Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars practical owners/managers how-to book
this is an amazingly practical book. Do this, now do this, in that order. I have read other hospitality books which are more about general topics, or of stories from hotel workers of all levels. But this is small hotel, guesthouse, B&Bs, practical, adult, owners/managers guide. All of your questions will be answered whether you are already working in hospitality or still...
Published 19 months ago by Neal

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too general and vague
This may work as a primer for someone who genuinely has no clue about marketing their hotel/guesthouse (although in that case, I think it may not be all that useful because it doesn't go into great depth about why you would do something as it's assumed the reader would understand) but this is so general as to be very little use to anyone else.
Published 2 months ago by dot dot dot


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars practical owners/managers how-to book, 16 Mar 2013
By 
Neal (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Success Handbook - Practical Sales and Marketing Ideas, Actions, and Tips to Get Results for Your Small Hotel, B&b, or Guest Accommodation. (Paperback)
this is an amazingly practical book. Do this, now do this, in that order. I have read other hospitality books which are more about general topics, or of stories from hotel workers of all levels. But this is small hotel, guesthouse, B&Bs, practical, adult, owners/managers guide. All of your questions will be answered whether you are already working in hospitality or still thinking about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Primer of Marketing & Sales Tips for the Small Hotel, 21 Feb 2011
This review is from: Hotel Success Handbook - Practical Sales and Marketing Ideas, Actions, and Tips to Get Results for Your Small Hotel, B&b, or Guest Accommodation. (Paperback)
Caroline Cooper and Lucy Whittington from the United Kingdom have compiled an easy to read book of practical marketing and training ideas that target smaller hotels, B&Bs and inns. The book offers balanced suggestions on both traditional and online marketing and receives excellent reviews from a range of hospitality professionals in its opening pages.

There are 11 chapters that flow well:
Chapter 1 addresses the traditional product, identifying your probable customer base
Chapter 2 provides the foundation of developing a marketing plan and defining your competitive difference
Chapter 3 reviews the fundamentals of what is essential in website development
Chapter 4 offers a range of communication and promotional ideas for both online and traditional marketing
Chapter 5 discusses the importance of establishing value in offerings
Chapters 6 and 10 identify specific action steps for maximizing online promotions and collaborations in technology
Chapters 7 and 9 review traditional marketing options and the need to present a "high touch" approach
Chapter 8 includes an overview on the importance of networking
The final chapter closes the loop with setting goals, creating the Hotel Success Plan and getting started

Their site @ hotelsuccesshandbook provides additional Success Tools and Tips

It is becoming more complicated to market and operate a smaller property and these two professionals have combined their background and experience to provide a a resource that delivers practical advice that one can use immediately.

As always, feedback or comments are welcome

John J Hogan
HospitalityEducators
HoganHospitality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars handy hints and tips, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Success Handbook - Practical Sales and Marketing Ideas, Actions, and Tips to Get Results for Your Small Hotel, B&b, or Guest Accommodation. (Paperback)
An excellent read so far. The authors set little tasks to complete at the end of each chapter so gives yourself a synopsis at the end of the book of things to do and be aware of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great handbook for any budding hotelier, 18 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Hotel Success Handbook - Practical Sales and Marketing Ideas, Actions, and Tips to Get Results for Your Small Hotel, B&b, or Guest Accommodation. (Paperback)
If you're looking to set up a B&B or a hotel, this is a must! And I'm only on chapter 2 and it's fantastic. My highlighter pen will have been used to death with all the useful tips and valid points.
It is written in a manner that doesn't read like an instruction book but guides you and makes you think about which direction you want to go and how to get there.
I'm extremely impressed so far and can't recommend it enough. I'll let you know if it helps us achieve success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book, 10 Nov 2010
This review is from: Hotel Success Handbook - Practical Sales and Marketing Ideas, Actions, and Tips to Get Results for Your Small Hotel, B&b, or Guest Accommodation. (Paperback)
Helpful, easy to follow book. Great to use daily as a source of referance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too general and vague, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This may work as a primer for someone who genuinely has no clue about marketing their hotel/guesthouse (although in that case, I think it may not be all that useful because it doesn't go into great depth about why you would do something as it's assumed the reader would understand) but this is so general as to be very little use to anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money - Others seem more detailed., 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Success Handbook - Practical Sales and Marketing Ideas, Actions, and Tips to Get Results for Your Small Hotel, B&b, or Guest Accommodation. (Paperback)
I found the book to be very basic, i've recently took up a managerial post in hospitality (No previous hospitality experience) and must say that even i found much of the book to be common business sense.

It took me around 45 minutes to skim through, although very clear and systematic points were very short and essentially lacked detail. I was looking for something to further my understanding and this only reaffirmed the understanding i already have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful & Informative., 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written and informative book with the odd 'epiphany' in regards how you interpret your own business techniques & plans. Not so much a 'how to do it', but more of a 'this is how you work it out for yourself'.

Don't let this put you off though, there is some really useful information here, and if you work through the systems and plans in the book, you can only benefit in the long run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Sep 2014
By 
L. Lino (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Success Handbook - Practical Sales and Marketing Ideas, Actions, and Tips to Get Results for Your Small Hotel, B&b, or Guest Accommodation. (Paperback)
I found a few things useful but not the hotel handbook i was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
This review is from: Hotel Success Handbook - Practical Sales and Marketing Ideas, Actions, and Tips to Get Results for Your Small Hotel, B&b, or Guest Accommodation. (Paperback)
Thanks. very informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews