Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for British jazz and blues fans
If you've not heard of Dick Heckstall-Smith, you're probably to young to remember the 70s band Colosseum. If you do remember them, this is a great book about the rise and fall of the band and the part that DHS played in it. Probably of more general interest, however, is the time DHS spent in the 60s, playing with Alexis Korner and Graham Bond at the same time as Jack...
Published on 5 Jan 2008 by Troggo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably one for the die hard fans
I love reading biographies and hearing anicdotes about the British Blues Boom in the '60s and was really looking forward to reading this one. On reflection, I think it's a book better suited to the die hard DHS fan than those of us with a more general interst in the period. There are lots of good insights into life with Graham Bond, John Mayall and Collesseum. There's...
Published on 7 July 2010 by TheHarv


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for British jazz and blues fans, 5 Jan 2008
This review is from: Blowing the Blues: A Personal History of the British Blues (Paperback)
If you've not heard of Dick Heckstall-Smith, you're probably to young to remember the 70s band Colosseum. If you do remember them, this is a great book about the rise and fall of the band and the part that DHS played in it. Probably of more general interest, however, is the time DHS spent in the 60s, playing with Alexis Korner and Graham Bond at the same time as Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker, and touring with Mayall's Bluesbreakers in the Mick Taylor era. There's a fascinating chapter on Graham Bond which is almost worth the price of the book by itself. The book also covers the problems of the jazz scene in Britain, which DHS was also active in. There's also a CD which contains unreleased material - it's jazz mostly, but with rock/blues overtones and some really great performances. If you're interested in how British blues/rock came to be, you couldn't do better than to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Alisdair Fleming "Al F" (Glasgow Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blowing the Blues: A Personal History of the British Blues (Paperback)
This is a great book and an excellent read for anyone interested in the British music scene of the 60's. Dick HS was a great instrumentalist and comes over as an honest and unpretentious bloke. The problem with this book is that it is in fact a reprint (and re-title) of DHSS autobiography "The Safest Place in the World". Now I really enjoyed this book when I bought and read it a number of years ago - so it was with some disappointment that I discovered that I had bought it again in this "revamped" version. Yes - there are some "extras" but it is basically exactly the same book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, 11 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. P. J. Whimster (Aberdeen , Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blowing the Blues: A Personal History of the British Blues (Paperback)
The burgeoning music scene in post war Britain , under the huge influences emanating from out of the West , was influenced by a relatively small number of men...and Dick Heckstall-Smith was one of them. A sympathetic tale of human relationships , post war economics and a love of music. As recommended by Amazon , buy all three - Ginger Baker's 'Hellraiser' and 'Jack Bruce Composing Himself: The Authorised Biography' by Harry Shapiro...it's how it all began for baby boomers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably one for the die hard fans, 7 July 2010
This review is from: Blowing the Blues: A Personal History of the British Blues (Paperback)
I love reading biographies and hearing anicdotes about the British Blues Boom in the '60s and was really looking forward to reading this one. On reflection, I think it's a book better suited to the die hard DHS fan than those of us with a more general interst in the period. There are lots of good insights into life with Graham Bond, John Mayall and Collesseum. There's quite a bit of good stuff about the politics in those groups and how they tore themselves to pieces at a time when music and personalities were highly volatile - usually because of extreme drug consumption. However, on the whole I found the book a bit of a bore. DHS's writing style leaves much to be desired and I can't for the life of me work out what benefit there was to be gained from his chapter on racism in music - other than to understand that he's not a racist, which is good of course. I think this is a book for those who are real die hard DHS fans - If you really love him, you'll love this book. Otherwise, I'd give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blowing the Blues, 20 Sep 2009
By 
Barry W. Klarnett "Bazza" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blowing the Blues: A Personal History of the British Blues (Paperback)
I read the original some years ago, "The Safest Place in the World", & this updated title with CD is just a great insight into the man, his music & being on the road in a band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD details, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blowing the Blues: A Personal History of the British Blues (Paperback)
There is an error in the description where it says the accompanying CD is 25 minutes long.

It is actually 65 minutes - and very good it is too.

Here are the details (with all tracks featuring DHS):
1 The DeLuxe Blues Band / Heatwave 4:10
2 Dick Heckstall-Smith / Aquamarine 10:47
3 Jon T-Bone Taylor's Bop Brothers / Try 5:36
4 DHSS / Il cinghiale 20:27
5 The Hamburg Blues Band / Woza Nasu 16:15
6 The Wentus Blues Band / Looking Back 4:38
7 The Graham Bond Organisation / Only Sixteen 3:20

Total time 65:15
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbaf798a0)

This product

Blowing the Blues: A Personal History of the British Blues
Blowing the Blues: A Personal History of the British Blues by Pete Grant (Paperback - 1 Mar 2004)
Used & New from: 15.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews