Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 15 Mar. 2009
By 
M. Cross "Eg Hed" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Paperback)
The best introduction to Alan Moore's inventiveness - bar none.

From the fully-realised humourous story of the science fiction poem 'Lobelia Cloam' to the man who lived life backwards to the school for super-villains, there is something for everyone here. Something, but in fact, quite a lot, if like me you have been hooked on comics and science fiction throughout adulthood.

As an example of a classic story uniquely realised, see the 'idea as contagion' storyline - a great theme exquisitely topped off by the twist at the end of the tale. If this were personalised it would be a great storyline for movie or book.

'Lobelia Cloam' shows the same mastery. Be thinking 'Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy', as a poem. The closest example I can think of is John Cooper Clarke's 'I Married a Monster from Outer Space' (with that all-time great put-down, when C-C observes the small-minded onlooker: "It's bad enough with another race - but fook me! a monster from outer space!")

School for Supervillains is a similarly well-executed nice idea. You've got to wonder about where those endless lackey's come from that are the essential cannon-fodder at the villain's island fortress. Well, here's the recruitment advertisement for them: good pay; excellent prospects; must have own insurance.

The most subversive story is the Man who Lives his Life Backwards. Again, another blockbuster theme explored simply and economically to leave an indelible memory. The theme is explored elsewhere by eg Harlan Ellison as thriller but not as here. It is difficult to see this story working as well in anything other than the graphic medium.

The only disappointment is the book cover. What on earth were they thinking with a (cheap) detective inference? For my money, this collection beats Watchmen and Swamp Thing and V - the last thing it needs is unederrating...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp, succinct, inventive and witty, 15 Aug. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Paperback)
Some of Alan Moore's earliest work, this is a collection of - mostly - unconnected short stories published in "2000AD" in the early 1980's. Considering their age, they remain remarkably fresh and inventive, with flashes of dark humour. What sets these tales out from his later work is a certain economy of style; in a few pages Moore can make readers laugh whilst prompting some quite profound questions in their minds.
Thoroughly recommended - if only as light relief whilst working through the "Travellers Almanac" in volume 2 of the LoEG!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 29 May 2007
By 
B. Massey "George" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Paperback)
This is one of the most enjoyable reading experiences I've ever had, and that goes for any kind of reading. Be it novel, graphic novel, anime etc, this for me has stood out as being a genre at its best. The science fiction is intelligently explored, while maintaining a consistent level of humor. I've read Watchmen, V for Vendetta and The league of extraordinary Gentlemen, and this is worthy of being on a shelf next to them.

Even if you don't like Alan Moore, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thargs Nostalgia Shocks, 14 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Paperback)
For me this is all our yesterdays - before the name Alan Moore was of significance. I just absorbed all of the familiar sights and sounds of my 2000 A.D. youth - and recognised a few story lines I have come back to see elsewhere.

I don't know if it's an essential look at the author's early work or a key stone to any Moore collection, but it is fun with some great and some quaint and cheesy old sci-fi stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and Thought Provoking, 30 Dec. 2006
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Paperback)
When I first saw this, I thought that it would be interesting, as it was by the great and mighty Alan Moore, creator of such works as "V for Vendetta", "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen" and "Watchmen". But when I realised that this was some of his earliest work, when he wrote for the small UK comic 2000ad, I thought it might be fairly poor. Then I read it. While each story in this is rarely over two pages long, and they all end in a twist, they are amusing and incredibly thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best comic book I ever read., 27 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Paperback)
Well I never ever ever do reviews I'm just your average internet lurker. So it must really be an extraordinary work to get me off my bottom and extoll the virtues of this book. If you love twilight zone then you will love this book. Each and evey story is a gem and I have just ordered this for a friend. Do yourself a favor and buy this NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inventive, 30 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Paperback)
An entertaining collection of very short stories with a twist in them.
Virtually all of them are funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for everyone!, 6 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Paperback)
This and Watchmen are my favorite graphic novels, both of course by Alan Moore. This is a series of sci-fi short stories with fantastic artwork and storylines. A really enjoyable read I think it is a must for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Moore, knows the score!!, 30 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Paperback)
This is a great compilation of stories from an amazing writer. All his work is very enjoyable to read, watchmen being the most talked about. Read and Enjoy this, I did and will again... :c)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks
The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks by Alan Moore (Paperback - 5 May 2006)
Used & New from: £2.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews