Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashes pre-conceptions.
This is the first autobiography that i have ever read, and was a bit wary when i chose this one. I thought i knew what 'type' of person smuggled drugs, and was expecting the book to be all excuses on Sandra's part. It was not. Once i started this book i could not put it down. An absolutely amazing story which perfectly represents her honesty, courage and strength. She...
Published on 18 Sep 2003

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paradise lost, Paradise gained
I once read that `...all the unhappiness of men stems from one thing only: that he is incapable of staying quietly in his room.' For some reason this book made me think of this quote.

It is a harrowing, eye-popping account of prison life in both the UK and Thailand - am still undecided which system is worse - and she narrates her experiences frankly, factually...
Published 16 months ago by Gurjit


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget you ever had a daughter...., 13 Dec 2006
This review is from: Forget You Had a Daughter: Doing Time in the Bangkok Hilton - Sandra Gregory's Story (Paperback)
This book tells the extraordinary story of good woman who makes a stupid mistake that undoubtedly changes the rest of her life.

Sandra Gregory was living the high life in Bangkok that many of us can only wish for until illness, poverty, and unemployment turn it into her worst nightmare.

When Sandra decides to help a man smuggle cocaine out the country for her fee home, she gets caught, thus signing herself away to a life imprisonment in Lard Yao prison. The horrific conditions and the stretched out trial make up the amazing story in which Sandra tells along the way. Until some four years later she gets transferred to a British prison where her family relentlessly campaign for her release, the family which had always refused to forget they ever had a daughter

This book is one of the most touching, searingly honest books I have ever read. I would recommend it to anyone, its sure to touch your hearts and make you aware of the freakishly disturbing things prisoners have to encounter when locked up in Thai prisons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paradise lost, Paradise gained, 11 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Forget You Had a Daughter: Doing Time in the Bangkok Hilton - Sandra Gregory's Story (Paperback)
I once read that `...all the unhappiness of men stems from one thing only: that he is incapable of staying quietly in his room.' For some reason this book made me think of this quote.

It is a harrowing, eye-popping account of prison life in both the UK and Thailand - am still undecided which system is worse - and she narrates her experiences frankly, factually and without too much sentiment.

One of the biggest tortures it seems was all the waiting she had to endure, all the uncertainty and limbo relating to her case and in particular, her sentence. It wasn't hell so much as purgatory, which then became hell.

It is a truly original tale but sadly an all too conceivable one. And for me that is where the true horror lies. Sandra Gregory was not the first to be caught smuggling drugs and will certainly not be the last. Whether or not they are as 'lucky' as her remains to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgetable!! Amazing book!!, 26 July 2007
This review is from: Forget You Had a Daughter: Doing Time in the Bangkok Hilton - Sandra Gregory's Story (Paperback)
Really amazing book- completely couldn't put it down! Fascinating comparsion of life in a Thai prision to life in a British prison.
While you are reading it you can't believe she is going through such a life- and makes you extremely glad that it isn't you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 15 July 2011
This review is from: Forget You Had a Daughter: Doing Time in the Bangkok Hilton - Sandra Gregory's Story (Paperback)
I couldn't put the book down. I could visualise everything that was written and it sent such a strong message to readers....to the point it still fills me with fear when I step foot in Bangkok airport! I felt the fear and pain of the author....it kept me interested throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something for everyone to read before travelling SEAsia, 9 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forget You Had a Daughter: Doing Time in the Bangkok Hilton - Sandra Gregory's Story (Paperback)
I read this book with interest not least because I spent 3 months travelling SE Asia, in Bankok, Koh Samui, and also Cambodia. I must say I was rather jealous of her time in North Thailand!
Anyway back to the book, it is definitely a good read, well written and a bit of an eye-opener.
However, there were two things about the book that bothered me. Firstly, I found it very difficult to relate to someone, who having lost their job for no fault of their own and had acquired gruesome illnesses, felt unable to ask her parents for the flight money home. I cannot comprehend how smuggling drugs was a preferred option. It is evident in the book that her parents were very supportive both before, during and after her ordeal. I'm convinced there was more to it than she claims.
Secondly, I get the feeling that shes hiding some of her true feelings about what happened to her. Some of the accounts feel like they have been written through gritted teeth, as if shes saying what she thinks she should say rather than what she really felt.
I do have some sympathy for her as her punishment probably did outweigh the crime - and the 'rehabilition' process is another debate. But punishments such as this will probably deter a lot of naive or greedy people from attempting the same and help end the drugs world. The real injustice are the people who are there who have been physically forced to commit the crime - Sandra always had the choice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 15 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Forget You Had a Daughter: Doing Time in the Bangkok Hilton - Sandra Gregory's Story (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. At first i was concerned that Sandra was taking no responsability for her circumstances but by the end she showed a lot of grace.

The conditions she has had to deal with in both Bangkok and Britain is remarkable and the lack of justice when she returns to Britain is disgraceful.

Fair play to her on surviving and on writing a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping and Thrilling read., 19 Mar 2006
This review is from: Forget You Had a Daughter: Doing Time in the Bangkok Hilton - Sandra Gregory's Story (Paperback)
Sandra Gregory is a brave person,she knew what she did was wrong and bravely faced the consequences.If those drugs had got through,how many innocent lives would have been destroyed.Parents facing the same anguish over their loved ones as Sandras parents had to face over her naievity.Having said that this is a good book,and anyone thinking of heading to Asia
should read it before travelling in order to advoid the pit falls.The years that Sandra lost will never be replaced.The one thing to fear for anyone other than death is losing your liberty.It was great that Sandras parents were still alive at the time,if anything had happened to them who was going to fight her corner.In this life one can never take anything for granted.The temptation was there to smuggle,how many of us would do the same.As usual the real pushers got away.Sandra,paid a heavy price
I hope that her life gets back on track and that she too will become protective of her children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget you had a daughter, 12 April 2005
This review is from: Forget You Had a Daughter: Doing Time in the Bangkok Hilton - Sandra Gregory's Story (Paperback)
Excellent read - superb. Totally turned over my stomach reading some parts of the book. Really loved the insight as to what it is like in the most notorious jail in the world. Totally showing up our jails here in the UK, not knowing how to deal with such a crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 April 2014
I have never read a book that is so "honest". What Sandra Gregory went through for what she actually did is hard to comprehend. This book is a real eye-opener to a world that hopefully most of us will never enter. The people she met, the conditions she lived in, it is not written to make you feel sorry for her by no means, its more of a 100% realistic view of the consequences should you enter this world. I read somewhere someone thought this book should be circulated through high schools, I completely agree, my daughter is 17, I will encourage her to read it. I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget you have a daughter, 17 Sep 2004
This review is from: Forget You Had a Daughter: Doing Time in the Bangkok Hilton - Sandra Gregory's Story (Paperback)
This book was so difficult to put down each page written gave me the interest to turn to the next page. I truly enjoyed this book. The book is very graffic, but compelling at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forget You Had a Daughter: Doing Time in the Bangkok Hilton - Sandra Gregory's Story
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews