Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended
This, in my opinion, is the best book you can find on the Alexander Technique. It's written with humour, and introduces the reader to the technique and how it can help them in their daily lives. There are many interesting examples and personal stories. Very easy to read, very practical and includes a CD which I downloaded onto my ipod for daily use, even when I'm away...
Published on 18 Jun. 2010 by SLoh

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A grave disappointment
I can't imagine why this book got such enthusiastic reviews. Reviewers of one other book, The Alexander Technique Manual by Richard Brennan, complained that it's like an Alexander Technique sales brochure. Actually, that book has vastly more practical advice and guidelines than this one, which is utterly dependent on the reader taking one-to-one lessons from an Alexander...
Published on 2 July 2012 by J. Lamede


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 18 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body, Breath and Being: A New Guide to the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
This, in my opinion, is the best book you can find on the Alexander Technique. It's written with humour, and introduces the reader to the technique and how it can help them in their daily lives. There are many interesting examples and personal stories. Very easy to read, very practical and includes a CD which I downloaded onto my ipod for daily use, even when I'm away from home. Finally a book on the AT that is modern and very accessible. I am an Alexander technique teacher and I recommend this book to all my pupils who want to read up a little on the technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self help book, 5 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body, Breath and Being: A New Guide to the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
As an Alexander Technique devotee I was recommended this book by an AT teacher and it is great. Simple explanations making the Alexander Technique more accessible to everyone. I would recommend it to anyone. There is something in this book for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Guide to the Alexander Technique, 1 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body, Breath and Being: A New Guide to the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for anyone wanting to try the AT for themselves at home, the instructions are clear and interesting, it has the added benefit of an audio CD included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable book for introducing the Alexander Technique, 4 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Body, Breath and Being: A New Guide to the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
I have been having Alexander Technique lessons since 2002 with great results, indeed one might even say life changing. However the journey has been somewhat challenging, not least of all because some of the simple concepts that the technique relies upon are difficult to put into words, which for me lead to quite some frustration. This book really helps to explain some of the techniques and procedures in a way which I would have found very useful had it been available to me early on. I think it is a very useful and practical guide for anyone who is becoming interested in the technique - and for people like me who have been involved for some time it has some very accessible and relevant things to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 31 Oct. 2011
By 
CE JONES (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body, Breath and Being: A New Guide to the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
I bought this book whilst recovering from spinal surgery and found it invaluable. It's very accessible and thought provoking. Written with great knowledge but also gentleness, it's a life manual as much as an introduction to the alexander technique. It has helped me find a new way to be in my body as well alleviating post-surgical depression. I would recommend it unreservedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A grave disappointment, 2 July 2012
By 
J. Lamede "jlamede" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body, Breath and Being: A New Guide to the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
I can't imagine why this book got such enthusiastic reviews. Reviewers of one other book, The Alexander Technique Manual by Richard Brennan, complained that it's like an Alexander Technique sales brochure. Actually, that book has vastly more practical advice and guidelines than this one, which is utterly dependent on the reader taking one-to-one lessons from an Alexander Technique practitioner. The text is good for spiritual and theoretical guidance, but woefully thin on actual, helpful exercises. And the attached CD is a disaster. Delivered in an affectless, off-putting voice by the author's daughter, who has not been given any training in proper mike technique and is very poorly recorded, much too close up, so that the poor voice quality and the multiple plosives make the thing almost unlistenable. Worse, the so-called recorded 'workshops' are badly written and emphatically do not expand on the written text. Thumbs down on this one! Teach Yourself Alexander Technique by Richard Craze is the most helpful book I've come across to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best introductions on how good the Alexander Technique can be, 14 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body, Breath and Being: A New Guide to the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
One of the thngs that is so impressive about this book is that everything is explained so clearly. There is no mumbo jumbo. Different chapters explain how the body should function when carrying out various daily activities, and how it so often fails to function as it should.

The author describes what ways of thinking might be useful to deal with such problems. She describes how such thoughts might be combined with actions to produce an improved result.

For example there is a whole chapter about sitting, which is rather useful for people who subject their bodies to considerable strain by slumping in front of a computer for hours on end and then go home to slump in front of a TV for another few hours.

At the end of each chapter there are suggested exercises which combine thought and action for readers to practise, which will give them some idea about how the Alexander Technique might be useful to them.

The photos (lots of them) are outstanding and the CD, enclosed in the book giving audio guidance neatly complements the clear explanations in the book.

And what a great cover photo!

All in all an exceptional introduction to the benefits of the Alexander Technique for the interested reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally readable, extremely enlightening, 23 Sept. 2008
By 
Paul T "PT" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body, Breath and Being: A New Guide to the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
I am new to Alexander Technique but have been interested in it for some time now. This book is written so conversantly and is appealing at so many levels. I am now convinced to take up AT especially with the current buzz arising from the researches and articles published by the British Medical Journal about the benefits of learning AT. The cover of the book looks great!! Who is she?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Body, Breath and Being, 14 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Body, Breath and Being: A New Guide to the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
This is a welcome addition to books on The Alexander Technique. It's a great book with clear illustrations for the novice, and even has a CD to help with your understanding. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Alexander Technique book for the 21st century, 28 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Body, Breath and Being: A New Guide to the Alexander Technique (Paperback)
A modern and accessible book for beginners, teachers of the technique, or anyone wishing to deepen their understanding of how our physical coordination and general wellbeing are connected. Clarity of writing and great photos demystify what could be abstract concepts in the principles and practice of the technique, and there is an excellent audio CD included. The author distills her formidable knowledge and understanding from over 25 years teaching into clear and practical language and presents informative and interesting case studies. Anyone wanting to understand and learn more about their posture and coordination - or why HOW we go about standing, sitting or moving matters - should read this book. It gave me insight into my own back pain, and how to manage and lessen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Body, Breath and Being: A New Guide to the Alexander Technique
Body, Breath and Being: A New Guide to the Alexander Technique by Carolyn Nicholls (Paperback - 30 Sept. 2008)
Used & New from: £8.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews