Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superlative Account of Super Humans., 25 Jan 2011
By 
P. WILLIAMS "huggy bear" (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Lighthouses of Britain (Hardcover)
The very first time I read this book was when I saw it in the local library nearly 25 years ago, it was much smaller in size and more compact BUT the effect it had on me then was the same as all these years later? I had a job to put it down once I started reading it, so well did I find Christopher Nicholson knew his subject and so interesting did he make it when putting it into print.
I think the title I have given this review is not too over the top when you consider exactly WHAT these early architects,engineers and builders not only thought of and what plans they came-up with in order to make their dreams reality, having been asked by Trinity House, The Board of Trade or The Northern Lighthouse Board to put a "light" on a rock or reef in the middle of the most inhospitable seas on the earth but also when one considers the conditions they had to work in,the fact that for a lot of the time the work was being done purely by manual labour and that they had to work off-site a lot it is a wonder these life-saving granite miracles were ever completed!
Thanks to the names Winstanley, Smeaton, the Stevensons, Walker and Douglass and all the men that helped them from the late 1690's onwards serious efforts were made to assist shipping around the coasts of Great Britain and to save them from rough seas, unlit rocks,sunken reefs and wreckers.Not all were successful, some were washed away? This fascinating book tells the facts AND tales of how the lighthouses were put together? How some caught fire and the keepers found themselves holding on the rocks for grim-life? How keepers at one lighthouse "simply disappeared" never to be seen again - meals left on the table?
An exceptional read on the subject of pharology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mind Boggling Rock Lighthouses, 8 Nov 2007
This review is from: Rock Lighthouses of Britain (Hardcover)
My only complaint is that this book could be longer and more detailed. It just touches on some of the earlier attempts before rounding on the rock lighthouses around the British Isles.

It's just mind boggling that people managed to build these granite structures on some of Earth's most inhospitable bits of rock.

With waves often pounding, moving and sometimes washing away the parts they managed to land, these architects and builders just kept trying, eventually completing these structures that could withstand some of Earth's greatest forces and saving countless lives.

These brief stories are quite inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 27 April 2010
By 
Kevin Lawlor (Carlisle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Lighthouses of Britain (Hardcover)
As a sea-kayaker, I have a rather romantic attraction towards these monolithic guardians. This book doesn't set out to be a definitive text on lighthouse design and construction, but rather supplies a mixture of old and new photographs, line drawings, maps and first-hand accounts. I found the balance just right: well-researched, well-written and well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Lighthouses of Britain (Hardcover)
This is one of my favourite lighthouse books. Absolutely wonderful. You can pore over it time and time again. History of each featured lighthouse. I would wholly recommend. ***** stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Lighthouses of Britain, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Lighthouses of Britain (Hardcover)
I am so sorry to have taken sooooo long in reviewing, but have been really ill with the Virus!!!! The book is great, as was the rapid delivery, and safe packaging, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 1 Jan 2013
By 
Harvey Washbrook "Harvs" (Stockholm) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Lighthouses of Britain (Hardcover)
This was a present for my father. He has limited space and does not keep unwanted items so i am pleased that this book has remained in his collection. He has read it from cover to cover and i have also read most of it. The pictures are great and the text is well thought out. Very interesting...if you like lighthouses of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock Lighthouses of Britain (Hardcover)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock Lighthouses of Britain
Rock Lighthouses of Britain by Christopher Nicholson (Hardcover - 27 Sep 2006)
Used & New from: £7.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews