Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas!
For the millions of Marmite lovers out there, this is a must-have book. Loads of new recipes involving the famous spread. These range from the simple (eg Marmite Corn Fritters) to the complicated and exotic (eg Lamb Kofte and Crispy Cabbage, or Panini with Marmite Tapenade, Taleggio and Sweet Peppers). Even those who claim to hate Marmite might be tempted. As an added...
Published on 27 Dec 2003 by M. V. Clarke

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun book for Lovers and Haters alike!
Contains genuine recipes that (speaking as a Marmite Lover) look delicious, for the most part. However, this is more of a fun read than an addition to your collection of 'serious' recipe books. Perfect as a gift to your Marmite loving or hating friends and family as it contains lots of interesting snippets of information on the history of the British icon. My Marmite...
Published on 3 Sep 2009 by CanUK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun gift, 25 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Marmite Cookbook (Storecupboard Cookbooks) (Hardcover)
A nice hardback book, best for kitchen use, with simple recipes and Marmite facts thrown in here and there. Good as a non-serious gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marmite Cookbook (Storecupboard Cookbooks) (Hardcover)
This was for my grandson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marmite Cookbook (Storecupboard Cookbooks) (Hardcover)
Perfect for a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super christmas stocking filler, 15 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Marmite Cookbook (Storecupboard Cookbooks) (Hardcover)
for anyone who has a passion for marmite - this is the ideal must have christmas present. The interesting variety of recipes are suitable for all ages - the ideal student companion when the budget is low or just a good ideas book when someone turns up unexpectedly (as long as they like marmite).
This is more than a cook book - it is a coffee table book too, as it is filled with loads of facinating facts about marmite.
As the advert once said, you either love it or loathe it, and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 8 Feb 2010
By 
E. Downing (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marmite Cookbook (Storecupboard Cookbooks) (Hardcover)
Great gift for any marmite lover or just for yourself. Lots of old advertising images alongside the recipes which are quite nostalgic. However, some of the recipes are normal things just adding a dollop of marmite which u think well I could have thought of that myself. But all in all pretty good and fun to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 16 Jan 2011
By 
D. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marmite Cookbook (Storecupboard Cookbooks) (Hardcover)
Bought this for my partner who loves Marmite.. I hate it! Good lil book, lots of fun recipes for the Marmite lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even The Jar Is Unique!, 7 Sep 2008
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marmite Cookbook (Storecupboard Cookbooks) (Hardcover)
Yes, rather like plumber's always put the hot tap on the left as the standard for the blind, the Marmite jar is equally recognisable to the lovers of this 'goo' (as one of our reviewer's puts it!) who cannot see.
But this book is not only great for the recipes, it is also great for the old poster's and advert's reproduced therein which have appeared over the decades to publicise this amazing...yes...'goo'!
Some year's ago now, one of our daughter's past boyfriend's was in the kitchen watching me spread Marmite on toast. 'Fancy some?' I asked.
'No, thanks' he replied, shaking his head, 'don't like it!'
Then he added, for some obscure reason; 'it doesn't look very appealing to me.'
Curious, I asked; 'Haven't you ever tried it, then?'
'No!'
'So how can you say you don't like it?'
This is probably why they say you either love or hate Marmite. I think those whom say they don't like it have never actually tried it, and are frightened to JUST IN CASE THEY DO!
After a heart op and having to give up cigarettes, I found, as the tongue was the main receptor for the smoke when drawing on the cigarette, it still craved for the buzz of nicotine. Now, as I dare not light one up, I find both Marmite and strong tea gives the tongue that missing buzz, and helps keep the craving well away.
This book will not tell you that gem of knowledge, but there are dozens of great recipes for the Marmite lover herein, and the fan keen to own those old and really good advert's and poster's, it's pretty top-notch for those, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun book for Lovers and Haters alike!, 3 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Marmite Cookbook (Storecupboard Cookbooks) (Hardcover)
Contains genuine recipes that (speaking as a Marmite Lover) look delicious, for the most part. However, this is more of a fun read than an addition to your collection of 'serious' recipe books. Perfect as a gift to your Marmite loving or hating friends and family as it contains lots of interesting snippets of information on the history of the British icon. My Marmite hating wife was thrilled to receive it - at least that's what she says...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Marmite Cookbook, 15 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: The Marmite Cookbook (Storecupboard Cookbooks) (Hardcover)
The marmite cookbook is the best thing out this year. Fantastic fun and real brilliance in the menus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Marmite Cookbook, 16 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Marmite Cookbook (Storecupboard Cookbooks) (Hardcover)
An excellent book with lots of new ideas, I can't wait to try more of the recipes out. Finally someone has done something new & interesting with Marmite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Marmite Cookbook (Storecupboard Cookbooks)
The Marmite Cookbook (Storecupboard Cookbooks) by Paul Hartley (Hardcover - 17 Oct 2003)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews