Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly informative, practical and easy to read
I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone interested in discovering and applying a proven, practical way of improving their posture. The author has an extremely rare gift of being able to write about a complex topic in a highly accessible way. The use of illustrations and case studies brings the ideas alive in a very engaging manner. The author's many years of...
Published on 20 Nov 2012 by Geo1

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish
this is not what you think it i, this book just explains about posture there are very few exercises or stretches in this book that will help with your posture, total rubbish
Published 7 months ago by keiron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly informative, practical and easy to read, 20 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone interested in discovering and applying a proven, practical way of improving their posture. The author has an extremely rare gift of being able to write about a complex topic in a highly accessible way. The use of illustrations and case studies brings the ideas alive in a very engaging manner. The author's many years of experience shine through as she challenges commonly held beliefs about posture. There is a clear progression through the book, introducing Alexander Technique principles and always relating these to real-life examples. This kept me on board with the theory so that once I got to Section 2 (Postural 5-a-day exercises), I was confident to put the ideas into practice. In my experience, books about the Alexander Technique tend to shy away from suggesting ways of working alone - apart from suggesting lying down. What really sets this book apart is the author's invitation to start applying Alexander thinking processes to a range of specially designed exercises to improve posture. I'm sure this is going to be one of those books I return to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
This book is based on the "Alexander Course" which my wife has been on and this book is well worth having as it includes and has extra exercises which has benefitted her a lot as she used to suffer from neck and shoulder pain but now it has eased quite a lot, overall it's a good book, interesting and informative, and well worth having
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Posture work book, 21 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
Hurrah. A book on Alexander Technique for the general public Most books are written for people who practice the technique already, which is great for them, but majority of the population don't even know what it is. Carolyn Nichols book informs and gives people practical advice on how to start applying the principles. She has given information to allow people to start to explore their own bodies, without it becoming overwhelming. I think the methods she has used to communicate the information are varied and helpful. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
What a breath of fresh air this book is! Easy to read and lots of great pics. What I found particularly helpful was how I could easily refer back to it. A very useful addition to the bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical guide, 18 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
I found this an excellent practical guide - well structured and intellligently organised. The illustrations are clear and easy to follow - the language conversational and without jargon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and effective self-help, 11 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
A great handbook for anyone wishing to understand and refine their posture. Grounded in the subtle yet practical ideas of the Alexander Technique it contains clear, well-written explanations of how our body works from the inside out. There are striking photos along with individual stories showing how the way we stand, sit and move can interfere with our natural internal support systems. A clear progression through the ideas leads to the postural '5-a-day' section which gives useful advice and postural exercises to explore - all of which can be carried out at home with no specialist equipment. As an Alexander Technique teacher I find this is an inspiring book to share with people seeking a 'self-help' approach to posture and well-being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 26 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
Carolyn has written an enjoyable, informative book on the Alexander Technique. She is a leading expert in her field and is excellent at explaining the various elements of body posture, breathing, pain management with the Alexander techniques. A clever lady, there is much to gain from reading this book. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
Very useful and clear workbook for beginners about posture's excercices!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful Handbook, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
Easy to understand with a good selection of simple actions which can be taken to improve one's posture, appearance, and mindset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent workbook for anyone having Alexander lessons, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
Been having Alexander lessons and borrowed this book from the library. I found it to be an excellent guide and vary useful between lessons and so bought my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews