Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect stocking filler!
This is a cracking good read. I thought I knew most of the famous sledges but there are so many more in here. With England locking horns with Australia at the moment it's the perfect time to give those dastardly Aussies some verbal! Would be a great Christmas gift for any fan of the game, and those who just like general abuse!
Published on 2 Dec 2006 by Gorgeous

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
A stunningly awful book written by a man with no feel for the game. There is nothing between the covers that you haven't heard/read before. Save your money.
Published on 13 Dec 2009 by Mr. Ar Airey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect stocking filler!, 2 Dec 2006
This is a cracking good read. I thought I knew most of the famous sledges but there are so many more in here. With England locking horns with Australia at the moment it's the perfect time to give those dastardly Aussies some verbal! Would be a great Christmas gift for any fan of the game, and those who just like general abuse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never more perfect timing!, 3 Aug 2007
By 
Seamus (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
The recent Test series between England and India has really
highlighted sledging's impact on the game. Some of the England players
reportedly ribbed one of the Indians over his weight (and his team's
propensity to get extra shine on the ball using the old jellybean-infused-saliva trick!) and the series became all the more interesting as a result.
Then you have the crowd throwing the sweets onto the outfield to stir
the pot, so even the fans get a go! This book serves a timely reminder that it's never just about the cricket. Enjoy the best sledges and their counters from the game's history, but do watch out for the occasional four letter word - it can get a bit fruity! Richly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 13 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Ar Airey "tony airey" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A stunningly awful book written by a man with no feel for the game. There is nothing between the covers that you haven't heard/read before. Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good, very happy with my purchase, very funny book and I can't wait until cricket season now to test some out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ten out of ten!, 25 Aug 2011
By 
T. Jenkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the perfect pressie for all you cricket bonkers fans. England have just thrashed India and are number one in the world so there's no better time to give everyone else some much deserved abuse. Bring on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bring on a summer of sledging!, 17 Jun 2011
The subtle art of initiating mental disintegration has taken a backseat since the Ashes tour last winter but it's now time to revive the practice to see off the Sri Lankans and then the Indians over this (hopefully) glorious summer. Keep an eye out for the upcoming e-book and a revised edition that promise to deliver even more (un)sporting insults. Inifinitely better than 'Why are you so fat?' (Watch the language in front of the youngsters though...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 9 Mar 2011
I bought this book during the Ashes when we were all gripped by 'Cricket Fever' and I certainly have not tired of it. I've really enjoyed it, it's laugh out loud and jam packed with great one-liners. I have seen other sledging books but this is by far the best. Well written, informative and fun. Buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The funny side of Cricket, 26 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you don't know what sledging is, it's the sarcastic and often funny comments that cricketers use to try to put off the opposing players. Even if you don't really like cricket I would recommend this just as a great read and I pretty much guarantee that it will seriously make you laugh out loud at some of the antics of players in this gentlemans sport
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Sledging books, 28 Nov 2011
By 
Cm Dfms Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There has been a rash of sledging books over the past few years. Obviously there is a certain amount of common content as many of the sledges are classics. This was the first book and it has clearly been successful, having been reprinted two or three times since it was first published in 2006. I feel some of the other reviews are a little harsh: you can't really expect lots of fresh content. Half the pleasure of this sort of book is the fun of seeing a lot of familiar material brought together. It's a bonus to see a few new ones and I am looking forward to the revised edition coming out next year, which does promise some fresh material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 25 Aug 2011
A few old stories connected by some dire writing - Can't believe i bought it. Not a single story i haven't heard before.
Awful book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sledger's Handbook, The: Revised & Expanded (Facts Figures & Fun)
£2.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews