Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Day Skipper!
I bought this book, along with the RYA: Navigation Handbook and Nigel Calder's How to Read a Nautical Chart: A Complete Guide to the Symbols, Abbreviations, and Data Displayed on Nautical Charts, to help with the chart portion of my Day Skipper course. While I've found the other two useful (particularly the RYA book), this is the book I would consider essential. Ms...
Published on 9 Jan. 2011 by E. Clough

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I hate it
crap
Published 7 months ago by janet cyster

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Day Skipper!, 9 Jan. 2011
By 
E. Clough (Newcastle-upon-Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Navigation...: A Newcomer's Guide (Paperback)
I bought this book, along with the RYA: Navigation Handbook and Nigel Calder's How to Read a Nautical Chart: A Complete Guide to the Symbols, Abbreviations, and Data Displayed on Nautical Charts, to help with the chart portion of my Day Skipper course. While I've found the other two useful (particularly the RYA book), this is the book I would consider essential. Ms Hopkinson writes clearly, the book is well laid out, so it is easy to find the information you're looking for--important words are in bold, and there are plenty of clear diagrams. Most importantly, she provides careful instructions for how to do each of the types of exercises you're expected to do in the DaySkipper course. If you are taking the course and miss a session, this proves absolutely invaluable. Books like the RYA Navigation Handbook provide lots of background theory and information, which I also found interesting and useful, but they are less helpful when it comes to doing exercises. I'm revising for my first exam right now, and I think this book is really going to prove to be worth its weight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good introduction, well laid out, 22 Nov. 2012
By 
John Brooke "Dr John the Day Tripper" (Reading, Berks, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Navigation...: A Newcomer's Guide (Paperback)
This is well written, nicely presented and has good, clear diagrams. The book is organised in a logical fashion and builds up on knowledge at each stage:

- it starts with how you identify or give a position using latitude and longitude or by range and bearing;
- then progresses to how you actually identify your position using GPS, by getting a fix using a chart and the bearings of external objects or by using dead reckoning and estimated positions taking tidal stream into account
- discusses tides, tidal heights and ranges, tide tables, tidal streams and the way in which chart information is presented relative to the state of the tide
- using all the information about identifying position and tides then moves onto how to plot and steer a course taking all of these factors into consideration
- explains the buoyage system and symbols on charts
- describes pilotage using this information
- passage planning
- finally discusses use of various electronic aids

This last (electronic aids) is potentially the downfall of these sorts of books, just because they evolve so fast nowadays - I bought a copy of the RYA: Navigation Handbook some years ago, which had quite a lot of space devoted to this and the devices described now look quite antiquated (no doubt there is now an updated edition, however). Hence I think that this book does the right thing, virtually relegating them to an appendix. In any case, it's important to be able to navigate without electronic aids, so the book does the right thing in leaving them largely till the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self Learning, 25 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Navigation...: A Newcomer's Guide (Paperback)
A beginners guide that is just that, it shows you what to do and how to do it. An invaluable tool in the armoury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Navigation...: A Newcomer's Guide (Paperback)
After looking at, borrowing and trying to find a book on navigation that explains the basics. This fits the bill. Was able to go through each stage and understand what was needed. Couldn't believe it. Would recommend this book to anyone who is having difficulty understanding the whole concept of navigation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and easy to follow - excellent, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Navigation...: A Newcomer's Guide (Paperback)
A have recently undertaken an RYA course in navigation. This book was invaluable - easy to follow and very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Navigation...: A Newcomer's Guide (Paperback)
I chose a 5 star rating, because the book is full of essential information, and written in plain English. a must for learning or brushing up on navigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 40 years ago, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Navigation...: A Newcomer's Guide (Paperback)
Times have changed so fast these days GPS & Potters, that going back to the start sometimes is best back to the stars navigation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where Seagulls Dare, 22 April 2012
This review is from: Navigation...: A Newcomer's Guide (Paperback)
If you want to brush up on your navigation knowledge this is a very good reference book. It is well laid out and easy to read and understand with a lot of helpful pictures and diagrams to aid understanding. Great for the beginner. Navigation...: A Newcomer's Guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good to have around, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very helpful - full of reminders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good info, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Navigation...: A Newcomer's Guide (Paperback)
there is good information in this, but i think you need a map to look at some of the things it comments on, the ones in the book just dont hit it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
     Navigation opens new browser window
  www.socialchoice.com/CarGPS   -   Find The Best Car, Truck & Bike GPS Navigation Deals. Top-Rated Models!

This product

Navigation...: A Newcomer's Guide
Navigation...: A Newcomer's Guide by Sara Hopkinson (Paperback - 30 Nov. 2005)
Used & New from: £12.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Navigation - A Newcomer's Guide
Navigation - A Newcomer's Guide by Sara Hopkinson (Paperback - 28 Feb. 2014)
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1)   
Buy new£10.99
In stock

Reeds Skipper's Handbook
Reeds Skipper's Handbook by Malcolm Pearson (Paperback - 16 Jun. 2010)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (124)   
Buy new£7.59
In stock

Understanding a Nautical Chart: A Practical Guide to Safe Navigation (Wiley Nautical)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3)   
Buy new£16.54
In stock