Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2011
Caroline Cooper and Lucy Whittington from the United Kingdom have compiled an easy to read book of practical marketing and training ideas that target smaller hotels, B&Bs and inns. The book offers balanced suggestions on both traditional and online marketing and receives excellent reviews from a range of hospitality professionals in its opening pages.

There are 11 chapters that flow well:
Chapter 1 addresses the traditional product, identifying your probable customer base
Chapter 2 provides the foundation of developing a marketing plan and defining your competitive difference
Chapter 3 reviews the fundamentals of what is essential in website development
Chapter 4 offers a range of communication and promotional ideas for both online and traditional marketing
Chapter 5 discusses the importance of establishing value in offerings
Chapters 6 and 10 identify specific action steps for maximizing online promotions and collaborations in technology
Chapters 7 and 9 review traditional marketing options and the need to present a "high touch" approach
Chapter 8 includes an overview on the importance of networking
The final chapter closes the loop with setting goals, creating the Hotel Success Plan and getting started

Their site @ hotelsuccesshandbook provides additional Success Tools and Tips

It is becoming more complicated to market and operate a smaller property and these two professionals have combined their background and experience to provide a a resource that delivers practical advice that one can use immediately.

As always, feedback or comments are welcome

John J Hogan
HospitalityEducators
HoganHospitality
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
this is an amazingly practical book. Do this, now do this, in that order. I have read other hospitality books which are more about general topics, or of stories from hotel workers of all levels. But this is small hotel, guesthouse, B&Bs, practical, adult, owners/managers guide. All of your questions will be answered whether you are already working in hospitality or still thinking about it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2012
If you're looking to set up a B&B or a hotel, this is a must! And I'm only on chapter 2 and it's fantastic. My highlighter pen will have been used to death with all the useful tips and valid points.
It is written in a manner that doesn't read like an instruction book but guides you and makes you think about which direction you want to go and how to get there.
I'm extremely impressed so far and can't recommend it enough. I'll let you know if it helps us achieve success!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
An excellent read so far. The authors set little tasks to complete at the end of each chapter so gives yourself a synopsis at the end of the book of things to do and be aware of.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
I found the book to be very basic, i've recently took up a managerial post in hospitality (No previous hospitality experience) and must say that even i found much of the book to be common business sense.

It took me around 45 minutes to skim through, although very clear and systematic points were very short and essentially lacked detail. I was looking for something to further my understanding and this only reaffirmed the understanding i already have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
Helpful, easy to follow book. Great to use daily as a source of referance.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
This may work as a primer for someone who genuinely has no clue about marketing their hotel/guesthouse (although in that case, I think it may not be all that useful because it doesn't go into great depth about why you would do something as it's assumed the reader would understand) but this is so general as to be very little use to anyone else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Great book. Highly informative and engaging. You can tell the writers do have experience in the field
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
A well written and informative book with the odd 'epiphany' in regards how you interpret your own business techniques & plans. Not so much a 'how to do it', but more of a 'this is how you work it out for yourself'.

Don't let this put you off though, there is some really useful information here, and if you work through the systems and plans in the book, you can only benefit in the long run.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
I found a few things useful but not the hotel handbook i was looking for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)