Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2010
I purchased this book as part of a few other books on the topic to really dive into the intricate patterns I have seen adorning mosques and manuscripts. As a student of Arabic calligraphy my work was lacking the decoration and 'pomp' that the designs provide. The book is a good pocket reference to visualise and break apart some intricate designs that you must've already seen. On it's own it is a good read but requires a little bit of creativity and play on your part as there are some steps that are not clear. This is in no part due to the authors inadequacy but rather due to the limited space in the form the book is published.

I would strongly suggest you buy this book along with 'Islamic Geometric Patterns' by Eric Broug. His book has a more indepth step by step approach with a CD of templates. Referring to both books you will definitely learn alot about this amazing and precise artform based on simple geometry.

The only reason I give this a four is due to it not being a real beginners compendium for hands on work. But, rather an exploratory book that works well with other books you can purchase on Amazon about the same subject.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2009
This is a great little book for beginners and advanced readers as it takes you through the process of creating the patterns from simple to complex. It also shows many beautiful examples and explains the symbolic and theoretical background to some of the formations. Well worth it.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
An absolute bargain for all the content that is crammed into this superb little book. This gives you a fantastic overview of the different types of Islamic patterns as well as featuring some of the most popular ones. There are lots of pictures of designs including a few showing the construction lines. The book is primarily about geometric designs but does also includes a page on calligraphy and arabesque/islimi. It's a must for anyone interested in Islamic Pattern and Islamic Art.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
Good introduction to islamic design from a geometry point of view. Excellent if you want a concise pocket sized book, but the format is very small, and so some of the illustrations may lose some clarity. Illustrations are not in colour, which may not be suitable for some buyers. I think the books in this series would sell better if people could "look Inside"
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
Some interesting patterns, in this little compact book, however further explanation is needed for the reader to understand the technical nature of Islamic Design
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
I bought this as a gift for my friend, she finished iranian studies and she was very pleased of this book :)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
I bought this book as a present for an islamic colleague at work and he greatly appreciated it as it was a gift that was not that expensive but still recognised his heritage and was respectful in the way that the book was written.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2008
Shapes and Forms' paper and Qabalistic based Hermetic design against this work, there is no comparison. Daud Sutton is a born scholar who manages to introduce the dazzling complexity and subtlety of Islamic lineal shapes and forms with consummate ease. One of my favourite source works. --Steven Ashe
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2010
A wonderful little book that provides a lot of meaningful information (both textual and visual) on a small space. I recommend reading it with paper and pencil, or even a ruler and straight-edge, to get most out of it!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
It'a a beautiful little book, very clear typeset and clearly illustrated. A pleasure both to hold and to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)