Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars16
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2006
This is a cracking good read. I thought I knew most of the famous sledges but there are so many more in here. With England locking horns with Australia at the moment it's the perfect time to give those dastardly Aussies some verbal! Would be a great Christmas gift for any fan of the game, and those who just like general abuse!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2007
The recent Test series between England and India has really
highlighted sledging's impact on the game. Some of the England players
reportedly ribbed one of the Indians over his weight (and his team's
propensity to get extra shine on the ball using the old jellybean-infused-saliva trick!) and the series became all the more interesting as a result.
Then you have the crowd throwing the sweets onto the outfield to stir
the pot, so even the fans get a go! This book serves a timely reminder that it's never just about the cricket. Enjoy the best sledges and their counters from the game's history, but do watch out for the occasional four letter word - it can get a bit fruity! Richly entertaining.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
The subtle art of initiating mental disintegration has taken a backseat since the Ashes tour last winter but it's now time to revive the practice to see off the Sri Lankans and then the Indians over this (hopefully) glorious summer. Keep an eye out for the upcoming e-book and a revised edition that promise to deliver even more (un)sporting insults. Inifinitely better than 'Why are you so fat?' (Watch the language in front of the youngsters though...)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2010
If you don't know what sledging is, it's the sarcastic and often funny comments that cricketers use to try to put off the opposing players. Even if you don't really like cricket I would recommend this just as a great read and I pretty much guarantee that it will seriously make you laugh out loud at some of the antics of players in this gentlemans sport
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2011
I bought this book during the Ashes when we were all gripped by 'Cricket Fever' and I certainly have not tired of it. I've really enjoyed it, it's laugh out loud and jam packed with great one-liners. I have seen other sledging books but this is by far the best. Well written, informative and fun. Buy it now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2009
A stunningly awful book written by a man with no feel for the game. There is nothing between the covers that you haven't heard/read before. Save your money.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2011
This is the perfect pressie for all you cricket bonkers fans. England have just thrashed India and are number one in the world so there's no better time to give everyone else some much deserved abuse. Bring on!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Good, very happy with my purchase, very funny book and I can't wait until cricket season now to test some out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
There has been a rash of sledging books over the past few years. Obviously there is a certain amount of common content as many of the sledges are classics. This was the first book and it has clearly been successful, having been reprinted two or three times since it was first published in 2006. I feel some of the other reviews are a little harsh: you can't really expect lots of fresh content. Half the pleasure of this sort of book is the fun of seeing a lot of familiar material brought together. It's a bonus to see a few new ones and I am looking forward to the revised edition coming out next year, which does promise some fresh material.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
I bought this book with a lot of excitement. It proved to be an ordinary book whcih could never make me laugh as most of the sledges are well known to cricket fans. Can't recommend this book to any cricket crazy guy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)