useful to a competant home cook, I am looking foreward to getting into the kitchen and doing my own interpretation of sum of his dishes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the amatuer !, 24 Sep 2011
This review is from: Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
I`m delighted I purchased this book, not because it will constantly be opened, but because it is very well written and explained.
However, this is not for the faint hearted, or inexperienced cook. The ingredients are not always simple either.
But for those who want a genius at their side on the rare occasion, buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strange ingredients, 10 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
Let me start by saying I am a great fan of David and Helen and some of the best meals of my life have been eaten at Le Champignon Sauvage. I am also a reasonably accomplished cook. But having rushed to buy this book I must say I am disappointed because of the large number of unusual and hard to get ingredients, making most of the recipes out of the range of people who do not have access to his excellent sources. The photography is excellent and some of the techniques are educational but as a practical book for the aspirational cook it's a bit of a dud. Ferran Adria is easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Recipes Ever, 15 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
If you love the restaurant and the book you will adore this addtion to your recipe collection. Exquisitie food helpful step by step instruction. this is for the profesional cook to Wow you friends and family Chocolate Dleice with salty carmael mmmmmmmm beautiful illustrations and helpful supplier

enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essence of perfection, 30 Oct 2006
By 
Gennaro Adaggio (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
this book is FANTASTIC,having eaten at le champignon sauvage i was pleased to find all the courses i sampled in the book.

one of the best "professional" book i posess!

buy it you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for novice, 6 Dec 2009
By 
J. Semeljova "Chef" (Esp) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
For novice cooks or advanced housewives. There are interesting things. But 5 points too well. For professionals too weak. David only 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage
Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage by David Everitt-Matthias (Hardcover - 21 Sep 2006)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews