Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Version!
I bought the arden shakespeare version of A&C as a few people had recommended it. The play itself is very well set out and I found the notes at the bottom of each page particularly useful, (Im taking this for AS level). At the begininning of each act there is also a brief overview of what happens. It also includes notes at the front of the book.

Brilliant...
Published on 22 Jun 2008 by Ghost

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Antony and Cleopatra
I am reading this Shakespeare play as part of an Open University Module. Antony and Cleopatra concerns the relationship between the main protagonists but it also throws a light on the relationship between Egypt and Rome during the reign of Caesar Augustus. Unfortunately, this is the play that I've enjoyed the least,so far, perhaps it is the intense focus on the love...
Published on 16 April 2012 by Literary Girl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Version!, 22 Jun 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Antony and Cleopatra" (Arden Shakespeare.Third Series) (The Arden Shakespeare) (Paperback)
I bought the arden shakespeare version of A&C as a few people had recommended it. The play itself is very well set out and I found the notes at the bottom of each page particularly useful, (Im taking this for AS level). At the begininning of each act there is also a brief overview of what happens. It also includes notes at the front of the book.

Brilliant version and it is worth the extra money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Age cannot wither her, 25 Aug 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: "Antony and Cleopatra" (Arden Shakespeare.Third Series) (The Arden Shakespeare) (Paperback)
In the history of femme fatales, Cleopatra is still the queen -- she wasn't pretty, but she had charm, wit and power.

And she's the center of Shakespeare's "Antony and Cleopatra," a play that follows the tragic affair between Cleopatra and her second high-profile Roman lover. The tragedy is undermined by the fact that Cleopatra and Antony aren't very likable people, but the story does have an empire-ending grandeur.

Mark Antony has been neglecting his duties as a Roman soldier ever since he fell in love with the Egyptian queen Cleopatra. But eventually Octavian calls him back to Rome, and Antony is even pressured into marrying Octavia's sister -- which unsurprisingly throws a wrench into his relationship with Cleopatra. She's only soothed by the assurances that Octavia is ugly.

In the meantime, tensions between the Romans and the increasingly Egyptophilic Antony are getting worse, until finally they break into full-out war -- despite the prophecy that Antony will lose if he fights Octavian. And the tempestuous love between Cleopatra and Antony takes a terrible turn as Egypt is about to fall...

"Antony and Cleopatra" is sort of a sequel to "Julius Caesar," and it's also half epic romance and half tragedy. On one hand, it's all about the passionate, stormy love affair between Antony and Cleopatra; on the other, it's also about the final crash of an empire that had endured for thousands of years, and its last monarch.

Shakespeare manages to fill the story with a sense of epic grandeur, and his writing really gets across that these conflicts and people are deeply important. Aside from the famous "Age cannot wither her, nor custom stale/her infinite variety" speech, there's a lot of powerful writing in here, particularly the climactic scene between Cleopatra and her maidservants.

The biggest drawback of the play is... well, Antony and Cleopatra are pretty nasty people. Antony is no longer the heroic Roman soldier of "Julius Caesar," and Cleopatra throws bratty tantrums and spreads false rumors to keep her boyfriend in love with her. They're a little like A-list celebrities -- they're weirdly fascinating, but you wouldn't want them as friends.

"Antony and Cleopatra" is a grand, engaging epic about how a love affair helped bring down the last remnants of an empire, and its nasty characters don't stop it from being fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Antony and Cleopatra" (Arden Shakespeare.Third Series) (The Arden Shakespeare) (Paperback)
I'm currently studying Antony and Cleopatra for AS and this book has really helped me understand certain parts of the play. I've used it throughout my studying, coursework and in class - it does have great information about the history of Antony and Cleopatra as well as the history of Shakespeare's play writing.

The pages are good quality, making it easy to write notes on if needed - I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Antony and Cleopatra" (Arden Shakespeare.Third Series) (The Arden Shakespeare) (Paperback)
A third book chosen for my son's A Level English and again he chose well having very much enjoyed the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly powerful, 23 May 2003
This review is from: "Antony and Cleopatra" (Arden Shakespeare.Third Series) (The Arden Shakespeare) (Paperback)
To me, "Antony and Cleopatra" is up there with "Hamlet", "King Lear" and "As You Like It" at the peak of achievement. As a meditation on age, perception vs. reality and obsession it cannot be beaten, and the force and beauty of the writing (if you haven't read or heard Enobarbus' "The barge she sat in..." speech, then you have no idea how astounding our langauge is) is unparalleled. Do read it: it is simply magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Antony and Cleopatra" (Arden Shakespeare.Third Series) (The Arden Shakespeare) (Paperback)
Very very good copy for my daughters a level studies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Antony and Cleopatra" (Arden Shakespeare.Third Series) (The Arden Shakespeare) (Paperback)
quick delivery, got book for my daughter's study
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Antony and Cleopatra" (Arden Shakespeare.Third Series) (The Arden Shakespeare) (Paperback)
Excellent book used for daughter's A'levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Antony and Cleopatra, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Antony and Cleopatra" (Arden Shakespeare.Third Series) (The Arden Shakespeare) (Paperback)
I am reading this Shakespeare play as part of an Open University Module. Antony and Cleopatra concerns the relationship between the main protagonists but it also throws a light on the relationship between Egypt and Rome during the reign of Caesar Augustus. Unfortunately, this is the play that I've enjoyed the least,so far, perhaps it is the intense focus on the love relationship between Antony and Cleopatra that is the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Covered in writing, 24 Oct 2010
This review is from: "Antony and Cleopatra" (Arden Shakespeare.Third Series) (The Arden Shakespeare) (Paperback)
I received the book promptly but it was covered in someone's notes - in biro. So much so that it interferes with the text and makes it hard to read. Not what you expect for a book in 'good' condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Antony and Cleopatra" (Arden Shakespeare.Third Series) (The Arden Shakespeare)
£8.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews