Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And here's where it really got good...
Whereas the continuity of the first Dredd Case Files collection was very slap-dash, here we start to get a lot of much-needed history and backstory for Dredd's world, establishing why the Judges came about, how their world became like it is, what surrounds the city, etc. In short, Dredd's world finally feels three-dimensional and fully-realised, and is much the better for...
Published on 13 July 2006 by Dark Jimbo

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not good on Nexus 7
This review is about the product rather than the content - which of course is great.
The sub £2 price tempted me to try this on Kindle for my Nexus 7.
Bit disappointing really. Tiny text. And the option to zoom on individual panels is very slow. So not a great reading experience and I won't be repeating it for other Dredd titles going cheap.
Might be better...
Published 23 months ago by Ben P


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And here's where it really got good..., 13 July 2006
By 
Dark Jimbo (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Whereas the continuity of the first Dredd Case Files collection was very slap-dash, here we start to get a lot of much-needed history and backstory for Dredd's world, establishing why the Judges came about, how their world became like it is, what surrounds the city, etc. In short, Dredd's world finally feels three-dimensional and fully-realised, and is much the better for it.

The bulk of the book is taken up by Dredd's first two epics, and this creates a far more stable line-up of creators (only two writers, for instance) that again give the adventures a more coherent voice and feel. The first tale, Pat Mills' The Cursed Earth, is absolutely manic - mutants, tyrannosuars, vampires, aliens, punk bikers, vengeful robot armies and gambling-obsessed mafia judges all throw themselves at Dredd in a roaring blood and guts epic that never lets up once. By the time you get to the base-under-seige ending, you'll actually be breathless, I guarantee it. John Wagner's The Day the Law Died slows things down (but only a little) and lets a raving maniac take complete power of Mega-city One. The results are too brilliantly mad-cap to go into here, but the wonderful satire and black humour in this tale mean the more unstable line-up of artists doesn't really matter. It's worth it anyway just to see a goldfish become Deputy Chief Judge.

As for the art - Mike McMahon and Brian Bolland are of course the stars, dominating the book as they do, McMahon's sometimes scratchy-looking art still conveying a madcap energy and glee at working on such stories, and Bolland producing some of the most intricate, detailed, well-handled art in comics. An essential purchase, containing classic Dredd tales only possibly bettered by what's to come in Books 4 and 5...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not good on Nexus 7, 29 May 2013
By 
Ben P (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is about the product rather than the content - which of course is great.
The sub £2 price tempted me to try this on Kindle for my Nexus 7.
Bit disappointing really. Tiny text. And the option to zoom on individual panels is very slow. So not a great reading experience and I won't be repeating it for other Dredd titles going cheap.
Might be better on an iPad.

Wish I'd seen a review like this before buying it. Dredd deserves 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two great Judge Dredd epics., 11 Sept. 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Whilst the first volume of The Complete Case Files is made up almost completely of short stories this volume presents us with two Judge Dredd epics, and possibly the best epics ever written about Dredd.
This volume kicks off straight away with "The Cursed Earth". The story takes up nearly half of the book and charts Dredd's mission to go from Mega City 1 (New York) to take a vaccine which is killing all the inhabitants of Mega City 2 (Los Angeles). Superb writing and artwork has made this story a Dredd classic and should not be missed.

Following directly on from "The Cursed Earth" is "The Day The Law Died". This story takes up almost all of the remainder of the book and is on an equal par with "The Cursed Earth" in my opinion.

I deliberately have not gone into too much detail about the stories as I think it's best that you read and discover them for yourself. Suffice to say I think that volume 2 of The Complete Case Files is the best of the lot.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Case Files V. 2, or Dredd's trial by fire, 23 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
Whilst Dredd volume 1 was a compilation of mediocre short stories that did not really world build or provide any character development whatsoever, volume 2 is the exact opposite. What you have exactly here are the first two Dredd epics- The Cursed Earth and the Day the Law Died- collected (but not in their entirety- more on that later). Thrown in at the back are several short stories. Both epics are absolutely fantastic and some of the best comics I've ever read- whilst dated, the momentum never lets up and the ferocity is always there. Cursed Earth is particularly memorable for Dredd's pseudo sidekick, Spikes Harvey Rotten, a criminal motorcyclist turned anti-hero when offered a clean slate. Add to this the tragic character of the alien Tweak and you already have a memorable set of characters- however, their trek across the Cursed Earth is what really stands out, the challenges that they face vary and are always life-or-death. Tension is always high and Dredd is a total badass in every scene. Whilst he has little character development, the genius in his writing is more in his interaction with others. A down-point for some of this particular printing is that four chapters have been removed due to copyright disputes. I read these chapters online, at: [...], but honestly they add very little to the story and only the completist should pursue copies of them down. And just when the Cursed Earth saga is finished, and we think Dredd is going to get a rest- Judge Cal takes over Mega City One in a fascist dictatorship and Dredd must lead an underground resistance against the mad tyrant. Whilst ridiculous at times, the story is fantastic for it's satire of 20th Century history. Whilst I thought Cursed Earth was the true standout of this collection, the Day the Law Died is still great. Both showcase why Dredd is such a fantastic character and round him out nicely, unlike the first volume. For new readers, I would simply skip the first volume and read this volume- it serves as a much better introduction to Dredd's world than the first and is actually fantastic. Included at the end are a few short stories, which are good adventures but one does question their inclusion in this volume- the volume could only have been strengthened by their removal. They'd find a better home in volume three, which is actually very short. Nonetheless, volume 2 is a fantastic collection and a must read for any comics reader looking to break into British comics. Roll on to volume 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seminal Judge Dredd collection, 18 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
I'd bought this after purchasing the two digest format books containing the major stories in this volume, 'The Cursed Earth' and 'The Day The Law Died'.

This is my preferred format for the stories. Obviously, the pages are larger than the digests, and as a result it's a good deal easier to read and soak up all that lovely black and white artwork. But you also get a couple of extra, much shorter stories at the end of the volume, 'Punks Rule' and 'The DNA Man'. While neither is spectacular, their inclusion helps give this volume a more 'complete' feel.

What's great about this volume is, both stories are not only really good fun, but showcase some great talents. There's no Ian Gibson in this volume, unfortunately, but plenty of Mick McMahon and Brian Bolland. 'The Day The Law Died' also features some gorgeous chapters illustrated by Ron Smith, whose monochrome artwork from this era is always stunning to behold. There's also some curiosity value to be had here, seeing as Pat Mills writes a goodly chunk of the Cursed Earth story, with his creation Satanus the Tyrannosaur front and center for a while. And just check out the eerie similarity between the origin of Satanus and the premise of Jurassic Park!

Brilliant stuff, and while it isn't as varied a mix of stuff as the first volume, and is undeniably a product of its time, its clear in these stories that the strip is finding its feet and defining itself.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seen the movie? Want more Dredd?, 6 April 2013
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
This is a great place to start if you are new to Dredd. Volume 1 is OK, but it doesn't have the brilliant story telling volume 2 has. The two Dredd epics, "The Cursed Earth" and "The Day The Law Died" are legendary Dredd stories for a reason, and truly deserve the title of "epic". There is a lot of reivew time given to these, and rightly so, but don't overlook the shorter stories in the this volume. "Crime and Punishment" is an excellent prelude where Dredd takes on the ultimate enemy (I won't spoil it by saying who) and the stories near the end, "Punks Rule", "The Exo Men" and "The DNA Man" are Dredd getting back to the streets to deal with the perps in the only way he knows how. "Punks Rule" is a particular favourite of mine, with witty writing and Dredd using the infamous Hotshot mode on the Lawgiver.

If you want to start at the beginning, by all means start with Volume 1, but if you want to read a good selection of Dredd stories, then this and Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files v. 5 are probably the best you can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle software unusable for comic viewing, 2 Jan. 2014
Like other reviewers, love the content - but hate the medium for consuming it. Why can't we zoom in to any level of detail we want like other comic book reader apps? The single panel at a time method used by Kindle is cumbersome and spoils the whole experience. Do not recommend buying any Kindle versions of graphic novels until they fix this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Changing up a gear, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A third of the way into this volume is where Judge Dredd really starts.

The Cursed Earth saga, while an improvement over earlier efforts at telling an extended story, is still in the mould of the Luna 1 plot line, in that it is clearly just a series of episodes spun out until it is decided that its time to bring it to a conclusion. Not to say that it is without interest-- one of the least promising episodes, featuring a vampire robot, proves to be pivotal to the Dredd mythos with the first introduction of Chief Judge Fargo and President Bob Booth laying a deep vein of history that continues to be mined today.

But it's The Day the Law Died that really kicks things into gear. The first extended story in the classic mode, this has a clear narrative progression and is leagues ahead of anything that has gone before. There is a confidence on display from the writers to suggest that they no longer need to work at building up Dredd's world: it simply exists. Even though the readership at this point was still largely older children they are granted a respect that they no longer need everything spelled out for them.

There are flaws, of course. The kinks are still being worked out in the storytelling, which means the pacing is somewhat relentless and breakneck, and the speed at which Cal goes completely loopy is far more implausible reading the story in one go than it would have been in a weekly serialisation. And whilst the establishment of Judge Giant as a key supporting character is welcome, his sudden drift into jive vernacular is jarring, both in comparison to his earlier appearances and the knowledge that this is being written by a middle-aged white guy.

I'm surprised that within eighteen months so many of the key areas of Dredd have been established, including the the fully-realised environment, the barbed satirical jabs and black humour. The stabilisers are definitely off now, and with vol 3 and the Judge Child Quest, we really are into the golden age of Dredd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars know your history, 24 May 2006
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
As mentioned in other reviews here, by comparison with the artwork of todays beautifully rendered graphic novels this belongs to a different era.

But what an era!

If you are looking purely for the action (good though it is) you are missing half the point. Even today the writing and the satire is fresh and effective. The dark humour is as shocking now as it was then. When Dredd scrawls at the end of one memorable episode that sometimes the human race makes him sick, you know exactly where he is coming from. (in this particular case he has just rescued an alien, whose family has been murdered and taken into slavery).
Its a shame too that the Burger Wars episodes had to be left out due to copyright reasons (here was art sticking it to McDonalds and BK 25 years before Supersize Me).

Read it for reference, read it for history, read to fill in the gaps if you are already a fan or just read it because its brilliant. I don't think you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hitting it's stride., 8 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files, Vol. 2 (Paperback)
I'm an old fashioned kind of guy. I love comics from the sixties and seventies when the genre was a little less self aware but still full of brilliant and fresh ideas.
This series takes all the Judge Dredd stories in order and collects them into year by year books.
This is the second and has some great stories- basically

By this time, the series has settled into itself. There is less Britishness/ punk stuff that really gave the first volume a lot of style.

One of the strengths of this volume is also it's biggest let down. There are basically just two very long stories here. The Cursed Earth saga has plenty of variety and lots of great characters and ideas. The Judge Cal epic is a little repetative at times but is still has plenty of fun and brilliant ideas. The downside is that if neither story floats your boat, you've got a long wait before it changes.

Essential if you want to read Dredd from the start. I think the Cursed Earth saga is collected elsewhere so you may want to pick that up instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files, Vol. 2
Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files, Vol. 2 by Pat Mills (Paperback - 2 Feb. 2006)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews