Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bite Sized Wisdom, 25 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. J. Winney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Not a Runner Bean... (Paperback)
I knew Mark through politics in the 80s, though I doubt he knew me. He just has the most fantastic ability to catch and then communicate ideas. I took this on holiday to read while the kids did their stuff in the pool. If you are (a) at all left wing and/or (b) at all interested in commedy this book is a must. Perfect holiday reading, but watch out if reading on the commute, you might be tempted to be a little to honest to the boss :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Perspective, 20 July 2010
By 
Ian Calderwood (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Not a Runner Bean... (Paperback)
It's easy to hear the author's voice, when you're reading this book. It's almost like having a comedy gig going on in your head. As ever with Mark Steel, you may not agree with his politics or opinions on everything but you'll be entertained and you'll probably come away with a few things to think about too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny!, 8 July 2010
This review is from: It's Not a Runner Bean... (Paperback)
I first came across Mark Steel when I saw him on Have I Got News For You. Since then I have seen him do standup, watched him on many tv quiz shows, read his blog and listened to his Radio 4 series Mark Steel's in Town. I have enjoyed every one of them, and his book was no different. It is an informative view of him going from pub gigs to entering the world of tv and radio.

I love it and would recommend it to anyone except Margaret Thatcher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good political satire, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Not a Runner Bean... (Paperback)
A bargain stocking filler for my son who likes the humour and left wing views of Mark Steel. He says the book is well written and still very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun read!, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Not a Runner Bean... (Paperback)
This book is about Steel's career as a comedian but of course is unapologetically left wing. Love Steel's sense of humour, it's funny, astute and humane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Not A Runner Bean, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Not a Runner Bean... (Paperback)
Like Mark Steel himself, this book is entertaining and fun.
It is difficult to argue with any of his opinions.
This is an excellent book to take on a journey or to
generally carry around and read when you have a spare five minutes;
since its' well written chapters are short.
It paints a vivid picture of life in the 1980s and 1990s
and our regional differences. It may be set in the past,
but it is still not 'dated'. I laughed out loud when reading it
and, as a northern,it is not something I do often.
This is a book to share and pass around,
I am keeping it to give to a close friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Mar 2013
By 
K. Scott "Astramoonicus" (Berkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's Not a Runner Bean... (Paperback)
Mark Steel should be required reading for everyone. He is funny and informative and has an ability to point out the absurdities of politicians of every party. An enlightening read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Not a Runner Bean...
It's Not a Runner Bean... by Mark Steel (Paperback - 30 Sep 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews