Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly informative, practical and easy to read
I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone interested in discovering and applying a proven, practical way of improving their posture. The author has an extremely rare gift of being able to write about a complex topic in a highly accessible way. The use of illustrations and case studies brings the ideas alive in a very engaging manner. The author's many years of...
Published on 20 Nov. 2012 by Geo1

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish
this is not what you think it i, this book just explains about posture there are very few exercises or stretches in this book that will help with your posture, total rubbish
Published 14 months ago by keiron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly informative, practical and easy to read, 20 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone interested in discovering and applying a proven, practical way of improving their posture. The author has an extremely rare gift of being able to write about a complex topic in a highly accessible way. The use of illustrations and case studies brings the ideas alive in a very engaging manner. The author's many years of experience shine through as she challenges commonly held beliefs about posture. There is a clear progression through the book, introducing Alexander Technique principles and always relating these to real-life examples. This kept me on board with the theory so that once I got to Section 2 (Postural 5-a-day exercises), I was confident to put the ideas into practice. In my experience, books about the Alexander Technique tend to shy away from suggesting ways of working alone - apart from suggesting lying down. What really sets this book apart is the author's invitation to start applying Alexander thinking processes to a range of specially designed exercises to improve posture. I'm sure this is going to be one of those books I return to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Posture work book, 21 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
Hurrah. A book on Alexander Technique for the general public Most books are written for people who practice the technique already, which is great for them, but majority of the population don't even know what it is. Carolyn Nichols book informs and gives people practical advice on how to start applying the principles. She has given information to allow people to start to explore their own bodies, without it becoming overwhelming. I think the methods she has used to communicate the information are varied and helpful. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
This book is based on the "Alexander Course" which my wife has been on and this book is well worth having as it includes and has extra exercises which has benefitted her a lot as she used to suffer from neck and shoulder pain but now it has eased quite a lot, overall it's a good book, interesting and informative, and well worth having
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
What a breath of fresh air this book is! Easy to read and lots of great pics. What I found particularly helpful was how I could easily refer back to it. A very useful addition to the bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical guide, 18 Jun. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
I found this an excellent practical guide - well structured and intellligently organised. The illustrations are clear and easy to follow - the language conversational and without jargon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 31 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
Well written and informative on a subject that is increasing with our teenagers. I bought the book for my son who plays sport and wants to prevent injury by making sure his posture is correct.

Great book would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent workbook for anyone having Alexander lessons, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
Been having Alexander lessons and borrowed this book from the library. I found it to be an excellent guide and vary useful between lessons and so bought my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful Handbook, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
Easy to understand with a good selection of simple actions which can be taken to improve one's posture, appearance, and mindset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
Great book recommended by my spinal surgeon, well priced and fast delivery too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Presenting the Alexander Technique in a Fresh Way, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
The Posture Workbook can be used purely as a self-help book and the videos that are linked to it also expand our understanding of the Alexander Technique. However its most effective use may be when being read alongside taking Alexander Technique lessons, perhaps also in conjunction with another book by Carolyn Nicholls, 'Body Breath and Being' with its popular downloadable audio tracks. These two books engage the reader in an active process of self-discovery. They offer really good tools we can use to develop more understanding of how to bring about changes in ourselves and how the Alexander Technique can help us to do this.

The fact that Carolyn Nicholls calls Alexander Technique procedures 'exercises' in The Posture Workbook may seem confusing, as they are not the sort of exercises many people would expect! Rather they are procedures designed to develop our self-awareness, so that we can better understand our habits of posture and body-use and Nicholls describes them with straightforward English that avoids jargon, inviting the reader to explore new ways of thinking about our bodies.

The Posture Workbook presents the Alexander Technique in a fresh and engaging way and is a useful tool for people who just want to learn more about how to modify their posture - and it is also useful for Alexander teachers and their pupils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Posture Workbook: Free Yourself from Back, Neck and Shoulder Pain with the Alexander Technique
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews