Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight
A Hedgerow cookbook, what an absolutly fascinating insight to just what is available in the hedgerows of Britain,instead of queuing up at the long checkouts ,sucking in smokey ,smelly bodies, just take this book with you into the countryside, have a good healthy walk and aspire to pick JUST a FEW of any item in the book and try them out for yourselves, you will enjoy the...
Published on 27 May 2009 by robobob

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a cookbook to use everyday, but still a little gem
Just a small little book with seasonal recipes for jams, jellies, soups and suchlike from the hedgerow. These were intriguing in themselves, but the real wonder of this book are its wonderfull illustrations of nuts, plants and fungi in the style of woodcuts.
Published on 22 Oct. 2006 by Myrtle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight, 27 May 2009
This review is from: A Hedgerow Cookbook (Wooden Books Gift Book) (Paperback)
A Hedgerow cookbook, what an absolutly fascinating insight to just what is available in the hedgerows of Britain,instead of queuing up at the long checkouts ,sucking in smokey ,smelly bodies, just take this book with you into the countryside, have a good healthy walk and aspire to pick JUST a FEW of any item in the book and try them out for yourselves, you will enjoy the walk, it's a very satisfying benefit, and such good fun to identify the varied plantlife - a bonus is that you do really begin to understand the country side as well.Just go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a cookbook to use everyday, but still a little gem, 22 Oct. 2006
This review is from: A Hedgerow Cookbook (Wooden Books Gift Book) (Paperback)
Just a small little book with seasonal recipes for jams, jellies, soups and suchlike from the hedgerow. These were intriguing in themselves, but the real wonder of this book are its wonderfull illustrations of nuts, plants and fungi in the style of woodcuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Hedgerow cookbook, 18 Oct. 2010
This review is from: A Hedgerow Cookbook (Wooden Books Gift Book) (Paperback)
I was rather disappointed with this book. It was much smaller than I expected and didn't have many detailed recipes in it. It did however come up with some interesting ideas , like Hawthorn berry brandy, but without any detailed instruction..just a "follow the same theory as Sloe gin".
I had hoped for many more ideas than it gave.
The section on wild mushrooms had line drawings to aid recognition..I'm sorry, but I don't think I'd risk identification with these.
Hedgerow (River Cottage Handbook)Is better, and the "river cottage little handbook on jams" is far more useful if that is why you are scavenging from hegderows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet And Interesting, 26 Jan. 2014
By 
Henna (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Hedgerow Cookbook (Wooden Books Gift Book) (Paperback)
I love this little book. It's full of little insights, recipes and titbits to whet the hedgerow-foraging appetite. I'd recommend as a starter book, there's plenty in there, but if you catch the hedgerow 'bug', look out for more in-depth books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tiny little gem, 2 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Hedgerow Cookbook (Wooden Books Gift Book) (Paperback)
This is a lovely tiny little book which I bought multiple copies off to add to all my closest friends Christmas presents. It reminds you of the wonderful bounty under our feet and beside us on our walks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hedgerow produce what to do with it when you have got it., 29 Dec. 2009
By 
Michael Tierney (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Hedgerow Cookbook (Wooden Books Gift Book) (Paperback)
Although this book is well worth the money I did feel that there was a lack of detailed illustrations.
Illustrations are vital if you are to identify various plants and fungi.
Some of the recipes are very useful. Overall quite a good read.A useful addition to your bookshelf and a handy field guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book!, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Hedgerow Cookbook (Wooden Books Gift Book) (Paperback)
Really handy little book. Excellent recipes for foraged food, great to take on walks wherever you go - this whole series of books seems good, i have just purchased the shelters book and that too is indespensible for an outdoor lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good old fashioned style booklet, 31 Mar. 2011
This review is from: A Hedgerow Cookbook (Wooden Books Gift Book) (Paperback)
A handy size booklet to slip inside bag whilst out walking the fields, with informative drawings to aid notification of plants. Recipies good too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Hedgerow Cookbook (Wooden Books Gift Book) (Paperback)
Better illustrations would help me identify things easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
This review is from: A Hedgerow Cookbook (Wooden Books Gift Book) (Paperback)
Very useful and informative book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Hedgerow Cookbook (Wooden Books Gift Book)
A Hedgerow Cookbook (Wooden Books Gift Book) by Glennie Kindred (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2000)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews