Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from the older audience
I am in my late 30s and read Twilight because I had heard good things and the hype of the movie was good. I enjoyed it immensely and was drawn in by the love story and taken back to my high school days. I became a bit pathetic and moped around for a few days when I had finished the book...simply because I wanted to read more.

Wanting more and itching to read...
Published on 29 Jan. 2009 by Jules G

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow narrative but an emotional and deeper book
The second book in the Twilight saga covers the pain Bella goes through when Edward decides to leave and how she bonds with Jacob while trying to get over her heart break.

Again, Meyer does a great job in portraying how it feels to lose someone you're madly in love with. The sensation of loss, emptiness, the hole in your chest, the difficulty to breath, the...
Published on 27 Jun. 2009 by A. Guimaraes


‹ Previous | 1 2 391 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A gaping hole in the middle, 3 April 2008
This review is from: New Moon: 2 (Twilight Saga) (Paperback)
I was very excited to see that there was a sequel to Meyer's debut. Twilight did have its faults, but it was light and the romance was refreshingly well written.

And let's face it, I fell in love with Edward just like the rest of us. He's beautiful and frightening at the same time and those of you who have a problem with Bella's continued amazement of his physical appearance: aren't we all shallow enough that we'd like our significant other to look that way? What's wrong with a little fantasy?

With New Moon, the light tone and Bella's sarcastic narrative changed into something dark and hollow. Bella's situation takes a sudden and drastic plunge for the worse: An incident at the Cullen house leaves Edward so shaken he decides to follow through on his promise to "do what's best for her." In this case it means he and his family leave Forks and with that: Bella.

Bella goes to pieces, turning into a shadow of her former self. Edwards absence literally leaves a hole in her chest --and in the book. It's like he was never there; he removed all evidence of his excistence from her, in a vain ettempt to force her to get on with her human life. It's the sadness, more than anything else that drains the book.

This is a story about people so in love with eachtother, their separation nearly destroys them both. New Moon is the 500 paged gap in their chest.

Then Jacob enters the plot. Their friendship takes the front seat --obviously an attempt by Meyer to fill the void Edward's departure caused. Thanks to his company, Bella slowly but surely becomes "alive" again. But ofcourse, her newfound best friend turns out not to be so human after all...

If you've read Helly Armstrong's "Bitten" you'll pick up the clues about what's going on with Jacob soon enough --and you'll become impatient because Bella doesn't catch on as quick. Meyer tried to create a effect similar to Twilight: now Jacob becomes the mysterious boy who isn't quite what he seems beneath the surface.

It's predictable, but I would be able to live with it he held the same amount of attraction Edward did. Instead, I'm having deja vu's all the time: (the "it's not safe for me to be near you" spiel starts all over again.) Jacob had potential, but it would've worked better if Meyer would've made him a completely different character. She did-- in the beginning. After "the change" it's Edward all over again, minus the velvet voice, the angeletic face and the smoldering eyes. He just doesn't have that -well what should I call it- pull. To add to the "fun:" he hates vampires. What a surprise.

Just when some some supporting characters are fleshed out, Edward is back in the story. I missed him so much I didn't even care it felt forced. But it wasn't the same.

Bottomline, New Moon isn't a bad sequel, but it doesn't have that freshness Twilight had. Bella's bordering on insanity and so insecure about herself I'd like to smack her head and tell her to grow up. Still, unlike some readers, I don't think she lost all her appeal as a main character. There's hope left. Hope that Eclipse will close the void New Moon created but could not close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 78 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Emo woe squared, 16 Jan. 2009
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New Moon: 2 (Twilight Saga) (Paperback)
It is official -- Stephanie Meyer is the oldest emo teenage girl on the face of this planet.

How else could she have written a book like "New Moon," the second sparkle-vampire romance in her bestselling Twilight series? Unfortunately this is no deep and intense romance -- it's basically a big oozing lump of teenage melodrama and horrendously purple prose. And the resolutely obnoxious heroine Bella Swan doesn't help with her endless moaning.

Bella's whether-you-like-it-or-not birthday party is wrecked when she cuts herself and prompts Jasper into a feeding frenzy, and the Cullens realize that she's just too tasty to be safe. So they leave town permanently. Cue emo music, for Bella's life is empty and worthless without Edward.

No, seriously -- it's empty. We have blank pages with month names on them, presumably to show that life is utterly empty and pointless when Eddie boy is absent -- "that I wasn't the heroine anymore, that my story was over."

But when she deliberately tries to put herself in danger, she hears Edward commanding her to stop. So she buys a motorcycle and starts immersing herself in extreme sports, hoping to hear him over and over again -- and she also gets to know local hunk Jacob Black, who has a supernatural secret of his own. But her near-suicidal antics have disastrous results for Edward, who believes her to be dead... and takes drastic action.

For the record, being seventeen-plus and/or breaking up with your True Luv are a fate worse than death. Teen Romance = True Luv. Catatonia and suicide are valid responses to being dumped. And life is an endless vile morass of nihilistic doom without a Sparkling Undead Coverboy to validate your existance and keep life from being ordinary.

At least, that is what "New Moon" would have you believe, since Stephanie Meyer smothers it in enough teenage melodrama and endless whiny angst to choke a blue whale. Thankfully her purple prose has been toned down -- presumably due to the absence of the "godlike" Edward -- but unfortunately page upon page of whining and suicidal despair is not a good substitute.

The entire story is pretty much devoted to the ever-passive Bella moping and whining as the sound of the world's smallest violin plays. Meyer attaches hilariously melodramatic significance to such scenes as Bella trying to get raped and murdered by a random bunch of guys, or having a recurring emo nightmare about being -- oh gasp of horror -- alone. You'd think being single was a death sentence.

Belatedly, Meyer realizes that post-breakup angst is not enough to carry even this thin plot. So she quickly spins up a bunch of Bad Evil Restrictive Vampires (with a not-so-subtle anti-Catholic bent), and Edward attempting suicide by the most hilarious method possible -- public sparkling. Such scenes almost mock themselves.

And Bella's endless woe-is-me-for-I-am-a-plain-mortal angst doesn't make her more vulnerable and likable -- it just eats up pages. And while Meyer tries desperately to show Bella's obsession as being True and Eternal Love, it never seems like more than a teenage girl's overwrought crush. And in a feeble attempt at a love triangle, Meyer makes Bella flirt callously with Jacob Black -- a sweet, nice, friendly guy who deserves way better.

"New Moon" is a prolonged, near-plotless slog of teenage melodrama, and it's nothing short of amazing that a grown woman could write such a book. Only for those who enjoy a fine whine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just finished reading it, 12 July 2010
By 
R. Gomes (portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Moon: 2 (Twilight Saga) (Paperback)
Finished reading "New Moon", the second book from the Twilight saga. Again, I didn't hate it, it was slightly better than the first (mostly due to the fact that Edward was not in it the majority of the time), but it was still not very good.

Starting with Bella; what a boring, whining, self-centered, bland character she is! In the beginning, she's with her one true love, she should be happy, would it kill her to smile a little?
Then, (accident prone that she is) she manages to cut herself on paper, thus driving the Cullen family crazy over the smell of her blood.
Ok, this is where I get confused: I understand that Bella's blood has a unique appeal to Edward, but the "brothers" go to a school full of people, I guess that there are the occasional cuts and bruises, they should be able to restrain themselves, and if Jasper is such a loose cannon, how can he even attend school? And what really bugs me is that, just because of that stupid contrived incident, Edward decides to uproot the entire family and move out!
So Edward tells Bella he is leaving, I would imagine a scene like that would be entitled to a deep dialogue, but no. He says he's leaving because she is no good for him, and she accepts it as an obvious fact. What does this say about Bella? That she is a bit dense, and soooo unworthy of the love of such a "God-like creature" ---sigh--. So she doesn't even try to fight for her happiness. What a spineless girl! Such a great role model!

So, with Edward gone, her life means nothing.

I can understand entering an abyss of despair when losing the one person you loved above all else (although apart from his "smoldering beauty", I don't see any other good qualities about Edward). But what I don't understand, is how someone can simply, for months, ignore friends that try to help, and then proceed to consciously, selfishly use them. Like the scene with Jessica: Inviting her out, not because Bella actually likes her, but because her mindless chatter might be a distraction, then all but ditches the girl at the movies, then places her in a potentially dangerous situation, then simply forgets her the minute she's home. And then, doesn't understand how the girl won't forgive her??? Heck! It didn't happen to me, and I still can't forgive her, as if she even apologized in the first place!
What a good, upstanding person Bella is!
Along comes Jacob, this is the one character I truly liked and he really deserved better than to fall for Bella who is -yet again- using him to escape the void her life has become without Edward. Even though she seems to actually like him, what does this say of a girl who can't survive without a man by her side and decides to settle for a lesser love? The author tries to convey Bella's internal struggle, but really, there is none.
Bella realizes that when she gets into dangerous situations, she hallucinates and hears Edward telling her to stop, so she develops a "love" for extreme sports, like riding a motorcycle and crashing several times, and jumping of a cliff. Because of a misunderstanding, Edward believes she is dead and goes to Italy to provoke a powerful vampire family "The Volturi" (silly name) into killing him. How will he accomplish this? (I will quote this from another review because it is the best description) - "BY PUBLIC SPARKLING!!" Hilarious!

After a series of absurd events with the Volturi, we are, once again, very much aware of how truly selfish a callous Bella is, she witnesses a mass murder committed by vampires, and wonders if "it might be wrong to feel so happy". I would dare say it is a little bit wrong!
Back to Forks.
Charlie grounds her daughter and considers Edward a "persona non grata" she doesn't understand why her dad is being so pigheaded. Really? I wonder if I would have much love for the guy who dumped my daughter and left her in a mess.
There are two good emotional scenes and they are both of Jacob and Bella sayng goodbye. And all I thought was : "What a stupid stupid girl!"

So, not a good book overall, I have read soo much better, but at least I finished it quickly. That's one positive, I guess. It gets so boring at times that I manage to jump pages and it seems the story also moves faster.

Oh, yeah, by the way, Victoria is still trying to kill Bella, but it's such a ridiculous plotline it's hardly worth mentioning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My kind of book just fab you all got to read, 31 Oct. 2014
NEW MOON BY STEPENIE MYER
THE BLURB
I stuck my finger under the edge of the paper and jerked it under the tape. 'Shoot,' I muttered when the paper sliced my finger. A single drop of blood oozed from the tiny cut. It all happened very quickly then. 'No!' Edward roared ... Dazed and disorientated, I looked up from the bright red blood pulsing out of my arm - and into the fevered eyes of the six suddenly ravenous vampires.

For Bella Swan, there is one thing more important than life itself: Edward Cullen. But being in love with a vampire is more dangerous than Bella ever could have imagined. Edward has already rescued Bella from the clutches of an evil vampire but now, as their daring relationship threatens all that is near and dear to them, they realise their troubles may just be beginning ...

WHAT I SAY
New moon is the second book i loved it too . I do feel the writing is better in this book she got more into a style now .

I still like Edward he handsome very much in love with Bella sometimes he could be a little bit frighting at times he wants to keep Bella safe he leaves Forks so Bella will be safe
Bella world falls apart it very much a story about people falling in love and their love nearly destroying them

Bella more friendly with Jacob in this book she see more of Jacob now are they becoming to close
If you read the book or seen the film you will be team Edward or team Jacob both are great characters both are very deep both have their own life story's to tell
I felt Jacob become this mysterious boy what he hiding ? What he not telling Bella ?
You can she that Bella likes Jacob too there seems to be a love triangle what heart ache this is going to cause
As Bella and Jacob spend so much time together they seem to share so much . The love triangle was a very clever part of the book i enjoyed reading all about it .
I think this book is told in a much faster pace it a very action pack read

I really just enjoyed the Bella Jacob part of the story to me Bella just has a obsession on Edward
As the Bella Jacob relationship grows he not happy i feel that the book tell you more in dept what going on that can be showed in the film the character have more dept all are very strong .

The Volturi add more to this story it was very interesting to hear all about them . Again this book just grabbed my attention
The book got a good combination of tension and romance
The friendship and love part are so strong it just a great read
5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, Exciting and Amazing, 19 July 2014
New Moon picks up a short time after Twilight finishes and it is Bella's Seventeenth Birthday. What should be a happy event turns into a bloodbath, well not literally but blood is split when Bella injuries herself. That is when things start to get worse, Jasper tries to attack her due to his blood lust not under control, which in turn shows Edward that with him and his family around Bella is not safe. So, he make a heartbreaking decision to leave Forks with his family in tow. Although, they don't completely agree to this decision, they know Edward means well and decide to leave also.

Bella doesn't know how to react and is numb with the pain of losing the only person she has ever loved, so days turn into months and before she knows it is four months later. Charlie has seen that time hasn't helped and he makes the decision to send her back to Jacksonville, back to her mother. Though after talking to him, Bella tells him she will try to make more of an effort and starts to fall back into her life before she met Edward, although it isn't that easy, nothing is.

Jacob plays a bigger part of the book, than the previous one given that Bella spends more and more time in La Push with him and the wolf pack. You can quite quickly tell that Jacob likes Bella, though she doesn't realise it, even with all the hints he drops but before long things lead back to Edward. This book is more werewolf centred given the wolf pack become a part of Bella everyday life, even saving her from the vampire who appeared in the first book.

Although, Bella seems to doing well on the outside, she isn't over Edward at all, she begins to make some really bad choices in attempt to still hold a piece of him with her, but it doesn't turn out the way she hoped it would. When a miscommunication turns into a life and death situation, Bella puts everything on the line to save the only person she loved and still does even after he left her. It shows that no matter the amount of time, distance or situation, they will always love each other, regardless of what others think.

New Moon is a great addiction to the Twilight Saga Series, with an action packed book, it is fast paced and draws you in the storyline. It has love triangles, mending families, fast cars and heartbreaking decision, that delivers everything you want in a book and more.

If I had to sum this book up in three words, they would be Thrilling, Exciting and Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't use Bella as a role model, 11 July 2013
This review is from: New Moon: 2 (Twilight Saga) (Paperback)
This review was originally posted at: [...]

"Time passes. Even when it seems impossible. Even when each tick of the second hand aches like the pulse of blood behind a bruise. It passes unevenly, in strange lurches and dragging lulls, but pass it does. Even for me."
Bella, New Moon, Stephanie Meyer

New Moon by Stephanie Meyer continues the story of Bella Swan and Edward Cullen from Twilight. The story opens with Bella's birthday. She is not a fan of birthdays because of the attention and she doesn't like to receive presents, but Alice Cullen has organized a birthday party for her at the Cullen residence. While there Bella gets a paper cut and in a house full of Vampires that's the worst possible outcome. Edward manages to get Bella out of Jasper's way, but she ends up with more cuts along her arm. Once Carlisle has bandaged her arm, Edward takes her home. He is cold, aloof, and leaves immediately. This continues the following day until Edward tells Bella he is leaving Forks and he does not want her to go with him. The rest of the book deals with the following questions: How will Bella cope without Edward? Will Edward ever return? Who is the new threat to Bella's life?

On the whole, New Moon is marginally better than Twilight, and I mean marginally. The same problems in Twilight still exist, but two in particular are amplified: Edward and Bella's relationship becomes more unhealthy (I didn't think that was possible), and Bella becomes more of an insult to women everywhere. Bella basically stops living once Edward leaves her in Forks. There are several blank pages in the book which only have a month written in the middle. This represents the time that has passed since Edward left, and Bella essentially stopped living. The fact that she can't live without Edward, and so just sits around doing nothing, seeing no one and clutching her sides trying to keep herself together, isn't realistic. It would be more realistic if Bella were at least mad at Edward for leaving her because of an accident. To make things worse, when Bella's dad forces her to go out with a friend and gets into a precarious situation, rather than getting to safety, she approaches the men because she hallucinates Edward's face. Throughout the rest of the book Bella puts herself in increasingly dangerous situations just to see Edward's face. In terms of being a relationship template for young adults, this essentially tells people to be obsessive, and that really unhealthy relationships are normal. It tells young adults not to move on when a relationship ends. In terms of Bella being a role model for young women, she's very, very bad. She gives up on her life and is unable to go on without Edward. This doesn't teach women to be strong and to push through hard times. I would have more respect for Bella if she had at least made an effort to move forward, even if she couldn't let go on the inside. Plus, the fact Bella forgives Edward the minute he's back, without so much as one angry retort, is frustrating. He left her and pretended he didn't love her, and the fact she doesn't give him a hard time reeks of desperation. I think Edward could actually drink her blood to within an inch of her life and she wouldn't even scold him for it!

Earlier I did say that this book was better than Twilight, book one. There are two reasons for this: Jacob and the Volturi. Jacob becomes Bella's best friend and he is a werewolf. He is kind to Bella and treats her with respect (unlike Edward). He made the story a little more interesting, although I think adding a love triangle between a human, a Vampire and a Werewolf is a bit predictable. I saw it coming as soon as Bella started hanging out with Jacob. The Volturi are kind of the head Vampires, who live in Italy. They are more traditional Vampires who drink human blood. I'm not sure why their eyes are red though, but oh well. I actually mildly enjoyed reading about Edward trying to commit suicide by sparkling in front of hundreds of humans (groans). Plus, the Volutri then demanded to see him and I enjoyed the powers that they possess. They also tell Edward that he must turn Bella into a Vampire or else they will kill her because she knows too much. I have to say that how Edward and Bella beg the Volturi for each other's lives is sickly sweet. It's not that I think they shouldn't do this. It's very cringe-worthy.

Final Verdict: If you have to read this book just try to detach yourself and don't use Bella as a role model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sparkly vampires are back, 1 July 2013
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Moon: 2 (Twilight Saga) (Paperback)
As a children's librarian and story teller, I read widely in the childrens/YA field, and the phenomenal success of the Twilight franchise and books meant that this series was not one I could entirely avoid. I read the first book and found it easy to read and page turning in a rather anodyne way. I can't say I was gripped, as I have left it several months before reading the second book in the series, New Moon. In the first book of the series, the protagonist, Bella Swan, mortal teenager, meets Edward Cullen, immortal, glittery vampire teenager, and they fall in love, to the detriment of everyone around them. Bella spends the book in mortal peril, and wallowing in her obsession for Edward.

In this, second volume, Bella now has to deal with the fact that Edward is leaving her, and the heartache it brings. She takes solace in her friend Jacob, whose friendship with her grows ever more complex as the pages turn. Despite her growing affection for Jacob, her heart still belongs to Edward - and she is also in mortal peril once more.

It is clear that these books need no endorsement from me to sell in their millions,and my opinion as to its merits matters not one whit, but for the record, I found volume two much more annoying than volume one, and I was quite annoyed by volume one.

The issues I have with the novel are as follows:

Bella is unbelievably passive as far as her own life and destiny are concerned. I find it troubling that her main characteristics are her utter selfishness with regard to her actions and how they affect everyone she purports to love, her lack of self knowledge which leads to stunningly bad personal choices; her constant death wish either because she wants to be with Edward forever or because she can't live without Edward; her total abnegation of self when it comes to 'love', and her passivity except when it comes to Edward. All the way through the book the message is constantly reiterated that a girl is not fulfilled unless she is with a man she loves, and that what she wants/needs is not important unless it is something that helps her be near/have her man. I find Bella's lack of spine one of the most irritating things about the book, and her failure to want to be anything other than Edward's trophy has me grinding my teeth throughout.

Edward is just like a statue that Bella venerates. There is really so little to him. We know he is very pretty, that he has the admirable quality of being able to resist eating the love of his life, despite the fact she smells deliciously mouth watering, that he makes Bella's heart beat very fast, and that he can play a mean piano. Other than that he is pretty dull, considering how his life, or non life, has worked out. Unless you have a thing for chiselled jawed men who have abs like marble, and can sustain that for six hundred pages, there's not a lot going on here.
There is no real sense of him as a rounded character. It is what Edward represents that makes him important in the story, whereas Jacob is much more real and his flaws and quirks make him so much more likeable.

So, not for me, really, although had I been fourteen when this came out, in fairness, I would have eaten it up I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, intense and full of drama this spectacular continuation of the Twilight saga exceeded all expectations!!, 3 Dec. 2012
This review is from: New Moon: 2 (Twilight Saga) (Paperback)
Having fallen in love with Bella and Edward's story in Twilight, I was consequently desperate to read on and continue this epic saga that had nestled itself within my heart never to be removed.

For Bella Swan nothing is more important to her than Edward, but being the girlfriend of a Vampire comes with great implications that not only threaten to destroy their love forever and separate them but which also endangers those closest to her such as her family and friends. Since rescuing her from already one evil Vampire, Edward is now thwarted at every turn as the return of Jacob Black (and the Werewolves) encumber his relationship with the human so that he is unable to rest. Constant struggles between significant choices over ones heart and ones head comes into play, as Edward tries and fails to separate himself from Bella which unfortunately only makes things worse for she is now too entangled within the danger that surrounds her. With conflicting emotions and such depth of feeling both the hero and heroine of the tale face their hardest challenges, as their worst enemy lies deep inside of them both that can only be defeated by inner strength. Their love for each other and strong connection is tested to almost breaking point as they undergo separation, heartache and internal agony as they both fight for each other. Meeting the Volturi for the first time and understanding the real power of the enemy was such an intense and significant moment, which ultimately leads onto the next book.

I did not think that it could get any better than book one but Stephanie Meyer's mesmerizing tale is developing into something quite extraordinary and so spectacular, with the character-driven plot including more details in regards to Jacob. Finding out about the Werewolves felt like I had been given the key to Pandora's Box and was granted permission to see the horrors and intriguing delights within. The love triangle is something that only adds to the dramatic force and heightens the passion within this tale, with Jacob's mannerisms juxtaposing Edward entirely and which only makes it even more enthralling to read.

New Moon has to be the best follow-on book I have ever read, as the author's writing and the well-developed narrative just gets even better with so much feeling and thought-provoking poignancy. I was left drained of all emotion as Bella and Edward's strong feelings really touched my heart and soul, which has left me bleeding inwardly as love is such a strong emotion that constantly amazes me how it defines and shapes our actions & decisions in life. A breathtaking sequel and one that I absolutely and unequivocally love!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Critic's Review, 27 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Moon: 2 (Twilight Saga) (Paperback)
***Many Spoilers!***

Well, where to begin?
First off, I missed Edward! He left by Chapter 4 (Page 69. After Jasper tries to attack Bella when she gets a paper cut at a big birthday party Alice threw for her, Edward decides he's not safe to be around, saying that it wasn't right for them to be together and that he's sorry for letting it go on so long. He says that he doesn't want her to go with his family (who he says leave because their ages (remember, frozen in time and all that) have outgrown their ages.). She does a bit of stumbling around the forest where he left her before Sum Uley picks her up and carries her home.
Here follows pages and pages of mild boredom. Not total boredom, but it's still bad that 282 pages aren't really worth talking about. Basically for months Bella is just a zombie. She goes to school, eats, does her homework, but she doesn't really live. Then she finds out that when she does something dangerous, she hears Edward's (always silky) voice telling her to stop, so guess what, she goes out and gets some motorbikes. She gets Jacob to try and fix them for her and she finds spending time with him heals 'the hole punched in her chest'. Then he briefly stops all contact with her and tells her that they shouldn't be friends, that he's dangerous and if she was smart she'd stay away.

De ja vu?!

She finds out his secret (that he's a werewolf) and he can confide in her that his pack have been hunting vampire 'Victoria'. Bella tells them that she is trying to get into the village to get to Bella, since Edward killed her mate James. She then has another Adrenaline rush / Edward hallucination doing some cliff diving. Then she almost drowns.

9 sentences to describe 282 pages...

It only picks up by Chapter 17 (page 351). When Alice comes because she had a vision of Bella drowning herself. WRONG. But sadly and tragically she has already told Rosalie who we find out later went to great lengths to TRACK EDWARD DOWN AND TELL HIM BELLA WAS DEAD, EVEN THOUGH SHE KNEW THAT HE WOULD KILL HIMSELF. Why??? So she and Bella set off to Italy to tell Edward that Bella is alive. Do they make it??? I'm going to spoil it so look away.

There are another two books so naturally she reaches him with seconds to spare. Then there is a quite exiting part where the Volturi decide wether they should live or die. Guess what???

Back home Bella has a hard time convincing herself that it was real and that Ed was staying now.

That's it!!

Overall I'd say a disappointing Twilight book with some exciting parts but when it wasn't an action scene it got very boring. Some would say that it is a very hard subject to write about, but she didn't have to write about it! What love story has the romance break up and leave each other? At the end of the book we are back where we started. Bella forgives him. Completely. WHY?? I don't understand Meyer's perspective on this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indescribably Brilliant!, 25 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After recently receiving a Kindle, I considered this book a must have for my new device. After being left spell-bound by Twilight, I couldn't wait to get lost in the next book in the series. Anyway, I read a review saying that the book was very focused on Bella's relationship with Jacob. I was worried that Bella and Edward's love for one another would not shine through as strongly as it did in the previous book, and that I may find the book too different in comparison to Twilight. Well, I was completely wrong! Long periods at the beginning and end of the book are solely focused on Bella and Edward as a couple, and for the large part in the middle of New Moon, I found myself becoming gripped by Stephanie Meyer's intruiging writing style. She really creates a passion in the readers heart for the lovely Jacob Black. I am so glad that the book focuses on Jacob, as I became incredibly attatched to him as a character. I don't want to give much away, but Jacob is a fantastic friend to Bella through her awful life experiences. I sincerely recommend this book - I cannot express how much you will regret it if you do not make this book your priority purchase! I know reading a review is helpful but not as good as speaking to someone in person, as everyone has a different experience with the product that they buy. If you are unsure as to whether to buy this book, I recommend downloading a sample (if you own a Kindle), going to your local library to look at the book in person, or reading New Moon (legally!) online at [...]!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 391 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Moon: 2 (Twilight Saga)
New Moon: 2 (Twilight Saga) by Stephenie Meyer (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews