Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great designs for boys and girls, 30 Jun 2007
By 
Lectora (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Designs for Kids: Hand Knits and Things (Paperback)
Every time I buy or browse a knitting pattern book for children I complaint on how uninteresting looking are boy-geared pattern compared to girl's. This is nothing I can say about Ms. Guy's "Design for Kids" pattern collection.

One of the joys about this book is that boys patterns are fun and exciting to knit. Also, I found very useful that designs are classified by season, using a different yarn for each one: mohair for winter; a wool cotton mix for spring; cotton for summer and wool for fall. You may notice that the colour palette is somewhat limited, but this does not mean is boring at all. For every season there's a beautiful blanket to knit; lovely accesories: hats, scarves and bags; and toys. Another thing I liked, is that each piece of the patterns for toys are shown as they are in real life, not having to picture them in your mind (I'm very bad at that).

Finally the cute pictures by Francois Hall add a charming note to the book, making it a little more special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book for intermediate knitters, 18 Sep 2010
This review is from: Designs for Kids: Hand Knits and Things (Paperback)
This is a lovely book with gorgeous designs in it. I usually only find one or two patterns per book that I like but this one has lots. They are mainly for intermediate knitters upwards, as there is lots of intarsia work. In addition, be aware that the yarns used in this book have been discontinued (why do manufacturers do this?), so you will have to substitute others.

Definitely one to get if you want something a bit special to knit for a favourite child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great design in great book, 11 Feb 2006
This review is from: Designs for Kids: Hand Knits and Things (Paperback)
Not only are the designs quite different they are also presented in absolute unique way. A real treat with patterns for clothes, hats blankets and very nice unusual toy-animals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really cute patterns, 1 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Designs for Kids: Hand Knits and Things (Paperback)
Well written and charted. Heavily reliant on intarsia so if you don't like colourwork then walk away. My son just adores his digger sweater and he is a very fussy customer. Beautiful illustrations - just a joy to use!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great knitting book...., 2 April 2010
By 
J. Munns (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designs for Kids: Hand Knits and Things (Paperback)
Bought this as a pair with and so to bed knitting book by the same author. Not all patterns are for the beginner knitter but patterns easy to follow. Great books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designs for Kids: Hand Knits and Things (Paperback)
Fast delivery,perfect in everyway and just what I ordered.this will be great gift, if I can bear to part with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: Designs for Kids: Hand Knits and Things (Paperback)
This book has some lovely ideas , I love the mice especially - they are so sweet ! Lucinda Guy always hits the spot and her patterns are just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Designs for kids, 19 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designs for Kids: Hand Knits and Things (Paperback)
The patterns are easy to follow and have all turned out fine for me, and you know you'll get something that little bit different when you purchase one of lucinda guy's book, perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great desgins, 28 Aug 2007
This review is from: Designs for Kids: Hand Knits and Things (Paperback)
I have knitted one item from this book and I am now half way through my second item, and I love it. Not only is the book lovley to look at with some great illustrations, but the designs are really original too and don't look like your granny made them! One or two bits have been a bit tricky but the end results are outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of fun., 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Designs for Kids: Hand Knits and Things (Paperback)
I really love this book as it's so different and interesting to do. The Big Digger sweater is done so now I'm on the Happy Hen and hopefully my grandchildren will love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Designs for Kids: Hand Knits and Things
Designs for Kids: Hand Knits and Things by Lucinda Guy (Paperback - 9 Jun 2005)
Used & New from: 4.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews